We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful sunset view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Caletas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Caletas
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful sunset view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were there during rainy season, so it did rain every afternoon, but didn't hamper our visit. It was beautiful and sunny every morning and would start to rain around 1:00 pm every afternoon, for a short period of time. Then the rain would stop and it would be overcast the rest of the day. The views from everywhere at the resort were breath taking. We enjoyed watching the macaws and toucans from our balcony in the afternoons. We left a juice box on the balcony while we went back in the room and ended up with a visitor. A coati smelled the juice box and took it within minutes. We heard from a fellow traveler that the coati visited them every day to finish off their breakfast tray. That night we also saw a raccoon in the restaurant. Ah, the adventures of enjoying the open air!

We went into Jaco for breakfast instead of eating at the hotel so we could walk around town. We also visited Pura Vida Gardens and Parque Nacional Manuel Antonio. The drive to the drive to the gardens was up to the top of a mountain on a dirt road, so be prepared. There was one large waterfall, but its a ways down the hill. The gardens were beautiful.

Manuel Antonio was fantastic. We used a tour guide from our parking lot, Gama, who was very knowledgeable and had a telescope to show us all of the different wildlife as we walked from the entrance of the park to the beach. We wouldn't have seen as much wildlife without him. Be prepared for the expense though, there was the tour fee and the a parking fee when you reclaim your car. Also, you pay for your own admission into the park.

Every place we went, we could use US currency while in Costa Rica, but they would give change back in Colones. Most places used a 500:1 conversion, so it was easy to figure prices. Only Villa Caletas and the places in San Jose used the market conversion rate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BT_Mich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Friends, thank you so much for your kind words. As you could see the green season is a great moment too in Costa Rica !!. There are a lot of activities and a new adventure is at the corner every day !! We hope to see you back to Costa Rica soon !! Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    869
    215
    88
    61
    27
See reviews for
191
737
31
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Foresthill, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We traveled in Cr for 17 days- 5 different places. This would be our pick for the most beautiful place! Everything was severely gorgeous!! We saw macaws, toucans and other wildlife right outside our place! This was probably the nicest place I have ever stayed. Each place was an indivual bungalow and our balcony had spa outside!! Bed was perfect! Had the lava rock massage thought I was in heaven. The best cerviche I have ever had! People who worked there were very nice and helpful. The housekeeper was amazing- we were in our room when she came in and I'm tellling you I don't even clean as good as she did!!! This is a perfect place to stay- less then 10 min to jaco. Ohh and they have their own private beach which was amazing- we got to see monkeys, Since this was off season we were the only the people on the beach and sat on the loungers and had margaritas all day!! What an awesome day!!! Great memories would def go back!! Thanks groupon!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kymwtrski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear friends thank you very much for your comments. We are very happy to know that you had such a great time at the Hotel and we hope to see you back with us soon,
Best regards, manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Villa Caletas is a jewel--a near perfect experience. Small, but not small time. We stayed in a junior deluxe, but you would have never known it wasn't their best room. Beautifully appointed with incredible furniture and a wonderful bed, amazing balcony view, absolutely clean. The restaurant is amazing. Of course, there is the view. But you'll have a hard time taking your eyes off the food, cooked at your table by amazing chefs. The infinity pool is not large, but it is so relaxing, looking out over the Pacific. And, of course, the spa. A nearly perfect hotel experience, from beginning to end.
We live in Costa Rica now, but still stop here for drinks to watch the sun set from their amazing amphitheatre. I truly love this place!

Room Tip: I don't think they have a bad room at all. We had the cheapest room they offer and we were blown...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Friends thank you very much for your kind words. Villa Caletas is indeed a place to fall in love with !!. Have a great day, Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Everything was better than expected. Breakfast at the outdoor restaurant was great & beautifully presented. Toucans were singing in the trees next to the restaurant. Breathtaking views & sunset. The staff was friendly & took care of any request promptly. The towel animal surprises on the bed each nice was romantic. What are you waiting for??

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Qocman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Friends , thank you very much for your nice words, It is always a great pleasure for us to see that all our efforts are giving patrons like you such a great experience . We hope to see you back soon with us. Have a great day. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed here for a week at the Villas for a wedding. Arranged a junior suite for two men only to discover one king bed and a cott not as promised. First night after asking to fix the problem 'nothing could be done, check back in morning'', four more times offered a second suite to compensate only to discover management gave us a paid for reserved room; moved again probably back to a cott. When paying over $400 a nioght one deserve a bed. Do nOT give this resort your money upfront as they are not there to assist you. Pleasant surrounding and nicely design but management and resort maybe in financial difficulty.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotty99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Friend thank you very much for your review. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed our resort. As you said Villa Caletas is a beautiful place for weddings and especially destinations weddings. People from around the world come to get married here in Costa Rica and to Villa Caletas. That is to say that a lot of Travel Agency are in charge of reserving and do the rooming of large group like yours . These Agencies from time to time do not take the time to get into details and ask us about our rooms. We are very sorry that was your case and explain why there were not two beds in your room (none of our Junior suite superior do - they have one king bed and one Sofa bed ). When you first came to ask us if there were a solution we told you that the hotel was full. The next day, we did had a solution but was not in the same category, then after speaking with your travel agency they told us that another room already booked was not going to show for travel problems, and they asked us to give you this room to solve the problem. We did it as we were eager to help you. On the next day your travel agency changed its mind and there was nothing we could do. We hope that this beautiful wedding will stay as the main souvenir from your trip to Costa Rica and the Hotel.
Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Now I know why all the guidebooks recommend coming here for a drink at sunset. I'll go one further--stay here & enjoy the view ALL the time!

After a couple km drive from the main highway, you arrive at the buildings on the property. The drive straddles a ridge high above the towns, ocean and forest below. Check-in is easy and they great you with a fresh peach tea--along with some nice clean wash cloths.

There are several different room types--from villa-like rooms, to houses, to clusters of rooms and rooms inside the larger buildings. We had one of the rooms attached to the main building. Each has its own balcony with lovely views. But walking around the grounds/property is what is truly fantastic.

There is a bar area with several tables just above the amphitheater, and this is where people come to congregate to enjoy the view, sunset. Prices for drinks are what you would expect at a resort, but definitely reasonable. You can also order some appetizers there as well. The restaurant adjacent to the bar & amphitheater had a great selection for breakfast and for dinner! The food was excellent, and so were the views. Just off the end furthest from the amphitheater gives you a great view of the valley below and several nearby trees where scarlet macaws and toucans frequently stop. Have your camera nearby at all times--you'll hear them before seeing them, and they typically only perch there for a few minutes before moving on.

The property has nice shopping on-site, a larger TV room with a computer/internet (if people need to get back in touch with 'reality'), a nice pool area, and everything just seems to be about the right size. It doesn't feel like one of those overdone, over-the-top resorts. All the luxuries and amenities are there, but it's more subtle--thankfully.

The property is nicely laid out with several quiet, private areas to unwind. This is a perfect place to relax, enjoy the spectacular views, wonderful food and fantastic service.

This would be a perfect stop for couples and honeymooners. Very romantic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Friends thank you very much for your review. As you said Villa Caletas is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the spectacular views of the Pacific ocean. We hope to see you soon back with us. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed as a group at Villa Caletas for a week. It was the first trip to Costa Rica for many of us. The first thing we noticed were the views. The resort is on top of a mountain with sweeping views of the jungle & Pacific Ocean. Unfortunately, I had been injured between the time I booked the room & the time we arrived in Costa Rica. When I first checked in, my assigned room was on the far end of the property & after 2 days of climbing many stairs to get to and from, I realized I was not going to be able to manage it for an entire week. The staff had no problem changing my room to accommodate me for the rest of my stay. We ate breakfast everyday at the resort restaurant & had plenty to choose from. So much, in fact that I was able to have a different breakfast platter every day. I got a massage in the on-site spa and it was well worth the cost. We went into Jaco Beach many times and it was a bit of drive. Cost about $20 each way for a regular cab. The concierge is able to arrange for any excursion with transportation included in the cost. This is a luxurious , full service resort and food & amenities are not as cheap as most expect things to be in CR. There are ways to save $ while traveling to this beautiful country and most items the are found in a regular grocery/convenience store can be found in the local stores in town. With a little exploration my next trip will mean stays in a few different places in CR and a car rental. The people are very nice & appreciate any attempt to speak their language, and most speak english very well. BTW manual cars only in CR as the country is made up of mountains & valleys. Automatic transmissions would not be sufficient to get around.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charmcollect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Friends, thank you so much for your nice words. We strive to give the best we can to each and every guest and we are glad to know that you had such a great time with us.
Best regards, manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
3.2 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
4.8 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
6.1 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
#1 of 2 in Punta Leona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
1.6 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
0.7 mi away
Zephyr Palace Luxury Rental Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Caletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Caletas

Property: Villa Caletas
Address: 2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#2 Family Hotel in Jaco
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#2 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#4 Business Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Caletas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Caletas, a luxury romantic boutique hotel inspired by tropical Victorian architecture with a touch of neo-classical influence shining like a jewel among resorts, prized not only for its location, design and décor, but also for its outstanding facilities and first class service. Villa Caletas expresses a truly unique combination of mountain and seaside resort. Nestled 1150 feet above the Pacific Ocean, this unique hotel overlooks the Nicoya Gulf to the crescent beaches of Jaco, Herradura offering spectacular 360-degree panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa Caletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Caletas Hotel Jaco
Caletas Hotel Herradura
Villa Caletas Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing