We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Caletas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Caletas
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
boise
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

This Hotel is not just a place to stay, it is a place to live. This is an experience like no other. We were treated first class from the moment we stepped on the property until the moment we left. The Hotel is moderate in it's price for the experience. This is the second time that I have stayed at this hotel and the next time I want to go for an extended period. It sits high atop a ridge with a western view of the Bay of Nicoya in Costa Rica. The view is incredible, the infinity pool has one of the best views anywhere in the world and the staff is AMAZING. I beleive her name was Anjelica and she was truly an Angel. The view from the office made me want to stay and talk and we were served peach iced tea while we filled out paperwork that was to die for. This is a $500 a night Hotel for $180 a night and occasionally I see it for less. Go here, take your wife, girlfriend, significant other. Go by yourself or with a friend. If you are in Costa Rica and don't visit this hotel, you have missed one of the great experiences on earth.

Room Tip: You could ask for a room with a view but it's not needed for as soon as you step out of your roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank garyb b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Friend, thank you very much for your review. We are glad to know that you had in your own words "one of the great experiences on earth" !! We know the hotel is very special and we try hard every day to share that uniqueness with all our guests.
Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    869
    215
    88
    61
    27
See reviews for
191
737
31
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is an absolutely amazing place. We had some food and drinks while we watched the sunset, and it was the most beautiful sunset I have ever seen! Beautiful view, Great service, and great food! Very romantic place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sd87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Friend, thank you very much for your comments. As you said we are lucky enough to have one of kind spot to enjoy sunsets over Nicoys's golf and the Pacific ocean.
Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

"Pretentious" doesn't even begin to describe how tacky, gaudy and over-the-top this freak show among 5 star Costa Rican hotels is. Trying to be a Roman Coliseum on a Pacific mountaintop is misguided at best, but then throwing in Chinese boxes, wooden ducks and plastic flowers in used Fanta soda bottles in the bathroom are not the accents to go for. The food in the restaurant is way overpriced and not memorable. The only thing this place has going for it is the views, which are amazing and save this place from getting my bottom rating. It's quite depressing in low season, the night we were there we were the only guests on the entire property, while the bored staff could barely crack a smile.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Friend, thank you so much for your review. We are sad to know that you did not liked the hotel for what it is. Villa Caletas is Knowed for being one of the best Boutique Hotel in Costa Rica for its location and Architecture . I understand that you were may be looking for something more "classic" like some major hotel chains companies may offer around the world. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the view of the pacific ocean from amphitheatre, Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

The staff at Villa Caletas exceeded my expectations. When we got to our suite, which was beautiful, I noticed a smell of fresh paint. After unpacking, I began experiencing a headache. I alerted the staff who switched us to a comparable room. They also gave me a certificate for a massage, a very generous gift. In addition to this attention, my husband, daughter and I spent an hour with Melkin, making crafts out of palm leaves. She absolutely loved it. Thank you Villa Caletas for ending our Costa Rican adventure on a high note!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Friend, thank you so much for your review. We strive to give our guests the best service we can and we are glad to know that you had such a great time with us. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stouffville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

My wife and I stumbled across the Villa Caletas on our Honeymoon and were going to stay for a night and we ended up staying four because of the service, sunsets and settings! Its absolutely stunning sitting on top of its rocky promontory, and private beach 1000 feet below. The infinity pool provides some of the best photos you can ever imagine and the sunsets from their stunning amphitheatre (while sipping champagne and listening to classical music) are beyond compare. This hotel is so fantastic that on our return trip we spent half our vacation here. With all the external beauty you might imagine that the buildings and room fall short in delivering but you would be wrong. The suites are stunning, stylish, warm and comfortable. Balconies and views abound. There really is no place like this and it is in my top 3 favourite hotels anywhere in the world!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Friend, thank you so much for your review, we are happy to know that you had such a great time with us. We hope to see you back with us soon and enjoy another sunset with a fresh cocktail. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Our room was immaculate. Great tile work and ambiance with a huge balcony overlooking some gorgeous coast line. Macaws would fly over at certain times of the day and when relaxing in the private hot tub after a crazy day of ecotourism it's a welcome site. The pool available to the 8 or so suites was a great late night activity.

Warning, if renting a car you'd be smart to get a higher clearance and 4x4. Even the road leading up to Caletas was a little rough.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brianreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Friend, thank you very much for your nice comments. As you said our Junior Suite Superior are great not only for the size of the rooms but also for the great views of the rain forest.!. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Villa Caletas is a wonderful boutique hotel on the Pacific Ocean in the region of Puntarenas, Costa Rica. There are about 50 rooms, villas & suites and the grounds are located high above the ocean shore with spectacular views and an infinity pool. It's a very quiet location, about a 15 minute drive north of the party town of Jaco (pronounced ha-co with the accent on co). I have attended several weddings at Villa Caletas with the ceremony on the patio overlooking the ocean and the dinner and dance inside the beautiful, air conditioned dining room. The musical group Los Mojitos performed for both the ceremony and the reception. This is a terrific venue for destination weddings or honeymoons in Costa Rica!

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank bradreviewscostarica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Friend, thank you very much for your nice words. As you said Villa Caletas must be one of the best place to have a magic wedding in Costa Rica. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
3.2 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
4.8 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
6.1 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
#1 of 2 in Punta Leona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
1.6 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
0.7 mi away
Zephyr Palace Luxury Rental Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Caletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Caletas

Property: Villa Caletas
Address: 2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#2 Family Hotel in Jaco
#2 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#4 Business Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Caletas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Caletas, a luxury romantic boutique hotel inspired by tropical Victorian architecture with a touch of neo-classical influence shining like a jewel among resorts, prized not only for its location, design and décor, but also for its outstanding facilities and first class service. Villa Caletas expresses a truly unique combination of mountain and seaside resort. Nestled 1150 feet above the Pacific Ocean, this unique hotel overlooks the Nicoya Gulf to the crescent beaches of Jaco, Herradura offering spectacular 360-degree panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa Caletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Caletas Hotel Jaco
Caletas Hotel Herradura
Villa Caletas Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing