We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably one of the best in Jaco” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel & Casino Amapola

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel & Casino Amapola
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Jaco
Biot, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Probably one of the best in Jaco”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We went to this hotel at the end of our Nicaragua/Costa Rica trip in May 2013.
That was to spend good time in a good place.
The room was really nice, just besides the pools and the jacuzzi (not the best jacuzzi of the world).
The hotel is just after a curve on the main road (few minutes on foot) so it is quite and better cause the main road is really crowded.
We made massages (not so expensive cause 40$ for 2 for 1 hour) and that was goooooood.
The breakfast is continental, typical (the best) or american.
We did not diner at the hotel. I recommend the first on the right just after the curve when you go to the main street from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheConfidential
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    53
    32
    19
    11
See reviews for
43
39
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We ended up at this hotel when our first choice had an issue and we had to move.

We arrived mid afternoon after a long bus trip from the Sarapiqui and were very tired. Our first room had a lot of mildew and the toilet did not work. The second room is much better but the shower head needs to be replaced. Both rooms smell musty...probably nothing that can be done about this with all the humidity.

We decided to have lunch at the hotel restaurant since my daughter and I were starved. We were the only people in the restaurant and yet, the waiter was so unattentive, I had to get my own water. After he finally took the order and delivered the food, we did not see him again until we stood up to leave. Then of course he was there with the check. I told him that he were my employee, I would fire him. Inspite of the language barrier, he clearly understood.

In the evening, we decided to go swimming since it was so hot. The pool is clearly in need of repair. The ladder is not attached properly. There were hundreds of missing tiles in the pool bottom and sides.

The upside of the stay was the waiter at breakfast this morning. He was very attentive and a very kind elderly gentleman. Kudos to him.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klkerr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jaco hotels

Elkridge, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Don't say I didn't warn you. This place was the horrible but we had no choice because all the nice places had no vacancies. The room smelled of urine and very musty. There was no wash cloths and towels in the rooms and was given crappy pool towels. Breakfast was pretty good but I would never go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nursenatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We decided to stay in Jaco a little bit longer than we had planed, because it is a great place.
A friend of my husband recomended him Hotel Amapola.
It is a great place to stay, food is excelent and massages are great, the bedrooms are confortable, and the showers are excelent, they have a pool which is good for adults and children :)
I expect to go back soon

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monteverde, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

i didn[t stay in the hotel but i went to eat at the restaurant. The pizza it[s far away from an italian pizza....There are better pizzeria in tamarindo or La fortuna or Monteverde too...i was the only in the restaurant and the owners wasn[t very friendly....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamba68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

Spent 4 nights here for a conference. I was told this was a 4 star hotel/resort. NOT. Pro. Most of staff worked hard and were friendly. Food OK. Cons. Hot water in the shower was lacked strength. A/c in room leaked into the closet. Could not get WIFI outside of the reception area. Bar on inside of shower door falling off. In general, the room needed attention. Heard this from other guests as well. Several had to move because A/C didn't work.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huskie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
180 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights. The room was very clean and comfortable but the water pressure in our second floor room was often too low to take a shower, depending upon the time of day. Not good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the main floor and one with good water pressure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank advoctae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
3.6 mi away
Hotel Tramonto
Hotel Tramonto
#22 of 44 in Jaco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino
0.8 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#8 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Creole
Hotel Villa Creole
#11 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Casino Amapola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Casino Amapola

Property: Hotel & Casino Amapola
Address: | 200 East Municipality of Garabito, Jaco 61110, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Jaco
#10 Spa Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel & Casino Amapola 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hotel is perfect por families and also for business. We have conference center, restaurant, swimming pool, tennis under roof. The wi-fi sistem is free for all the guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel & Casino Amapola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Casino Amapola
Amapola Hotel Jaco
Hotel & Casino Amapola Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing