We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“review about the restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Casino Amapola

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel & Casino Amapola
Ranked #26 of 45 Hotels in Jaco
Monteverde, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“review about the restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

i didn[t stay in the hotel but i went to eat at the restaurant. The pizza it[s far away from an italian pizza....There are better pizzeria in tamarindo or La fortuna or Monteverde too...i was the only in the restaurant and the owners wasn[t very friendly....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamba68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    47
    29
    17
    8
See reviews for
35
34
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Spent 4 nights here for a conference. I was told this was a 4 star hotel/resort. NOT. Pro. Most of staff worked hard and were friendly. Food OK. Cons. Hot water in the shower was lacked strength. A/c in room leaked into the closet. Could not get WIFI outside of the reception area. Bar on inside of shower door falling off. In general, the room needed attention. Heard this from other guests as well. Several had to move because A/C didn't work.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huskie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jaco hotels

Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights. The room was very clean and comfortable but the water pressure in our second floor room was often too low to take a shower, depending upon the time of day. Not good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the main floor and one with good water pressure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank advoctae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

My boyfriend and I spent December and January backpacking Costa Rica. We decided on Jaco for New Years Eve. We had an amazing experience. Todd Oborne was amazing. He gave us great advice and even set us up with a zip lining tour in Arenal. We even arrived to Jaco a bit earlier than our reservations and Amapola was able to get us into our room despite our early check-in. We were very pleased with this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hughes945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

We spent about 6 nights at Amapola in March/11 and noticed several improvements since we were last there in 2008. Most notably, the water pressure has improved considerably and the supply of hot water is more than adequate. As well, a large generator has been installed, and this eliminated any impact from a fairly long power outage that affected the rest of Jaco. Amapola seems to get most of its business on the weekends, which means that from Monday-Thursday it feels like a private estate. If you are looking for a party atmosphere this might not be appealing, but we really enjoyed the luxury of lounging by a large swimming pool in beautiful and quiet surroundings , either alone or with a small handful of people. The decor is still in need of updating, but our accommodation was well kept by the cleaning staff, and the grounds are constantly being tended. Even the outside of the buildings are constantly being scrubbed and hosed down. Amapola is close to the highway, but within walking distance of the beach and downtown Jaco.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn5312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Amapola between Christmas and New Years, along with two other couples. It was a very enjoyable stay. Service was good, the rooms were very clean and nicely furnished with a small balcony - we all had a rooms overlooking the pool., Although the hotel is a little removed from the main strip, it is therefore nice and quiet, and it is only a short walk to the restaraunts and shops. The hotel grounds are very pretty with lots of recreational areas, including a large pool and exercise area. The car park area is secure (important in Jaco)

Many younger families staying here - an ideal location for them - but it is quiet in the evening. We returned to the hotel after dinner and enjoyed an evening drink beside the pool before .

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

We booked 2 nights here as part of our honeymonn as it looked nice online. When we arrived we were given the key to our room. When we got to the room as soon as we opened the door there was a dead cockroach with a large trail of ants. There was also a dead cockroach in the bathroom. We immediately asked for another room which we were given. However about 6 hours later we saw 2 gentlemen checking in and they were given the key to the first room we had been given. I was shocked and disgusted when i saw them open the door only to see the dead cockroach still lying there. the housekeeper was passing the room at the same time and thought this was very funny. So if the attitude of the housekeeper was like this its no wonder the place was so dirty.
We cancelled our second night as the room was dirty. the curtains were filthy and looked like they had never been changed. the towels were grey and the floor was very dirty in the bathroom.

We had payed for breakfast but when they brought it to us i couldnt eat it. the eggs looked like they were cooked for hours as they were dry and shrivelled up. The toast was hard and cold and the staff were not too happy when we asked for a fresh piece.

We cancelled our last night and made it clear to the receptionist why we were cancelling but they made no apologies for the service. I would not reccommend anyone staying here. We travelled around for 3 weeks and this was the dirtiest place we stayed

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoJoHoneymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.8 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tramonto
Hotel Tramonto
#19 of 45 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#9 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Creole
Hotel Villa Creole
#13 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Casino Amapola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Casino Amapola

Property: Hotel & Casino Amapola
Address: | 200 East Municipality of Garabito, Jaco 61110, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Jaco
#12 Spa Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel & Casino Amapola 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hotel is perfect por families and also for business. We have conference center, restaurant, swimming pool, tennis under roof. The wi-fi sistem is free for all the guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel & Casino Amapola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Casino Amapola
Amapola Hotel Jaco
Hotel & Casino Amapola Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing