We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Jaco
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

This place it's huge! Its about 2 miles from the front gate to the reception area. A cab from the airport costs about 100 US including 3 tolls and takes approx 1.5hrs
Once on the property, there's a shuttle which runs daily to take you around from the pools to the beach to the restaurants.
However, if u want to leave the resort and didn't rent a car or motorcycle and you need a cab, DONT ask GUILLERMO at the front desk. He will RIP you off. He's nice and all but he has his "buddy" come pick you up and charges $45US to go to Jaco that's only 12 miles away~ one way! Our cab ride back from a regular cab guy only cost $20US.
Other than that, everyone is extremely pleasant and most people at the resort speak English.. Once you're off the resort though, I highly recommend having someone who speaks Spanish or have a translator app with you.
Alex at the butterfly house is extremely knowledgeable. The guys at the canopy zipline were extremely friendly and funny. Theres a server who works at 2 of the restaurants, I believe his name is Branson who gives absolutely superb service.
There are 3 places to eat~ 1 down by playa blanca over looking the water, 2 down by the pool~ sooo recommend the whole fried snapper~ AMAZE BALLS!!! 3 the carabella which is a healthy buffet style place where you sit by the monkeys in the am. They will try and steal your food! Also, at night, carabella upstairs has "fine dinning" and you can order ala carte. The foods ok. The fresh fruit in the buffet was awesome- pineapple, guava, anos? Which is a soft creamy fruit. Man, wish I could get some here!
PURA VIDA!!!




  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank okmc310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for describing your experience at our hotel . It is very important for us to know what our clients think about the quality of our services and improve any area that might need it. We are pleased to know that the service of our staff was plesant and that you enjoyed the food at our restaurants. We will forward your comments to our guide Alex who loves to share his knowledge with our guests. As for the service of Guillermo at the front desk, we will make sure that he will have more economical options for the trasportation to Jaco. We hope you can visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    282
    125
    53
    60
See reviews for
261
226
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Punta Leona is located very close from San José. It has a great mixture of nature and comfort, great place to do sports as well as sleep and have a close encounter with nature. Great if you are traveling with kids.

Room Tip: If you can, try to get a room close to the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank robertocquirosz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed our hotel and the nature that surrounds us. We are a hotel focused on the conservation and entertainment for the whole family. I hope you visit us again..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Virtually self-contained property. Has a market, 3 restaurants, 2 beaches and several tours. They are building more rooms currently. I was concerned, reading prior reviews. Those reviews appear to be 6 years old. The property is up to date and currently being expanded. Beds were ok, rooms were clean. In fact, the entire property was constantly being cleaned and improved. Don't misunderstand...it's not Disney ! P.S.- dont ask for directions to the airport at the desk.

Room Tip: Rooms are all similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monbro85396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your comments and for the description of our property. Indeed our constant efforts are to maintain our installations clean and in good conditions and to make sure that our guests can enjoy their vacations comfortably. We hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

This place is incredible. We stayed in the jungle area and ate at the restaurant there. We had monkeys that came around at breakfast and were the "entertainment". We loved it! There were plenty of trails, zip line, pools, 2 beaches and so much more! Plenty activities for the entire family. They even give night tours so tourist can see the critters that come out at night. Definitely a place for photographers or videographers!

It is located convenient to many towns set back over a mile back into the woods with a secure entrance. We definitely felt safe and would go back again!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fdl063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for such great comments. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the wonderful nature that surrounds us and thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. Our goal is to satisfy customers and we hope that you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
144 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stopped to visit and were told that we had to arrange for a visit with management. Poor decision since we were planning to book 10 rooms. Thought that closing access to a beach was illegal in Costa Rica!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveToTravelNJ63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
As you indicated, the beaches in Costa Rica are public but our hotel is a private property and the only people that can enter our facilities are the guests staying at the hotel, members or customers that had paid an entrance fee to stay for the day. We do not understand why you write a review about our hotel if you were never a guest or use our facilities or services. We recommend you that the next time you want to visit our property or if you need to make a reservation for you or a group, to please contact our office first to info@hotelpuntaleona.com and send the proper request. For security reasons and to protect our guests we can not allow access to anyone who comes to the entry with the intention to enter without a prior reservation. Thank you for your understanding and for your interest in Hotel & Club Punta Leona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

This was my first visit to Punta Leona (October 2013) and I stayed just one night. The location provides a great opportunity to enjoy Costa Rica's wonderful flora and fauna just a short distance from San Jose. We found the staff friendly and helpful. Our accommodation was clean and comfortable and the food was good. Breakfast was certainly entertaining as the staff have a constant battle with opportunist white faced monkeys. Kids will love it!
Despite the rainy season we were able to enjoy a sunny morning on Playa Blanca. Yes there is some litter during this time of year but staff were hard at work trying to keep it clean. My wife's cousin, whom I stayed with has been to this resort many times and assures me this is not an issue in the dry season.
Overall I enjoyed my brief stay at Punta Leona and definitely plan to return on my next visit to Costa Rica.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you very much for your feedback, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to appreciate the services we offer and the variety of flora and fauna that can be seen in our complex. As you mention our staff strives to keep the premises clean and in good conditions and to provide good service to all the customers that visit us. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poetry
Level Contributor
97 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I really didn't know what to expect when visiting Costa Rica. We arrived in San Jose and had to hire a guide (great group...Tour like a Local) to get us to the Punta Leona Hotel, approx 1 1/2 hours away, right on the beach. The facility itself is currently under going construction so there is a lot of activity. It doesn't get in your way. There are little cabins, condos, and homes. We stayed in a small 1 room cabins in the "CUBA" area. The foilage is amazing. You want to walk everywhere to just experience the huge plants. Some of which I recognized even tho they were 10 times the size I see here in Texas. Some I had had never seen. The beds were comfortable. The cabin was clean. It had a cute patio with chairs to sit and enjoy the jungle views and birds and sounds of the surroundings, It was rainy season while we were there...the rain didn't really slow us down much...the humidity was beyond anything I had ever experienced.

The staff was fabulous. Helpful, insightful, kind, just perfect. The breakfasts were our favorite. Buffets with wonderful fruits, an omelette bar, lots of choices. Monkeys swoop down and try to steal your sugar and provided entertainment. We were not as impressed with the other meals. Felt they were pricey (avg $12-$15 each and it all tasted the same. Spices are not a popular thing there (I wanted to get into the kitchen and try to teach them basics of seasonings). Fish was fresh. Veggie options very limited. By the end of the week, I was craving anything with serious flavor. No Dr Peppers (I'm definitely a Pepper!). Water was available from a small store at about $3/bottle. No real shopping opportunities for gifts. We hired a car one day to go to town...expensive to go, expensive to shop. That was pretty disappointing.

The beaches at the facility (they have 2) are clean, beautiful, lots places to sit for the day, easy access to restrooms. There are shuttles that run frequently to transfer you from place to place within the resort. We got to where we found short cuts and walked nearly everywhere...humidity allowing. I suggest bringing badanas or sweat cloths to help.

There is an amazing 7 crown zip line on the property. Very worth the $40. Takes you thru the jungle tree tops and it is just beautiful. The property also boasts a butterfuly garden open all day....pretty and interestesting. The reception desk will help arrange different tours for you...some to see crocodiles, rafting, etc. There is a lot to do. There are 3 swimming pools which are clean and pretty and really help tolerating the heat/humidity.

I don't know if we will go back to Costa Rica, but if we do, I would not mind returning to the Punta Leona.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms close to shuttle pick up. I'm not sure there really is a bad location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taffien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments and details of your experience with us. Such reviews help us to know what is the opinion of our customers and in what areas we can improve. We're glad you enjoyed our services, facilities and the beautiful nature around us. Playa Blanca is one of the most beautiful beaches in the Central Pacific Coast of Costa Rica and a great place to relax. Indeed, even in the rainy season there are many activities and tours that can be done from our hotel and the Canopy Tour is an excellent choice because you can see from the top of the trees the beautiful scenery offered by the rainforest. We hope you visit us again in the near future and please note that we can also book for you the transfers to and from our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
0.3 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
6.0 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
4.8 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
3.3 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Club Punta Leona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Property: Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Address: Playa Blanca | Punta Leona, Jaco 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Jaco
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#7 Spa Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Club Punta Leona 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel & Club Punta Leona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Club Punta Leona
Punta Leona Costa Rica
Punta Leona Jaco
Punta Leona Hotel Costa Rica
Hotel & Club Punta Leona Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing