We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Costa Rica at its Best !!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Jaco
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Costa Rica at its Best !!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Beautiful ocean front resort with 3 beaches about 20 min from Jaco. The beach playa blanca is beautiful and one of the many reasons to visit this amazing location. The staff was nice and food at the buffet was very good. great for families and couples.
Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We appreciate your comments and we are happy to know that you had a great time with us and that you enjoyed the food and the service of our staff. Indeed, Playa Blanca is one of the most beautiful beaches in the Central Pacific Coast of Costa Rica and most of our guest love to relax and contemplate the amazing nature that surrounds it. We hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    281
    123
    53
    59
See reviews for
256
220
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This hotel is located in a private jungle close to one of the best beaches on the Pacific coast of Costa Rica: Playa Blanca. Food was great, rooms (Selvamar) were simple but nice, clean and quiet. This is a 3 star hotel, but the best one in the Jaco and Puntarenas area, regardless of stars! Excellent staff. The transportation system (minibus) on this huge site could get some improvements. But for those who are not affraid to walk one kilometer to the beach, you will see parrots in liberty while you are walking !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your excellent comments. We are pleased that you had a good time and that you enjoyed the natural beauty that surrounds us. Comments like yours encourage us to be better every day because our goal is satisfied customers so they can have a great vacation. We hope to be able to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Beautiful ocean front resort just north of Jaco. Clean and quiet with lots of things to do while you are there. The service at all of the outlets was great, save one. The buffet dinner was a disaster. The girl at the grill was pitiful, the manager was useless and the service staff was intimidated. I paid my dues there one night and never returned. The breakfast was outstanding! Had some problems with hot water, but just dealt with cold showers - not the worst thing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to put your comments, we are pleased that you liked our resort and that you could enjoy the beauty of our Playa Blanca. We regret that your experience at dinner was not the best and we are passing this information to the person responsible so the necessary corrections are made, as our dinner should be as outstanding as our breakfast. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a few days. To get around they have a free shuttle service just have to wait a few minutes not bad. The beach playa blanca is beautiful. If you don't get the all inclusive it gets expensive very quickly, the restaurant opens at 7 I think but charges a Buffett styles and for two its about $35 dinner is about $40 for two.
One complaint though and I'm sure it was an accident, I had breakfast teher one morning and had the omelette which was good until I noticed a fly in my omelette cooked fully :), after that I didn't want to eat anymore. Over all nice place to spend vacation I would recommend this place and again it can be pricey.
Also take plenty of cash I needed a bit more and there is a ATM just outside the main entrance like 2 minutes away but they wouldn't take me there which was shocking!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mregina78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments about our hotel. We are pleased that your stayed with us and that you enjoyed our beautiful Playa Blanca. We apologize for the incident that you had during breakfast, we will take steps to ensure that this situation does not recur. We look forward to the opportunity to serve again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, DE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Our stay at Punta Leona was an unexpected stop while visiting Costa Rica The grounds are lovely, our condo was perfection and we had the large infinity pool in our complex to ourselves for 3 days! The Playa Blanco was right down the stairs of the hill and the beach, the beers and the view were worth every penny. However, it is a large complex, you need a car to get around sometimes and the food and the food offerings left MUCH to be desired. All in all a lovely place ot stay for the price and the access to activities and the beaches.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DelawareBayGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We appreciate your comments and we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay. Our property, as you mention is quite extensive and offers different types of accommodation to our guests, including the apartments Leonamar which is the one that you choose to stay with your family. These apartments are very comfortable and offer the convenience of being located close to the beautiful Playa Blanca and have their own swimming pool overlooking the sea. We will consider your comments in regards to the food that is a topic that we are already working on and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I went to the Punta Leona Hotel and Resort at first excitedly (having read good reviews) and then apprehensively (reading bad reviews recently posted). Perhaps this was a good thing because I called from San Jose letting them know I'd be there shortly. The receptionist finally found my reservation, and upon arriving to the front entrance, my name was easily found and we were let in the grounds. Checking in was very easy and the front dest receptionist was helpful and friendly. We had a rental car, and I can see how not having a car and disliking walking would make for a bad visit. The map helped me navigate around the large grounds to the market, nearby Playa Blanca, and the pool grounds. I found the staff to be friendly and helpful, and a smile from one makes a difference. Our room was nice, just two queen size beds, and it was clean and quiet. (ok, there was a noise that came from the plumbing, but that kind of minor detail wasn't enough to make me any less happy). Breakfast buffet was delicious, and we were fortuntate to see MANY white-faced monkeys and pizotes. For some reason they didn't come around the following morning. I was happy my daughter enjoyed their beauty so much. I saw and heard toucans and macaws from a distance. The grounds are lovely, I have to say I was amazed and concerned about the sprawling developments. We enjoyed the pools and the butterfly gardern, and the restaurant at Playa Blanca was a nice place to dine our first night. Nearby Playa Herradura was very quiet when we went out for dinner the 2nd night. I also like the minutes the hotel gave for both local and international phones calls. My mother, daughter and I had a great time!

Room Tip: Our bungalow was towards the end of the path way, so it was nice not to be right next to the parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mebesig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the hotel, the nature and the service of our friendly staff, but especially we are pleased that you were able to form your own opinion about our property with your visit after reading both positive and negative comments. We strive to make our customers enjoy a nice vacation in a familiar environment surrounded by natural beauty and we take very seriously the comments that our guests provide us to improve everything that needs it. We hope you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at 1 ...were sent to beach for 3 hours...finally got our room...iit had two single beds...we took a quick shower...no hot water...then it got really hot for a second then freezing cold....the room is very dated and kind of resembles a closet...the light it the bathroom blinks on and off...theres air..but the windows dontclose....when we asked for one big bed...not usually an issue...they showed us a bigger room but insisted we pay an additional 25 a night....you are kind of stuck in the resort as it takes 15 minutes to get in here...the beach is far...need a car...shuttles are not dependable...cant find tthe towel shack....the internet inly works in the lobby and restaurant....does not work in Selvamar rooms...dumpy...the beach chairs are chained together and in shade....the front desk was helpful but management wouldnt budge ....they supposedly came to fix our room...they moved our beds together making it a queen size lol...and the light and shower were supposedly fixrd....not We will not Ever return to this resort...Go to Byblos or Arenal Lodge...much much nicer....

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bungirlandboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Google Translation
Estimada Huesped, muchas gracias por sus comentarios tan positivos y acertados al describir de lo que se trata Hotel & Club Punta Leona. Efectivamente somos un hotel enfocado a las familias y nuestro objetivo es que todos los que nos visiten disfruten su estadia en un ambiente seguro, limpio y rodeado de naturaleza. Nos complace saber que aprecio nuestros servicios y sera un placer atenderla nuevamente.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jaco hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
0.3 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,144 reviews
6.0 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
No photo provided
4.8 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
4.4 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Club Punta Leona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Property: Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Address: Playa Blanca | Punta Leona, Jaco 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Jaco
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#7 Spa Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Club Punta Leona 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, BookIt.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel & Club Punta Leona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Club Punta Leona
Punta Leona Costa Rica
Punta Leona Jaco
Punta Leona Hotel Costa Rica
Hotel & Club Punta Leona Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing