We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Jaco
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

I like Hotel & Club Punta Leona at lot. My husband and I stayed there for 3 nights: our room was good with big bathroom and plate of fresh fruits. The Playa Blanca beach is amazing, water is very pure. We saw a big turtle in the water :-) There were lots of monkeys, racoons an pizottes on the beach, trying to still something. The food was great during the breakfast and at the restaurant near the Playa Blanca beach. Lots of Costa Ricans stayed in this hotel. They told us that the beach was one of the most beautiful in Costa Rica. We definitely would stay there next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irysha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you very much for your valuable comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the beach and the nature that surrounds us. It is great to hear that you also found our room nice and comfortable and enjoyed our typical breakfast. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    282
    125
    53
    60
See reviews for
261
226
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HOBART
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

The property is quite large with a couple of mile drive back to the reception. Our room was quite small, but functional enough. We also noted the candle and did experience two power outages for a few hours each. The restaurant was near and the food was so-so. Included breakfast buffet had a good variety, but nothing that was really great. The dinner buffet was over priced ($20) for what they had. We tried to go to the pool restaurant one night but it was closed at 7pm even though hours stated open until 9. not sure why. The best part of the restaurant was the animal entertainment. If people sat in the seats near the jungle, you can watch the monkeys and coatimundi"s start creeping in waiting for their chance to steal anything off their unattended plates or the entire container with sugar packets. Pretty funny. Staff would set off firecrackers to send them all running back into the woods for a few minutes before they began the creeping back. The pool was great. We saw the biggest iguana ever up in the trees near the pool. The beaches, especially the white sand beach were beautiful. Beware of monkeys again, they opened our bag and took the energy bars and bit into the box of wine before someone shooed them away. One night heading into Jaco we almost ran over a sloth as it tried to cross the road . That was exciting. So bottom line, okay place, so-so rooms, awful drive into the resort, blah food, beautiful beaches and pool, okay activities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cjjj43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, Public Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your constructive feedback of the hotel. We appreciate you talking the time to review your stay, this helps us in trying to improve every day .We are please to know that you enjoyed our beautiful beach Playa Blanca and also the pool, the animals and all the natural experience that our hotel offers. We hope to be able to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

This very clean and beautifully landscaped hotel had a lot to offer. The setting was peaceful and well maintained. The rooms were a little small but were tucked in to the landscape which gave the illusion of privacy. All staff were very helpful and eager to please. The tour guide for the bird watching and butterfly gardens was very knowledgeable and interesting. The guys providing the zip line experience were fun and encouraging. The pools and beaches were beautiful and well equipped for tourists and their families

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beth0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your excellent comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the pools, our beautiful beaches and the friendliness of our staff. We hope you return again to the Hotel and Club Punta Leona, it will be a pleasure to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairway, Kansas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Three nites here -- was expecting more. Accomodations were pretty average. Grounds are truly lovely. I found that this place appeals more to TICOS -- Costa Rican nationals -- rather than US TOURISTS. For the price though the vacation value was very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BetsyD22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our grounds. Hotel & Club Punta Leona is not a luxury hotel but we offer comfortable rooms with all the amenities to have a great vacation especially for those who love nature and white sand beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a vast property but very easy to get around. Our room was in an area hidden amongst the trees - lovely but small - and very comfortable. We were close to the restaurant for breakfast which was included, and easily could walk to the beaches and pools. The staff here was very helpful - and our stay included a Monkey Canopy tour ---- we did this - and the guides were very helpful - but if you have any fear of heights do not go!!! I was terrified!!! Be aware there are protected animals in the area called Coati - they don't bother you - but they are sure around. This hotel is about a 3 mile drive in from the highway - and the grounds were very nice and lush - included is a butterfly pavillion - a grocery store - several restaurants - 3 different pools and 2 beaches. We loved our stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the very back - it is the most private area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nwackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your excellent review!! We are very Glad that you found our property lovely and comfortable and that our staff was helpful and was able to assist with your needs. Your Business is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a sprawling resort set in acres and acres of forests and beaches. Zip lining through the canopy and laying around on the beautiful white sand beach, Playa Blanca, were some of our highlights. There are several free tours/excursions you can take during your stay, including bird walks, hikes and butterfly garden tours. The resident macaws are beautiful, plentiful, and loud. The monkeys are used to being fed by humans, and will come down to the beach or your breakfast table for snacks (don't feed them!!). The meals were good, and the room was clean and modern. We would stay here again in a second.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank AztecXocolatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, General Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your great comments about our property, we are indeed a hotel surrounded by nature where our guests can enjoy nature, the beach and the many activities that we offer. We are pleased that you enjoy your with us and we hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

In summer we traveled through Central America from Panama City to Cancun. Punta Leona was one of th places we stayed for few nights mostly due to the nature around. The quality of the service, rooms, cousine is not the perfect but if you like a nature you can immediately forget about such small trifles. To see an exotic animals it is enough to go outside of your room or to take small trip to located near Manuel Antonio National Park. Early in the morning hotel offers bird walks and you can see and make photos of several local birds lice tucans, parrots and many others. Additionally not so far away you can find beautiful beach with the coach running very often from the hotel area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichalK74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, Public Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
We are delight to know that you chose our property to spend the most nights during your summer journey and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always appreciate the feedback from our nature lovers guests who can see the beauty of watching exotic animals, hear the birds singing, observe a couple of Tuscans Flying, eating in a restaurant surrounded by monkeys, and relax in a white sand beach where they still can observe macaws, color butterflies and other species of animals. We hope you honor us with your visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
0.3 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
6.0 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
4.8 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
3.3 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Club Punta Leona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Property: Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Address: Playa Blanca | Punta Leona, Jaco 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Jaco
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#7 Spa Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Club Punta Leona 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel & Club Punta Leona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Club Punta Leona
Punta Leona Costa Rica
Punta Leona Jaco
Punta Leona Hotel Costa Rica
Hotel & Club Punta Leona Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing