We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Yes, I'll Have The Extra Shot Please!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Dogs

Surf Dogs
Ranked #32 of 139 Restaurants in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: American, Bar, Costa Rican, Grill, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are located 20M off of the road in front of Budget Rental Car. We have inside and outside dinning. Check out our Surf Board Dinner Tables.
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yes, I'll Have The Extra Shot Please!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Daiquiri Bar....yummy. Your choice of flavors....and a great 2 for 1 happy hour. I think it is 4-8 daily. Extra shot just $1 more. Food is good too. Chicken Wings muy bueno. Lots of sauce choices. Try it...you will be hooked like we are.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sj89011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    45
    24
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEST Frozen drinks in Jaco!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

You cannot beat the lunch special from 11-2 daily! Our group spent entirely too much time at Surf Dogs during our week stay in Jaco. The staff are very friendly and the service is EXCELLENT, which we found to be a rarity in Jaco. The Manager was very informative and really made us feel at home. The free WiFi was super fast and a major plus. This place is conveniently located towards the middle of the main strip, so it's a great place to stop and cool off on a hot sunny day. Surf Dogs was easily our favorite happy hour spot! Pina Colda with an extra shot of Guarro!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Derekv21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome drinks and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My sister and I visited this place a couple of times because we liked it so much. The staff was nice and spoke English and Spanish. They had great food and drinks for a decent price. There were some Costa Rican food options as well as some more American food options. They also have free WiFi!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brooke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman W, Owner at Surf Dogs, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thanks for coming and the nice review. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Great drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

2x1 Daiquiris, lots of flavors to choose from.
It was a nice spot, nice atmosphere to relax and just chill with your friends.
The staff was super friendly.
Check out their specials and promotions.
Don't miss this place if you visit Jacó!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
371 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great food and drinks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Loved the fried plantains and bean dip with their own special homemade hot sauce. The beer was always cold and they had a good selection of mixed drinks. Great place to connect to wifi and check your email.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MaccaFan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surf Dogs also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Surf Dogs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing