We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for cocktails, munchies and laughs”
Review of Surf Dogs - CLOSED

Surf Dogs
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: American, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are located 20M off of the road in front of Budget Rental Car. We have inside and outside dinning. Check out our Surf Board Dinner Tables.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have been stopping at this bar for the past 2 years. This time we ordered Nachos and were pleasantly surprised. The manager Jeffrey, was also fantastic and gave us great tips and names for fishing and buying local foods.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ilove2live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 133 of 186 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

The ambiente is awesome, cool decor and the tables are made out of painted surfboards. The Daiquiris are delicious and the service is good!

Thank swissmiss_333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Some times you just want some good bar food and mix with friendly people. This is the place. You can not beat the long cocktail hour. The ceviche a house specialty is the best in the country.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cocoboolobruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

service was good and the frozen drinks hit the spot on a very hot day...... did not have food here so I can't comment on the food.
they appeared to have a nice menu but this was just happy hour for us while we were there.

Thank surfwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I went here because he'd never had a pina colada before and we thought this would be a good place to get one. We were SO wrong. The pina coladas somehow tasted like skunk mixed with burnt popcorn. Plus, they overcharged us by adding extra alcohol that we never asked for. Definitely skip this bar if you want authentic drinks and good service.

Thank Rae B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfDogsCR, Owner at Surf Dogs, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Rae,
My name is Norman Warren. I am the owner of Surf Dogs. Please let me apologize for the bad experience that you had in my bar. This has never happened before for the following reasons.
1. All of our Juices are made fresh and checked before they inter the machines.
2. The Bartenders are instructed in case of customer does not like the daiquiri, they will not be charged. Never had this happen but this is the procedure.
3. All customers are asked if they want an extra shot. We only charge a $1 for this extra shot. The procedure is that if there is a misunderstanding the bartender must do the following.
A. Not charge the customer for the extra shot.
B. Make another daiquiri for the client.
I have a couple of questions for you.
1. Did you complain about the taste of the daiquiri to the bartender and what was their reply?
2. Did you complain about getting the extra shot to the bartender and what was their reply?
I have been in business for more than 1 year and I have only received 1 / 3 star rating and the rest 4 and 5 stars so I take these complaints very seriously. I would appreciate your comments when you have a moment. Also I would like to invite you for a free daiquiri and either lunch or dinner as a way to make it up to you for this bad experience. Again, I want to apologize the the bad experience that you had in our bar. You are also welcome to call me at any time to discuss, 506 60585044.
Best Regards,
Norman Warren
Owner Surf Dogs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surf Dogs also viewed

 
Jaco, Jaco District
Jaco, Jaco District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing