We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Small place, doing big things” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Neo Fauna

Neo Fauna
Jaco, Costa Rica
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 44 things to do in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small place, doing big things”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

If this place is what it claims to be then I love it. A rehabilitation center for orphaned or injured creatures, with a butterfly greenhouse to boot. The guide was so friendly and was great with everyone. Met a baby monkey, Cesar, who is to be released when he's ready. Saw about 6 super poisonous snakes and a few frogs. Also non-poisonous of each. Guide was knowledgeable and enthusiastic. Worth the money even if small in my opinion.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenzava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    38
    4
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Educational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

It was great to learn about the local wildlife and know who to call when you need snake extraction! Thanks Josemar! You were awesome! You too Cesar!

Helpful?
Thank misstravelgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hats off to Josemar..... Best experience we had in CR!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Great little excursion and an opportunity to see things off of the beaten path. Josemar knows his stuff, is enthusiastic and a great host!

If you have a few hours to fill this is well worth the time and entrance fee (which all go towards maintenance of the facility).

Thanks Josemar!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Highlight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My kids got to hold a baby monkey and a baby raccoon! We also got to see up and close and personal; frogs, toads, turtles, snakes, and butterflies! The guide was amazing and extremely knowledgable. We had a wonderful time and are so grateful we did not listen to the few negative reviews! This was truly a highlight for our trip.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JNS711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Butterfly and reptile farm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Great experience and very educational. We got to hold quiet a few animals. Great for families and kids.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquelyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neo Fauna also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Neo Fauna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing