We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Educational” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Neo Fauna

Neo Fauna
Ranked #6 of 43 things to do in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Educational”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

It was great to learn about the local wildlife and know who to call when you need snake extraction! Thanks Josemar! You were awesome! You too Cesar!

Helpful?
Thank misstravelgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    38
    4
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hats off to Josemar..... Best experience we had in CR!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Great little excursion and an opportunity to see things off of the beaten path. Josemar knows his stuff, is enthusiastic and a great host!

If you have a few hours to fill this is well worth the time and entrance fee (which all go towards maintenance of the facility).

Thanks Josemar!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Highlight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

My kids got to hold a baby monkey and a baby raccoon! We also got to see up and close and personal; frogs, toads, turtles, snakes, and butterflies! The guide was amazing and extremely knowledgable. We had a wonderful time and are so grateful we did not listen to the few negative reviews! This was truly a highlight for our trip.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JNS711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Butterfly and reptile farm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Great experience and very educational. We got to hold quiet a few animals. Great for families and kids.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquelyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Up close experience with native creatures”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

*Friendly English speaking guides
*Entrance fee is $20 - totally worth it - supports locals and rescued animals
*Kid friendly
*Hands on - touch snakes and frogs
*Take a water bottle with you. It can get a little warm during the tour.

Caesar the resident monkey is friendly and they offer you a hands on experience with him along with the snakes, frogs and butterflies. This place beats any zoo experience because the creatures are caught wild and returned to the wild after two months.

Highly recommend this place...followed by a tasty lunch in Jaco at Pajara Pinta and shopping excursion at Fruity Monkey Poop boutique.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Abbabah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neo Fauna also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Neo Fauna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing