We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up close experience with native creatures”
Review of Neo Fauna

Neo Fauna
Ranked #9 of 47 things to do in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Midlothian, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Up close experience with native creatures”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

*Friendly English speaking guides
*Entrance fee is $20 - totally worth it - supports locals and rescued animals
*Kid friendly
*Hands on - touch snakes and frogs
*Take a water bottle with you. It can get a little warm during the tour.

Caesar the resident monkey is friendly and they offer you a hands on experience with him along with the snakes, frogs and butterflies. This place beats any zoo experience because the creatures are caught wild and returned to the wild after two months.

Highly recommend this place...followed by a tasty lunch in Jaco at Pajara Pinta and shopping excursion at Fruity Monkey Poop boutique.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Abbabah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    40
    5
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good fun”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Went here with our 2-year old. He had lots of fun. The guide was nice, funny, and knowledgeable. Took lots of time to show us around, photograph some of the animals, etc. $20 felt a bit steep, but as with many tours in this area kids are free so that makes that a bit more acceptable.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DutchCanadian83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zephyrhills, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Naturalists' Dream”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Perceptive minds in out-of-the-way places are like great jewels in the rough. Senor Jimenez is one very interesting and dedicated young man. I wasn't expecting to share Latin nomenclature for plants and animals, nor was I expecting so much more than a "touristy" look at a butterfly enclosure. Well worth the time if you'd like to meet a young scientist whom I fully anticipate great things of in the future.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Interesting animals”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Butterflies, frogs, snakes and more to be seen here. Guide was knowledgeable and friendly. Enjoyable stop in the Jaco/ Playa Herradura area.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank danielt2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very interesting and informative”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Our tour guide was amazing. Very knowledgeable about all the snakes, turtles, spiders, butterflies , frogs and toads. We were pleasantly surprised at how much we enjoyed this. It is nothing fancy, just a walk through a local property where a lot of terraniums have been set up with different wildlife in them. Then, you take a short walk through the 'butterfly' section where hundreds of butterflies fly by. Our kids LOVED this. They got to hold snakes and see the butterfly cocoons. Our guide was a stand in, I think his name was Marisio. He was amazing, great with the kids and obviously felt strongly about preserving the local wildlife. The star attraction was a rescued monkey named cesar who would shake your hand and interacted with the kids a lot. I was very glad we went here.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sherwood21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neo Fauna also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Neo Fauna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing