We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Tortuga Surf School
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tortuga Surf Camp is the choice for the traveler who wants to enjoy and discover the wonders of surf at an affordable price.Located strategically in the south end of Jaco Beach, this calm mellow beach breaks will be the classroom where our ISA certified instructor will lead you trough the this Costa Rican surfing experience.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“excellent”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Great staff, best price in jaco , also includes free drink and fruit which is well needed after a couple of hours surfing

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dustin86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TortugaSurfCamp, Manager at Tortuga Surf School, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank You very much for taking the time to give us your opinion about our service!, Out staff really loved having you around and we really hope you come back one day and surf us a little more! in the mean time you can use your photos as a remainder of the awesome time you spend with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience for our 2 boys”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This surf school is run by Celine and Michael, who are very hospitable hosts. Due to complications we were not at the pickup spot on time, but because of Celine's diligence she was able to track us down and drive us to the camp's spot on the southern end of Jaco beach. We were met by the very personable Micheal who quickly connected our boys (10 & 12) to their excellent instructors, expat Jason and Dougie, a native of Nicaragua. Both instructors were very skilled and able to get the boys up on their boards quickly. The instructors challenged the kids appropriately as they progressed, and seemed to infuse the kids with confidence. We couldn't be happier with the experience, and would recommend this friendly, efficient and well run business to all who are interested in learning to surf in a smart way.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kborg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TortugaSurfCamp, Manager at Tortuga Surf School, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your input, its in situations like this where out team is put to the test and i would say we did pretty good! Even though our all in one girl had to move around a little she manage to get you guys in time and safe to be able to get your boys in the water.
You kids where beyond awesome during the entire program and helped us making them program at a fast beat, we hope you guys visit our country again and now you know where to find us : )
Thanks again!
TS crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Outstanding”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Just had an individual lesson today. The lesson covered a lot of things and the instructors and the skills they teach help to get you out to the breaking waves and surf them. They really help their students become individual surfers. Wish I could've had more lessons but just didn't have time. Getting pictures of your session adds great value too!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank denis1nC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TortugaSurfCamp, Manager at Tortuga Surf School, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your input, we really hope that our short time helped you for the rest of your trip, we are sure you will do just fine you stood like a water warrior trough the program and you already had a lot of tools, we just needed to place them in the correct order and now you are set,! welcome to this world tribe of water people, and we hope we run into you in the water some day soon!
Pura Vida
TS Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“THE BEST”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I would rate the Tortuga Surf School the best attraction in Jaco. We have grand daughter ages 10 and 12 who really learned a great deal about surfing in a couple of sessions. Mike and his instructors were a great team. They worked hard to see that the girls up and going. I recommend this business to anyone who want to learn to surf quickly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RLSINT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TortugaSurfCamp, Manager at Tortuga Surf School, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, we really appreciate you taken the time to write a review for us, it was a pretty fun time with your little grand daughters and it was refreshing to meet you all, we hope you get a chance to visit us again! And you got surf for a long time with those little ones!
Thanks again
TS crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, AR
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“You can't go wrong with Tortuga Surf School”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Mike really knows his stuff when it comes to surfing, plus, kids just love him. We stayed at the hotel that Celine owns - Perico Azul, on a quiet street close to the surf school.

My older daughter had taken lessons in Tamarindo a few years ago and they were expensive, and not very good. She didn't know how to surf at the end of three days. My youngest daughter took her first lessons in Dominical before coming to Tortuga in Jaco - and it was almost twice the price, and she didn't know how to surf. Just a few days with this outfit, and she now thinks she is a lifetime surfer...we will see - she is a girl, she may change her mind, but for now, vacation was memorable for her and she picked up a fun sport and that makes me happy.

If you want to play in the water, save your money. If you want to learn how to surf, see Mike. Nuf said.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharla101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TortugaSurfCamp, Manager at Tortuga Surf School, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We are really happy that you where satisfied with our services, it was a pretty fun program and we have to say that when students are as dedicated and committed and your daughter it makes our work that much more awesome!
Its in our best interest that you as a customer receive a fair deal on a serious program since at the end of the day it for the benefit of everyone in our industry.
Thank you again for choosing our services and for taking the time to write about it. We hope to see you guys again!
Ts crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tortuga Surf School also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Tortuga Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing