We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional stay”
Review of Hotel Perico Azul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Perico Azul
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional stay”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one week in February and were blown away by the warmth of the hosts, Celine and Mike, as well as their dedication to ensuring an awesome stay for the guests of their beautiful hotel.

We flew in from Toronto, and the airport had lost our bags. Celine greeted us upon arrival at the hotel, and immediately took down our lost luggage reference number and assured us she would keep on them to make sure they were actually delivered. She then drove us to not only show us where the beach is (about a 5 minute walk), but took us into town so we could get some Jaco appropriate clothing. When it became clear that we were not getting our bags as promised, Mike and Celine took turns calling the airline and airport to get it sorted out. Thanks to their persistence, we got our bags the next day. This is just one example of how Celine and Mike go above and beyond for their guests. They are genuinely awesome people.

Their surf camp has a spot on the South end of the beach, a few minutes walking from the city, where they have chairs and the staff will watch your things. Really nice to not have to worry every time you go in the water.

Celine took us and some of the other guests on a waterfall hike (at no charge other than the entrance to the park), which was absolutely stunning. If you're in good shape, it's not to be missed!

The hotel itself is lovely, colorful and unpretentious. The rooms are a good size, comfortable, AC, cable, and ours had a small kitchenette and a mini fridge. We enjoyed the pool every single day. Jaco isn't cheap for foreigners, so we took full advantage of the kitchenette to make our own meals. This hotel has such a relaxed vibe, and all the other guests were super friendly.

Mike and Celine have created a fantastic spot to enjoy the beach and nature surrounding Jaco. Can't thank them enough for such an awesome time. Pura Vida!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KelseyKomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
69
59
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

good location, a bit away from the seedy town centre and 5 minutes walk from the beach. Celine was extremely friendly and knowledgeable on check-in, providing some great recommendations for the local area.

the room was a decent size. the furnishings are not the most modern and unfortunately, the bedroom had no windows and as such, felt a bit "stuffy". the bathroom was perfectly fine and the room did have a tv and a big fridge.

the service was really excellent and everyone was very friendly. we don't surf and were only here for a night but I imagine that if you did surf, this place would be a dream! overall, nothing amazing, but great service and a great price point make this place a good option.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam85London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed here for our first 2 nights of an 8 day trip in February 2014. It was our first time ever in Costa Rica so we were really clueless. Jaco is a busy, bustling beach town that can be overwhelming for newcomers with little Spanish fluency. This hotel made everything easy. It is safe (the gate is locked at all times), clean, and the proprietress, Celine is absolutely wonderful. I had chosen this hotel because of all the positive reviews. They were spot on. More businesses should follow the lead of this wonderful, locally owned hotel; it felt like home. We loved it so much, we stayed there on our last day (which we had left unbooked) since it is fairly close to the airport.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1973alice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Celine was an amazing host.The rooms are huge for Costa Rica and extremely clean! They even put fresh flowers in the room every morning. Mike at the surf school is the best instructor you will ever have! Tortuga surf school is super professional and really know what they're doing. Looking forward to our next visit.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Pierre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We return to Perico Azul Hotel (and surf school) like a flock of birds returning to a favorite nesting grounds.
My husband and I stayed at this lovely little hotel for two weeks last January and repeated our experience this year. Celine and Michael continue to update the lovely, surroundings of this cozy hotel with fresh paint and new amenities. The pool still sparkles and all is quiet, friendly and perfect for a couple wanting to get away and seek some treasured time together.
Perico Azul is located on the quiet southern end of Jaco. So one can have all the benefits of the restaurants and shopping and still find peace. Just a block from the ocean, this wonderful hotel offers your own spot on the beach with chairs and umbrellas. They also have an excelled common kitchen for your needs and there is always coffee waiting for you in the morning.
Its always a pleasure to watch the surf lessons conducted by Michael and his staff. Perico Azul has a wonderful surfing program to accommodate all levels of skill. In fact this hotel can help you to seek out any assistance or activity you might need! Celine arranged the car that picked us up at the airport and brought us right to the Hotel. What a convenience after a 6 hour flight.
You can't go wrong with this clean, charming, friendly hotel. It's very reasonably priced for the level of comfort you receive!
Celine recently added a couple of apartments across the street, too! They looked great and afford even more privacy!
My husband and I can't wait to go back next year...it like going home... with out the snow!
Terry Bush & Jim Wiseman

Room Tip: They offer a doubles (with two beds),TV, air, fans, nice bathroom. They also have rooms with one f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theresa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleming Island, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Hotel Perico Azul was not the easiest place to find during our month long visit to Costa Rica, but, once we arrived we knew it was worth the search. I had seen pictures on a website, but the description as a surf school, surfers hotel did give me some concern. Tucked away two easy blocks from the hustle of the main drag and a very easy walk to the beach, it was the perfect mix of convenience and peace. Upon arriving we were greeted by beautiful Celine, the co owner, who is efficient and caring as a hostess. Celine and Michael, who is the surfing instructor, have remodeled this small hotel that has been a mainstay of Jaco for many years. The rooms are charmingly decorated and very clean, beds are comfortable and quiet times are enforced. A common area includes a well equipped kitchen, sitting areas in and out, a crystal clean pool inside a secure gate.. Celine is beautiful, friendly and a perfectionist,, Michael is strong, intelligent and warm. Together they have built a business that reflects those qualities.. We feel we have found friends forever.. I highly recommend staying at Hotel Perico Azul when you visit Jaco.

Room Tip: Studios have counters with coffee pots, refrigerators and cook tops.. Standard rooms are spacious ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle3717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Valley, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night on our way from Ojochal to Rincon de la Vieja. We were just hoping for a good night's sleep before getting on our way the next day and we got so much more. The owners, Mike and Celine, live on site and one of them was always available to make dining recommendations or to assist with next day trip planning. You feel right at home in this small hotel with it's courtyard filled with plants, seating and a small pool. There is a common kitchen available if you are feeling like making your own meals. Our room was right next to the gate through which people entered and exited but we never heard a sound. Next visit we will stay longer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miajacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.4 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#7 of 42 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 42 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
1.2 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
5.4 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 42 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Perico Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perico Azul

Property: Hotel Perico Azul
Address: Ave Pastor Diaz(main Strip's south end) | Calle (St) Santana, Jaco 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#1 Best Value Hotel in Jaco
#3 Family Hotel in Jaco
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Perico Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Perico Azul is a small cozy apt-hotel on the south end of Jaco Beach, with its boutique like looks and private location close to the mountains, El Perico Azul is surrounded by blush nature and many species of birds that will allow you to wake up to the sounds of Costa Rica's best tropical sounds. This awesome slice of heaven will transport you trough the life style and decorative architecture of this colorful country, it will allow you to live the culture, the warmth and the reason for this to be the happiest country in the world. Just 5 min walk from the beach, and 15mn from the town, our hotel is the best choice if what you are looking for is a quiet room with daily cleaning and a variety of amenities available to you. Our professional hotel & surf camp staff will walk you trough this experience to make you visit to Costa Rica one you will never forget, and most of all one you will want to resume many times for many years to come. Our facilities count with room with one double or two double beds per room, each and every room with their own bathroom and access to the guest's kitchenette.So if you are into adventure & extreme sports such as surfing the most popular sport on the country, or just looking for a spot to hang you towel and forget about the crazy city lifestyle, Hotel Perico Azul is your place to be...Look no further and get ready to discover places and sensations you never though possible, let us be your guide trough this amazing paradise, let us guide you trough the smile of its people and their everlasting " PURA VIDA" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Perico Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Perico Azul Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing