We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found a second home”
Review of Hotel Perico Azul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Perico Azul
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2013

First of all I would like to say thank you. Thank you Celine and Mike for the great time at your lovely place. I planned 10 days in April at Perico Azul and leave finally after 18 days. My main issue was surfing so I really loved the relaxed atmosphere. It was more a kind of a family thing in my opinion. Celine showed me very good local places to eat and for sightseeing. Mike who is also a very good surf instructor and owner of a surf school called "Tortuga" showed me also very good spots to surf. My room was an A+. Very clean. It was tidy up by every day. I got an AC, TV, own bathroom with hot shower, a fridge and a lovely decoration with local flowers and some surf accessories. The beach is round about a 2 minute walk away with several good spots for surfing. Celine rents also a few very cool beach cruisers. If you want to go surfing in Hermosa for example, it's just a 20 minute ride by bike. If you have any dings in your surfboard Mike knows a lot of good shapers in the neigborhood which will repair your stuff fast, perfect and cheap.




Pura Vida
Basti from Ingolstadt (Germany)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BastiGeretshauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 241 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Had not planned to visit Jaco but ended up having to stay for 3 nights cos I needed an emergency root canal. Celine & Michael run a beautiful little hotel. Rooms are very clean & comfortable. AC & cable tv were a nice bonus. It's 10-15 mins walk to the main strip of town, less than $2 by taxi. Celine is a lovely & extremely helpful host. Coincidentally the dentist I wanted to see is also Celine's own dentist & she called them to book an appointment for me. By the way, if you ever need to see a dentist in Jaco, Alonso Balmaceda at Crystal Dental is fantastic.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amaanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I planned to stay for one or two nights and ended up staying for 5 of my 10 day trip.

My room was bright, comfortable and well equipped and the hotel was exceptionally clean throughout. I felt very safe and completely at ease for my entire stay.

Celine and Mike who run the place are great. Very accomodating, friendly, genuine and good for a laugh or two!

If you are planning a trip to Jaco there is no need to look anywhere else.

Tom (Diet Coke or Regular Coke only if its in the glass bottle)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

i was in this hotel in march all was perfect , good located, beach close , well equiped i had a nice stay there, and celine the manager was very helpful , always there for any information tour or help, i recommanded this hostel because it was cheap and good ,thanks yu very much for all
and little breakfast with fruit was nice too

Room Tip: all rooms are nice , for me
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DRISSMODEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

just back from travelling round costa rica, stayed here for 4 days and it was amazing. arranged transfer through the hotel and there was someone to meet us and it was so easy. the hotel is lovely very quiet, fresh fruit and coffee in the morning, rooms have AC are spacious and comfortable. had a couple of lessons with the surf school it was the best experience, there are sunbeds and umbrellas on the beach which was a huge bonus, celine and mike are the nicest people ever and will do anything for you. would definitely recommend staying in this hotel!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca_Woodhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at the Perico Azul about 1 week and it was perfect. The room had everything we needed; simple and clean. Located in a quiet area of Jaco. The owner Céline is very friendly and helpful.

Very good location; about 10 walking from Jaco Dowtown and a couple of minutes from the beach. Easy to park a car and visit the surrounding area.

Perfect hotel if you want to surf! Tortuga surf school is affiliated with the hotel and has great rates and instructors. It was very useful for us to book and pay surf lessons and board rental.

Samuel & Valérie

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Great hotel on the south side of Jaco. Very clean and comfy. AC, hot water, cable tv, secure, full kitchen, coffee every morning, board rentals available. Walking distance from the beach, where they provide free chairs and umbrellas, 10 minutes north of Playa Hermosa by car. Celine is awesome and very helpful. Really happy I stayed there

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
0.4 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#6 of 41 in Jaco
464 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 41 in Jaco
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ibiza
Hotel Ibiza
#9 of 41 in Jaco
87 reviews
3.5 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Perico Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perico Azul

Address: Ave Pastor Diaz | Calle Santana, Jaco 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#1 Best Value Hotel in Jaco
#3 Family Hotel in Jaco
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range: $66 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Perico Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Perico Azul is a small cozy apt-hotel on the south end of Jaco Beach, with its boutique like looks and private location close to the mountains, El Perico Azul is surrounded by blush nature and many species of birds that will allow you to wake up to the sounds of Costa Rica's best tropical sounds. This awesome slice of heaven will transport you trough the life style and decorative architecture of this colorful country, it will allow you to live the culture, the warmth and the reason for this to be the happiest country in the world. Just 5 min walk from the beach, and 15mn from the town, our hotel is the best choice if what you are looking for is a quiet room with daily cleaning and a variety of amenities available to you. Our professional hotel & surf camp staff will walk you trough this experience to make you visit to Costa Rica one you will never forget, and most of all one you will want to resume many times for many years to come. Our facilities count with room with one double or two double beds per room, each and every room with their own bathroom and access to the guest's kitchenette.So if you are into adventure & extreme sports such as surfing the most popular sport on the country, or just looking for a spot to hang you towel and forget about the crazy city lifestyle, Hotel Perico Azul is your place to be...Look no further and get ready to discover places and sensations you never though possible, let us be your guide trough this amazing paradise, let us guide you trough the smile of its people and their everlasting " PURA VIDA" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Perico Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Perico Azul Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing