We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“nice stay in jaco with this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Perico Azul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Perico Azul
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice stay in jaco with this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

i was in this hotel in march all was perfect , good located, beach close , well equiped i had a nice stay there, and celine the manager was very helpful , always there for any information tour or help, i recommanded this hostel because it was cheap and good ,thanks yu very much for all
and little breakfast with fruit was nice too

Room Tip: all rooms are nice , for me
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DRISSMODEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
59
51
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

just back from travelling round costa rica, stayed here for 4 days and it was amazing. arranged transfer through the hotel and there was someone to meet us and it was so easy. the hotel is lovely very quiet, fresh fruit and coffee in the morning, rooms have AC are spacious and comfortable. had a couple of lessons with the surf school it was the best experience, there are sunbeds and umbrellas on the beach which was a huge bonus, celine and mike are the nicest people ever and will do anything for you. would definitely recommend staying in this hotel!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca_Woodhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at the Perico Azul about 1 week and it was perfect. The room had everything we needed; simple and clean. Located in a quiet area of Jaco. The owner Céline is very friendly and helpful.

Very good location; about 10 walking from Jaco Dowtown and a couple of minutes from the beach. Easy to park a car and visit the surrounding area.

Perfect hotel if you want to surf! Tortuga surf school is affiliated with the hotel and has great rates and instructors. It was very useful for us to book and pay surf lessons and board rental.

Samuel & Valérie

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Great hotel on the south side of Jaco. Very clean and comfy. AC, hot water, cable tv, secure, full kitchen, coffee every morning, board rentals available. Walking distance from the beach, where they provide free chairs and umbrellas, 10 minutes north of Playa Hermosa by car. Celine is awesome and very helpful. Really happy I stayed there

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Google "Pura Vida" and you will find the meaning as "full life" or "plenty of life" or "this is living." Hotel Perico Azul and Tortuga Surf Camp fully embody "Pura Vida." The rooms are perfect. Simple, clean, comfortable, and everything you need. Location is an ideal starting point for many adventures. Playa Hermosa is 5 minutes away by car but I found myself surfing in front of Tortuga Surf camp often because it was fun and Michael and crew at the camp are the best. Anytime I had a question or needed anything, Celine, Michael or any of the other staff would appear within moments yet I rarely saw them. Their Pura Vida is contagious as all of the guests I met were great people with super attitudes which leads me to believe that all guests are vetted to ensure that they keep the riff raff away. One of my major concerns prior to visiting was being secure as I had many valuables with me (computer, headphones, ipod, ipad, camera, etc, etc). I am happy to report that I felt secure instantly and never once worried about my valuables. This trip was a working holiday for me so having stable Wifi was imperative. I am happy to report that the Wifi here was perfect for my needs and never did I experience down time. Sadly I only stayed 4 nights before I had to move on. No question I will be back but next time much longer. Thank you Celine and Michael (Tortuga Surf Camp) for teaching me and letting me experience first hand, "Pura Vida." Also thank you Michael for sharing Costa Rican culture and for trusting me with one of your surfboards even after I left the hotel. Because of you I was able to surf a decent board for my whole vacation which I really appreciated. I would highly recommend this boutique hotel to any travelers.

Room Tip: I think the only difference in rooms are size. Otherwise you cannot go wrong with any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkDorsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Long overdue review but Celine is amazing and runs a great shop. Excellent location, close to the beach and nightlife but far away to be quiet. It was very easy to drive to Manuel Antonio from here and it was stunning. This place is simply the best.

Room Tip: Plan ahead, they only take cash.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank can3388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We were only have to stay with Celine for two days, but it was perfect. Rooms were large, and ours had a fridge perfect to keep drinks cold for the beach. Bathrooms were clean- and hot water was a nice surprise! The pool and outside area was beautiful and perfect for relaxing.

Staff at the hotel and with their partnering surf school on the beach were so friendly. They were very helpful with the local area too!

Our gps was definitely not working right and we did get a bit lost. If you are on the main strip in Jaco facing the ocean, continue left, keeping the ocean on your right. You need to head just outside of town, making a right at the three story municipal building. The hotel is just down the road- make a left turn when you see the sign.

Great location- close to the beach and town, but far enough from town to avoid the noise.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jkmbac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
0.0 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#9 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Perico Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perico Azul

Property: Hotel Perico Azul
Address: Ave Pastor Diaz(main Strip's south end) | Calle (St) Santana, Jaco 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#1 Best Value Hotel in Jaco
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#3 Family Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Perico Azul is a small cozy apt-hotel on the south end of Jaco Beach, with its boutique like looks and private location close to the mountains, El Perico Azul is surrounded by blush nature and many species of birds that will allow you to wake up to the sounds of Costa Rica's best tropical sounds. This awesome slice of heaven will transport you trough the life style and decorative architecture of this colorful country, it will allow you to live the culture, the warmth and the reason for this to be the happiest country in the world. Just 5 min walk from the beach, and 15mn from the town, our hotel is the best choice if what you are looking for is a quiet room with daily cleaning and a variety of amenities available to you. Our professional hotel & surf camp staff will walk you trough this experience to make you visit to Costa Rica one you will never forget, and most of all one you will want to resume many times for many years to come. Our facilities count with room with one double or two double beds per room, each and every room with their own bathroom and access to the guest's kitchenette.So if you are into adventure & extreme sports such as surfing the most popular sport on the country, or just looking for a spot to hang you towel and forget about the crazy city lifestyle, Hotel Perico Azul is your place to be...Look no further and get ready to discover places and sensations you never though possible, let us be your guide trough this amazing paradise, let us guide you trough the smile of its people and their everlasting " PURA VIDA" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Perico Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Perico Azul Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing