We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place and people, unbeatable price”
Review of Hotel Tuanis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Tuanis
Ranked #2 of 29 Jaco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We loved staying here for 3 nights. On the first one they upgraded us to a wonderful nearby condo due to some construction work. Then we thought anything would be down the hill from there, but our room at Tuanis was spacious, very clean, modern and comfortable. Rick, his wife and employees went our of their way to help us. Even though the place was right in front of the street, it was quiet and very family friendly. Plus, their breakfast vouchers with Tacobar are great! In summary, we will be staying here any time we come back to Jaco.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank Ana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 108 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Not even sure to begin.....first off I wouldnt waste your money to stay here.
The room itself was so small..the bed was hard, very uncomfortable, and small. The photos on their website are very decieving. We had a chair in our room...a round one that would be suitable for a 7yr old.
If you enjoy having cold showers...then this is your place! Took about 15mins to get hot water...and when it finally did, it was scorching boiling hot. Absolutely no temperature control. the bathroom is so small that the door needed to be closed if you wanted to use the sink..and would need to move to open the door.
The room is DIRECTLY off the street...literally opens to the side walk. and windows covered in bars. the wood door did not seal therefore you could see light around every side of the door. I could hear what everyone was saying all day...and hear all the road noise and party people ALL night long. it was horrible. and if we can hear them..they can clearly hear us. We had the pleasure of listening to the owner and son fighting outside our door because he didnt clean as much as he was asked to. Very professional.
We had a extremely hard time asking the desk lady anything..which would explain the troubles and confusion we had from day one trying to book it. I understand we are going to a country that speaks spanish..but mostly every place you go they speak some english.
They advertise free calling to Canada and US...that would be great..if there was a phone in the rooms.
DONT STAY HERE! Save your money. Yes it is close to beach, buy overall not worth the headache

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ntpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, Owner at Hotel Tuanis, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2017

One question, why did you stay at my hotel when you saw the size of the room , you saw the chair that you didn't like, you saw where the room was located on the street front next to my office. All before you agreed to give me money to rent the room for the night. You were a "walk in" and simply could have voted with your dollars and went somewhere else.
I really wish that you would have and gone somewhere else.
Sincerely yours
Ricky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The owners of the hotel and the receptionist are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very nice and clean. It's a quiet place in the center of Jaco. We would go there for a second time.
The price is good, compared with other hotels in Costa Rica. The city of Jaco is nice, people there are friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tschal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Just an all around fantastic experience. Ricky was extremely personable and accommodating. We couldn't have enjoyed Jaco as much as we did without Tuanis as our home base. He helped plan our interests with ease, even guided us with the public buses and stayed at the bus stop to make sure we got the right one. Clean room, awesome staff, great location! A few steps from the beach, and perfect spot for walking the streets of Jaco. As our first time in Costa Rica, we couldn't of asked for a better experience. We will definitely be returning and bringing more there with us!!! Thanks Ricky for everything you did to make our vacation a lifetime to remember! Pura Vida

Room Tip: Depends on your needs. There are rooms available with or without a kitchen. Any of them are worth ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lb101804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Clean, nice and comfortable. Was what we need, in Jaco downtown.
The breakfast was great, it's at Taco Bar. Close to everything and not in the right middle of Jaco.
There is parking for only one car per room, but the rest of the cars stay in front of the hotel with a security guard.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rokabruja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We had such an enjoyable stay! We originally planned to stay one night but ended up staying three because we did not want to leave! The staff was very accommodating and the hotel was very comfortable! As someone that travels frequently I have never felt so comfortable,I highly recommend this hotel!

If you are an overly cautious traveller this hotel offers a security guard at night and is in a peaceful area. If you are a traveller on a budget this hotel is definitely worth the nightly rate and the has extra perks. You will definitely enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntonelaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We booked one night at Tuanis, but because of unforeseen circumstances were unable to stay at the hotel proper. Rick and the rest of the Tuanis staff were great and made sure that we were comfortable in an alternate location owned by the management only steps from the hotel. So I can't review Tuanis per se, but I can tell you that the hospitality is top-notch.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.5 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ibiza
Hotel Ibiza
#8 of 40 in Jaco
94 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Creole
Hotel Villa Creole
#12 of 40 in Jaco
105 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#5 of 40 in Jaco
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tuanis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tuanis

Address: Calle Girasol just, Jaco, Garabito Municipality 1-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Garabito Municipality > Jaco District > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Jaco
Price Range: $65 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuanis Aparthotel, a unique family owned and operated residence hotel that caters to all your every need while traveling in Jaco Beach. Cleansiness and personal service are the top priorities here at Tuanis because we want you coming back to us every time you pass through Costa Rica. Tuanis provides accommodations for the single traveler, couples, families , large groups in even bachelor parties. Tuanis is an earth and environmentally friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Tuanis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tuanis Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing