We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dish!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wahoos Bar ^ Restaurant

Wahoos Bar ^ Restaurant
Ranked #51 of 137 Restaurants in Jaco
Cuisines: Seafood, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best dish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My family and I went to Wahoos one night. Be careful - there is another place with the same name on a side street. This Wahoos served a dish called Carribean Mahi. Simply the most amazing dish we had eaten in a long time. We went back two more nights - each time thinking we would try something else - and each night ordering the same dish. Simply perfection! We've tried to make it ourselves. We come close - but not close enough. The woman who took care of us (maybe the owner) was an absolute delight and took great care of us. This is a DON'T MISS when in the Jaco area!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EBN017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    19
    14
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
maryland
1 review
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

relaxed place great food &staff chefs attitude makes you feel wlecome very cool todd made our group a very special meal for 12 we were overwhelmed with his enthusiasam

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank polecat2680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Todd's the man”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great food, awesome environment, and one of a kind staff. Todd is a great chef and the selection is wonderful. We love this place! Can't wait to be back next year. Ahi to die for. From Viral Sound and friends at jungle jam!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zstreetband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“All Fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Went to Wahoos after seeing it on Trip Advisor Chef is from a resturant in Virginia Beach and personally explains the specials. The best tuna appetizer I have ever had (two ways tuna) The meal of lobster with prawns and fresh veggie was magnificient. Very nice service as well.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank breganoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEST HAPPY HOUR FOOD ANYWHERE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

With a doubt, the best fish taco and grilled shrimp - mac and cheese you have EVER eaten.

Chef Todd has done an outstanding job.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ACLCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wahoos Bar ^ Restaurant also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Wahoos Bar ^ Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing