We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food wonderful staff.”

Wahoos Bar ^ Restaurant
Ranked #69 of 161 Restaurants in Jaco
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food wonderful staff.”
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

A restaurant that really works hard to please. The food is outstanding and prepared by a very accomplished chef. The seafood dishes really are hard to beat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cocoboolobruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    21
    14
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You will not regret!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were thinking about ordering steaks but the waitress recommended the tuna because it was that mornings catch, so perfectly fresh. So we both ordered it (rare,as she asked) and it was the best tuna we ever had in a restaurant! Beautiful! Service was perfect and the place is very clean. Not overpriced! We had a great time!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tantepoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lunch and dinner”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We had dinner here first and made a return trip for lunch because we loved it so. The family that runs it is so very nice and hospitable and the food was wonderful. Just a wonderful experience for us all.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Everything we had was great! I had the calimari and the chocolate brownie which was great! Our server who was the restaurant's owner daughter was more than accommodating! We also had a very good cabernet which is sometimes difficult to find in jaco. Definitely try it!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katwatts0022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Outstanding fish tacos, great atmosphere”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I've lived in Texas - the land of Tex-Mex food - for over a dozen years, and I must say that the best fish taco I've ever had was at Wahoo's in Jaco Beach. The fish was perfectly seasoned and cooked, and it had a slaw-type dressing that complemented it perfectly. The owner brought out a bottle of her house-made hot sauce, and the flavor was amazing. (I tried to pry the recipe out of her, but to no avail.)

Other restaurants in Jaco serve fish tacos, and we did try one other place, just for comparison purposes (seriously). Wahoo's was the winner, hands down.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wahoos Bar ^ Restaurant also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Wahoos Bar ^ Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing