We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Still number one in our book of Asian in Jaco!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wok - CLOSED

The Wok
Calle Central | next to Budget Rent A Car, Jaco, Costa Rica
506 2643 6168
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Thai, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a healthy fusion of fine Asian cuisine from various countries of SE Asia.We serve an excellent variety of fresh vegetables,meats ,fish and shellfish,for vegetarians we offer as well tofu, sitake mushrooms and bamboo shoots ,all our sauces are homemade and your meal is prepared in our open outside kitchen.You will be pleasantly surprised by the different flavours that we can offer you in the best true Asian-Fusion restaurant in town; see you at The Wok!!
Jaco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Still number one in our book of Asian in Jaco!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Had the BEST Pad Thai EVER last night for dinner!! Flavor and atmosphere tops...we highly recommend this restaurant for Asian in Jaco, Costa Rica.....consistently delicious!!!! MUST TRY when visiting, for sure!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank angelaaverett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    48
    12
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome & Spicy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Lee is the man when it comes to Asian cuisine! this is not a huge fancy restaurant its on the main strip and its easy to find and other reviwers are right when they use words like Excellent and great, getting a taste of their MAHI MAHI is a most!!!!
Cant wait to be back!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jayincr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Flamingo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Wok N Roll”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is a great little stop in on the main road. It is express Chinese but tastes like you went out to dine. The owner is a world traveler and does not mind answering any of those so many local questions we have. Loved It!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TexasFilly811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everywhere
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I visited here with my friends and was not feeling well(super hungover) A very nice woman who I assume was the owner was very kind to me and helped boxed up my food to eat it later. Fresh Asian fusion with seared tuna was the best meal I had in jaco.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JakeeV7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Love the Mahi Mahi ;)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I really dug this joint. Came back 3 times during my stay in Jaco. I was actually a bit surprised how decent the food was; I didn't think in a little town in Central America that you'd be able to find good asian cuisine but I found it to be extremely well done, & I'm a harsh critic because I eat mainly Chinese, Japanese & Korean & have been to those countries many times, so I don't usually give props to just any old place. Anyway- they do a great Mahi Mahi dish which you can order with either noodles or rice. I think I tried that twice & also a shitake mushroom dish that was equally good. I would say it was the best food/eatery I tried during 1 1/2 weeks in Jaco. Good vibe & appearance as well. 2 thumbs up !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shockcityrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wok also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing