We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healthy & Delicious” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wok - CLOSED

The Wok
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Thai, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a healthy fusion of fine Asian cuisine from various countries of SE Asia.We serve an excellent variety of fresh vegetables,meats ,fish and shellfish,for vegetarians we offer as well tofu, sitake mushrooms and bamboo shoots ,all our sauces are homemade and your meal is prepared in our open outside kitchen.You will be pleasantly surprised by the different flavours that we can offer you in the best true Asian-Fusion restaurant in town; see you at The Wok!!
Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Healthy & Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a simple place but the dishes are tasty with you choice of meat and sauces for most plates. Prices are good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    48
    12
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great service, great Asian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Great food. Hospatility is the middlename of the owner, who calls himself mr. Lee. The place to be if you want a european size dish.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mathijs K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Small, well done menu, with vegan options”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stopped to eat at The Wok, for the first time, based on the amazing smells. The service was great. Simple menu with a focus on the basics. The owner was interesting to talk with.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SoireeChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Tortuga, Costa Rica
2 reviews
“Healthy Eating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I travel to Jaco at a average of once a month for business and have it in my schedule to stop for lunch at The Wok.I find the food and service excellent .After a meal I feel satisfied and with the feeling of just indulging in a very healthy ,fresh ,clean meal ,something that does not happen from your typical fast food place .
On any future trips to Jaco with friends ,our lunch will always be at The Wok.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank delifrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Simple Chinese inspired food with other Asian elements. Run by a friendly Dutch guy who didnt mind to take time to share a beer and some stories and local information. Good, basic noodles with a lot of choice as to adjust the dishes to get exactly what you want. Ate fish sexond time here and was very fresh and nice, and simply but well prepared.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank urbanemson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wok also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing