We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Asian Fusion at it's Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wok - CLOSED

The Wok
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Thai, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Description: We are a healthy fusion of fine Asian cuisine from various countries of SE Asia.We serve an excellent variety of fresh vegetables,meats ,fish and shellfish,for vegetarians we offer as well tofu, sitake mushrooms and bamboo shoots ,all our sauces are homemade and your meal is prepared in our open outside kitchen.You will be pleasantly surprised by the different flavours that we can offer you in the best true Asian-Fusion restaurant in town; see you at The Wok!!
Jaco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Asian Fusion at it's Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is true Asian fusion at it's Best. Every meal is fantastic. The owners Lesley and Lee are very gracious and you never feel like you are hurried through your dining experience. There are several items to choice from with homemade sauces of your choice. If you are not sure of your wants just ask. Everything is made to order and you will be happily explained the process and tastes. The Indonesian flair is there to please the palate and treat your taste buds. Best of all it is HEALTHY. Stop in and have a excellent dining experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MargoSanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    48
    12
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spearfish, South Dakota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“still wonderful a year later”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We returned to Costa Rica and returned to the Wok... gosh that peanut sauce on the chicken and rice is just memorable...

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZWorldTraveler2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“HORRIBLE!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had a HORRIBLE time at this restaurant. We went there around noon and we were told to call an hour later to assure that the food was ready (which was only a few platters of fried rice). So, we called an hour later and the co-owner of the restaurant told us that she didn't have our food ready because she didn't know if we really wanted the food. REALLY?! We had to wait an additional 20 minutes for our food to be ready and when I got there, I was only offered a $2 discount. I had to pay with a credit card and they wanted to charge me an additional 10%! I refused to pay the credit card amount due to the their lack of miscommunication and then the women said that they were not going to give us the food! So, we left and went to Big Ron's Pizzeria! AMAZING!!!! THE BEST PIZZA IN JACO! 2 thumbs down for The Wok and 2 thumbs up for Big Ron's Pizzeria!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

My family was craving Asian food and after not being able to get a reservation at an upscale fusion restaurant at our hotel I browsed thru Tripadvisor.com and found "The Wok". When the cab dropped us off in front or the restaurant, my wife and daughter gave me a look and wanted to go to "plan B". This is not an upscale restaurant. This is a neighborhood, unadorned, on the street, stumble in, type of place. My boys were game and this was Christmas week so just roaming around trying to find another place was not what I wanted to do. Well we were all happy we did. Though not fancy in decor or presentation, it was very nice, flavorful, not greasy, fresh and healthy. It was also the least expensive meal of our entire stay. Which doesn't hurt. Great friendly service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
114 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good, healthy food, fast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

The Wok is a great place to grab a meal. You can get various stir fries with various sauces and rice or noodles. You can have vegetarian, fish or meats. Always a good hearty bowl of food!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Blossom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wok also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing