We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice friendly place to stop for after dinner chats” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe del Mar

Cafe del Mar
Ranked #49 of 152 Restaurants in Jaco
Cuisines: Cafe, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice friendly place to stop for after dinner chats”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Owner Rossie always there to welcome and chat. Great hamburger and good local style meal selections. Cafe con leche is the best in town. Good for breakfast also. Very reasonable prices for Jaco

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diddis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    36
    12
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“get the typical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

went here 2 times in a week got the typical and shared a continental w a friend great coffee and service with a smile hope to be back next time in jaco for sure again get the coffee u will be amazed its almost like a latte so so good

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ckb732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Breakfast wasn't great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We were staying at a hotel just a couple blocks away and had tried a couple different places for breakfast and thought we would try this one out. We sat for a bit and i had to grab my own menu, and once the wait staff did come they did not seem very friendly. Food did come quick and the coffee was great, but food was OK. BUT it did seem cheaper than other places that we had gone to. I wont go back, but it wasn't terrible, I never did have supper so i have no comment on that.

Helpful?
Thank TheTravellingTunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, MN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to have coffee while skyping”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Didn't eat, so I can't speak for the food, but the coffee's great (REALLY good coffee w/ steamed milk for about 700 colones). We came here several times to use their WIFI connection, which was just fast enough to allow Skyping with our kids back home. Overall I'm happy with the place and if I ever come back to Jaco, will probably visit again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed in Jaco for 8 days and sampled many restaurants. This food was the best, and it was almost the cheapest. Great value.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank danfriesen55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe del Mar also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Cafe del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing