We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place to have coffee while skyping” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe del Mar

Cafe del Mar
Ranked #42 of 139 Restaurants in Jaco
Cuisines: Cafe, Central American, American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Duluth, MN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to have coffee while skyping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Didn't eat, so I can't speak for the food, but the coffee's great (REALLY good coffee w/ steamed milk for about 700 colones). We came here several times to use their WIFI connection, which was just fast enough to allow Skyping with our kids back home. Overall I'm happy with the place and if I ever come back to Jaco, will probably visit again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    34
    11
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed in Jaco for 8 days and sampled many restaurants. This food was the best, and it was almost the cheapest. Great value.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank danfriesen55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Terrible.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Came to this cafe based on Tripadvisor reviews but unfortunately this is the first time that Tripadvisor has let me down. Service here was very slow and unfriendly, bordering rude. Food was mediocre at best.

    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandarin01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Thank-you Trip Advisor for sending us here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I found ourselves in Jaco on our way to a family vacation in Dominical.
After a day of traveling we woke up and wanted a good cup of coffee.

Thank-you Trip Advisor and other Reviewers for writing about Cafe Del Mar.
We had breakfast there on our way to and from our week-long holiday, and I agree with the other reviewers, and feel the need to say this with All Caps:
THIS IS THE BEST COFFEE WE HAD IN COSTA RICA!

Everything about Cafe Del Mar works for a traveler.
The food is fresh, tasty, and inexpensive.
The location of the restaurant is easy to find, and there is street parking right in front.
We parked across the street and could see our car the entire time during both visits.
There is wi-fi and you can get coffee to go.
The fresh fruit is so good - as others have said, get the fruit plate on the side if you don't go for the Continental breakfast. It is really yummy!

If you are in Jaco, or driving along the Central Pacific Coast and want either breakfast or coffee, you should definitely seek out Cafe del Mar.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank latitude53er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Delicious and convenient. Staff were so nice and very patient while we tried to translate everything!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarahelisek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe del Mar also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Cafe del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing