We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tour Guides & FUN !!”

Cuchi Transfers and Tours
Ranked #28 of 79 Tours in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a local company with more than 15 years experience located in the heart of Jaco, Costa Rica. We offer safe, comfortable and inexpensive:- Private shuttle services- Tours to all tourist attractions in Costa Rica- Breathtaking individual tours off the beaten track
Central Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Tour Guides & FUN !!”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Upon our pick-up at the airport by Cuchi Transfers, we inquired about stopping for beer to take back to our hotel in Los Suenos. PRESTO! Jorge pulled two cans of Imperial out of his pockets & said "CERVEZAS!" We knew this was our type of tour guides! The main highway to our hotel was closed so we took the long way, which was quite a tour experience. These guys notice any macaw, sloth & local vegetation that we may be interested in & pulled over for pictures. Jorge conveniently had a telescope for close-ups! They had us walk over a bridge of crocodiles - a great photo op! He offered to take us to a supermarket for incidentals (Cervezas!), which we did. They recommended a thrilling zip-line canopy tour & a relaxing day trip South to Manuel Antonio Nat'l Park in Quepos for hiking, monkey viewing & a gorgeous white sandy beach paradise! Along the way, we stopped off at Playa Hermosa for views of surfers shredding the waves & to a super cool restaurant which is inside a huge airplane fuselage that had some amazing views! They took us to local Costa Rican cafes for local fare--delicious!! (& cheap!!). We were traveling with two "old salts" who frequently travel to Costa Rica. They convinced us they could find a great deal on two days of charter boat fishing.... well, Jorge found a rooster fishing charter & a deep-sea charter that was several hundred dollars cheaper!! We reeled in three rooster fish, five jacks, a sailfish & a 350 lb blue marlin!! Exciting!!! In a country where driving can be a hazard, Luis is a very safe & courteous driver & our group of six were always comfortable. I would definitely recommend using Cuchi Transfers for your Costa Rican vacation adventure! You will not be disappointed!! Thanks guys!! Your Florida friends, Kim, Marni, Kara, Kirby, Billy & BoBo

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank MuttCutt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“George (Jorge) & Luis are the Best”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I can not say enough about these two gentlemen. They picked us up at 7:00 in the morning and brought us back at 10:00pm! The 15 hour tour included stops to see gators, butterflies, birds, monkeys, volcanoes, souvenirs and dinner after a ninety minute soak in the hot springs. They patiently waited while we took a nearly 2 hour zip line adventure and two days later delivered, to our hotel, a DVD of our day's adventure.

Above and beyond all expectations of any tour we've taken.

These two guys deliver fun and great conversation that ranged from medicinal plant facts, history, economics and the Costa Rican lifestyle. George & Luis... many thanks from Dave, Christi, Katie and Joe. You guys are first class and a joy to know. We'll see you again!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
16 Thank DaveC59_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent, personal service from Cuchi Transfers”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

My family took a trip to Costa Rica in March. We booked an all day tour with Cuchi Transfers. They were on time picking us up from the hotel and took us to see many wonderful sights in Costa Rica that lasted an entire day. Cuchi Transfers was extremely friendly and professional. They really listen to what it is you are interested in seeing and doing and try to accomodate you as best they can. We had a wonderful tour that day that included seeing the crocodiles, monkey park, ziplining and hot springs. Highly recommended.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
20 Thank dyh204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Cuchi Tours went above and beyond to make our Costa Rican Experience Unforgettable”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

If you are looking for an unforgettable experience in Costa Rica......go with Cuchi Tours. Jorge and Luis went above and beyond to make a custom tour for us at the very last minute. I called the company the night before to book a tour after reading all the excellent reviews on tripadvisor. We wanted a customized tour that included ziplining and waterfalls all in one day.......I spoke with Jorge and he said "no problem ....we will take care of it". Jorge and Luis picked us up on time and we proceeded to the ziplining excursion which lasted about 2 hours. Before the ziplining,Jorge realized that some of us in the group were a little hungover and hand picked us a local fruit that made the nausea go away!!! ( throughout our day trip he would stop the van and hand pick local fruit for us to try) After the ziplining we headed to the waterfalls with 3 stairstepping pools ( one waterfall then a pool of water then another waterfall and a pool of water, etc.). We had the waterfalls and 3 pools all to ourselves because the place they took us to was private property and not a "normal" tourist attraction. They happened to know the owner of the property which allowed us to enjoy the postcard style environment without lines or crowds. I have to say the ziplining was great, but the waterfalls were unbelievable!! We were able to slide down the waterfalls into the pool, as well as, jump off the side of the waterfall into the water.....it was sooo much fun! During the trip, our camera ran out of battery and Luis took pictures with his camera and emailed us the photos....I don't know many tour companies that do would do that. Both these guys were very personable and treated you like a friend not a client. During the whole tour they would stop at anytime for bathroom breaks, food stops, or grocery market stops to gather beer, wine, snacks etc. I never felt like we were on a time frame. We enjoyed our experience so much that we booked them a second day to do the crocodile tour. I have to say, the thing that impressed me the most....... was on one night of our vacation we got into a bind and desperately needed a ride to a restaurant and we called Jorge and Luis and they saved the day! (keep in mind that they worked all day doing tours and such ....and at the last minute, late at night, they picked us up and dropped us off at the restaurant) . I would highly recommend using this family run tour company anytime you are in Costa Rica!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
16 Thank advidwinetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Gotta go see Jorge, Luis and Mauricio next time your in Jaco”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

5/5. Jorge Mora and his sidekick Luis are quite a dynamic duo but Jorge's brother Mauricio makes Cuchi Transfers like the 3 musketeers. Every question we had was answered and everything we needed Jorge was able to arrange. When we left we had Luis drive us directly to the airport. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
18 Thank stefan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuchi Transfers and Tours also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Cuchi Transfers and Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing