We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bubba's & Bohio Beach Bar - CLOSED

Bubba's & Bohio Beach Bar
Calle Bohio, Jaco, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, South American, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Herradura, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
112 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Awesome Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Ate here tonight for our last dinner in Jaco before heading home tomorrow. This place is hard to find, but it's right on the beach, down one of the little side streets from the main drag in Jaco.

Anyway, we were seated right away. Ordered a tortilla app, and then we each had fish tacos for dinner. It is Wednesday, and they had a two for one on fish tacos tonight. I had a daiquiri and my husband had margaritas Only negative of the night was I wanted a banana daiquiri (which was on the menu) and they were out of bananas.

Anyway, the service was awesome, food was very tasty. The tacos are huge, one is more than enough or an average eater. My husband only ate one and a quarter of his tacos and I only ate the fillings from mine, not the tortillas, as I was stuffed.

Really nice location, right on the beach. amazing views.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“descent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

very good fish tacos and guacamole, for lunch one of the best views of the beach in Jaco. I would suggest to get the tacos grilled and not fried, very fresh fish here.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank surfwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“excellent fish tacos and mojitos!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a great restaurant situated on the beach and has the best fish tacos in Jaco. The mojitos are also fantastic. The view of the surf and sand and the people watucing is a real treat and the wait staff are very accommodating Highly recommended!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank carolyn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best fish tacos ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Bubba's was the first place we ate in Jaco and it was our favourite by far! Their fish tacos are amazing and the sauce was like crack. The ingredients were so fresh and the atmosphere and staff were great. We made sure to go back for our last meal there as well. Definitely worth going at least once!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rae B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best fish tacos ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Bubba's is right at the edge of the beach at Jaco. It's clean, relaxed and friendly. Plus, they have the best fish tacos ever. Try it. It is truly a family place not just a bar.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ML41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba's & Bohio Beach Bar also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing