We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is a dive but the food is good”

Clarita's Beach Bar & Sports Grill
Ranked #41 of 171 Restaurants in Jaco
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Description: Clarita's Beach Bar & Sports Grill is located directly 'on' Jaco beach 300 meters north of the Best Western Hotel. Clarita's was the first Bar in Jaco opened in 1964 by Clarita's mom. Therefore, Clarita's is the favorite Restaurant/Bar of the local Costa Ricans. If you are coming to Costa Rica to experience the local culture come to Clarita's. If you are coming to Costa Rica to meet just Americans or Euros then go to the Marriott! Clarita's montra is "Dun Worry...Be Happy & Get Waco in Jaco". With that in mind, if you are an uptight or over demanding please come to Clarita's and we will happily give you an attitude adjustment. If you are laid back, looking for a fun time, great views of the beach scene and surfers, and/or wanting to experience the most spectacular sunsets in Jaco, then Clarita's is your ticket. Besides serving the cooldest and cheapest beer on the Beach and the goofiest cocktails in Jaco, Clarita offers a full breakfast, lunch, snack & dinner menu from 7:00am until Clarita gets tired or drunk and decides to close the kitchen (usually 10ish pm) Clarita serves fresh Pacific catches brought in daily by local fishermen ie. Red Snapper, Dorado, Ahi Tuna steaks and her unique ceviche. On Jacó's largest barbeque grill, Clarita also offers up local C.R. dishes of chicken, shrimp, burritos, enchiladas, pasta, pepper steak, barbeque ribs, and filet mignon. Like Clarita always says, "My cooking is sooo good I even eat it on occasion". **As of January 2013 you can even pig out on PIZZA CLARITA ... made fresh and to order in Clarita's brick oven! No item on the menu exceeds $15.00. Clarita is able to keep her prices low by cheating the other guy and passing the savings on to you! As for service, Clarita's girls will "eventually" find you even if you are sitting at one of her tables on the Beach or involved in a game of Beach Volleyball. However, if the Clarita girls don't meet your standards all we ask you to do is lower your standards. As for live entertainment: Every Thursday night Clarita hosts the Biggest Beach Fiesta in Jaco with $1 Beers from 7-9pm, Latina Musica and Dancing under the Stars to reggae, salsa, merengue and your requests until midnight. Friday is Tequila Karaoke night. Sing a song or dance with a Clarita girl on stage and get a FREE shot after the boos die down! Saturday is Guest Band Night and plenty more dancing. Sundays feature Clarita's world famous calypso band 'Dun Worry . . . Be Happy' and your choice of NFL or Baseball games off her 7 large screen satellite TVs.(Clarita is unfortunaley addicted to the Chicago Cubs... probably as a result of all the tequila she drinks.)
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This place is right on the beach. Like everywhere else in this area, there is no air conditioning. The place probably could use a good scrubbing but it's not very well lit so it makes it less noticeable. All of the patrons here appeared to be ex-pats.
The food was good. Great place to get authentic local food.

Thank hoyalawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 186 of 304 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed next door at the condos and since they did not have a restaurant we went here as it was right next door. This is your typical sports bar with televisions, ice cold beer and locals. We ate there a few times (had the burrito, casado dishes, nachos, fish.) For a place that is primarily a sports bar, I really enjoyed their food and they had an extensive menu of different choices. Each time we ate their it was good and we enjoyed ourselves. Also, the beers are cheap so makes for a good place to watch the games and have a couple of beers! It can be loud and crowded on Thursday (happy hour night) and the weekends so if you are looking for something quiet I wouldn't recommend going here. If you are looking more for a bar and getting to chat with some of the locals, I would check this place out! It was fun!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lilly01_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
da22, Owner at Clarita's Beach Bar & Sports Grill, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013
Google Translation

Gracias amigo. Clarita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Right on the Beach North Jaco. The Beers where really cold and the service fast. WIFI was also good. Fun Place. We did enjoy the food also. I had Chicken and Rice everything else looked good. Only one negative. A bartender did just scrap our $10 off the bar for a $20 tab for a tip, so do not let money sit a second.

Thank casakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
da22, Owner at Clarita's Beach Bar & Sports Grill, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013
Google Translation

Gracias amigos. Clarita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Clarita's is one of my favorite bars in town! Their Thursday night $1.00 beers from 7-9 is such a fun time! I love how everyone congregates on the beach to listen to music and hang out. They also have great, fun decorations inside the bar and an overall easy come, easy go vibe to the place! There is a ton of fun to be had at Clarita's!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank earthmoonstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
da22, Owner at Clarita's Beach Bar & Sports Grill, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013
Google Translation

Gracias amiga. Clarita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Have stayed there a few times--clean place but can be noisy at night with people going up and down stairs late at night. Great location on the beach.

Thank carolvan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
da22, Owner at Clarita's Beach Bar & Sports Grill, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013
Google Translation

Gracias amiga. Clarita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clarita's Beach Bar & Sports Grill also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Clarita's Beach Bar & Sports Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing