We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We shall return!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Jaco, Jaco District, Garabito Municipality, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Exaktoh
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“We shall return!”
Reviewed September 17, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My party of 13 had a great time at Casa Rio Mar. This property and management really knows how to accommodate and make you feel extra special during your stay.First of all, Susan (General Mgr) made sure we were taken care of from the time we landed in SJO. She took care of booking all transportation transfers, private chef, outdoor activities and overall stay at the house.
The house can accommodate more than 13 comfortably, spent most of our time by the pool grilling and occasionally walking to the sand which is only 5 feet away from the main gate. The location of this property is perfect, it is far enough from town but only a $4 cab ride if you need to get groceries. I like it because it is quiet and is situated in the nicer part of Jaco beach (better sand, less rocky). The house is well equipped with towels, kitchen utensils, washer/dryer (two) and comfy beds.
The 24 hr guard service was a great addition to the house, although we felt safe, our guards Jose and Joel was always there to make sure everything was smooth, they would even call the taxi for us.
Overall, if I come back to Jaco, I would stay here again.
Thank you Casa Rio Mar!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pura Vida - Bachelor Party”
Reviewed August 24, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Casa Rio Mar is an excellent place to stay if visiting Costa Rica. The house is as advertized if not more. The house is well furnished and conveniently located near Jaco and many other activities such as Ocean Ranch Park. The pool was well maintained and Susan the property manager was very helpful with any needs that we had while we were there. Jim the owner was great with talking me thru booking the place and easing any concerns. He even met us at the house with his son to ensure we got in ok.

I loved everything about this place. Even the security was great. Shout out to mi amigos Joel and Jose. They do a great job and you will not have one worry when you are there. The surf is great as this is a big surfer area. The house even comes with 2 surf boards and a couple of boogie boards. The Sony speaker they have is great (So great I will be buying one myself). It is Bluetooth enabled and we simply took it by the patio and we had a great time by the pool everyday.

Casa Rio Mar is well known throughout Jaco so dealing with cab drivers and getting delivery are a synch. Whether your looking for a place for a bachelor party or a family getaway, I would highly recommend this place. I will definitely be back to CR as it is a beautiful country and Casa Rio Mar will be at the top of the list. I miss both already!!!

Don't forget to go to the Tiki hut a few doors down. The breakfast burrito is awesome.

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael J
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Better than listed”
Reviewed June 20, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This place is absolutely beautiful! A couple buddies and I, go on 1-2 guys trips around the world every year to decompress from life. Usually when we travel we expect some problems with lack of hot water and less amenities than described, however much to our surprise, everything promised, occurred. The owner Jim came through on everything he said and made our trip unbelievable. The house was clean, the water was hot, and the beach was in the front yard. We hired a chef and with the full time guard, we never had to leave the house. It was such a memorable and great trip that we plan to go back in November. Also if you plan on hiring a chef, which is highly recommended, Jimmy T's is the only one that you should go with. The food was unbelievable and the service was equally as great. Everyone was very personable and very professional. Thank you Jim for everything, you are truly a man of your words.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MADPORT
Sanford, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway for fishing with good friends”
Reviewed April 9, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This is a perfect rental home for what we were looking for. Worked everything directly with Jim U the owner and never had a single hiccup. Jim made sure we had everything we might need ahead of the trip and stayed I touch leading up to the arrival date. Jim met us when we arrived, went over all the aspects of the home and turned over the keys until we left 7 days later. I would absolutely recommend his optional chef(Carlos) and house keeping services, it really made the leisure time that much more relaxing. The view and access to the ocean is amazing and I've never been in such a great swimming ocean, very cool waves but not dangerous. Ps. the fishing was also incredible, 48 sailfish!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house, big, clean, great layout and location
Liked least: Jaco is not the cleanest, best place to take family/kids, which we didn't.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 10, 2015
Thank you so much for your amazing review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scooperbo...
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Great house, great beach, great fun!”
Reviewed March 28, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This was an amazing house to rent for our trip with two families. The owner, Jim, contacted us before we left to see if he could help us organize activities and to help book our excursions. Once we arrived, the house exceeded our expectations and was beautiful. Amazing beach access, nice amenities, great pool, and Carlos and Milena were wonderful people. We'd love to go again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2015
Thank you for the great review! It was a pleasure to have you as our guests !
Hope to have you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregw1988
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Home-Highly recommend for any occassion”
Reviewed February 9, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Such an amazing home. Comes with absolutely everything you could ask for in a rental home. Highly Recommend!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark3467
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good times for all at Casa Rio Mar!!!”
Reviewed December 30, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Jaco and Casa Rio Mar exceeded my expectations- Our host Jim and his staff made us feel right at home. Great for kids, teens and adults of all ages. The location can't be beat!!!! Will definitely be back in years to come!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and Carlos.
Liked least: Couch downstairs.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing