We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellant Tacos”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tacobar Jaco Beach

Tacobar Jaco Beach
Ranked #14 of 155 Restaurants in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, International, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Get to know the original Tacobar, the beloved Costa Rican chain from Jaco Beach that brought the beach to the city! Try our world famous tacos made to order from the freshest ingredients, prime Costa Rican coffee, all-you-can-eat exotic salad bar, and lots of other delicious options on our ever growing menu! Our unique design invites customers to enjoy our famous bar swings and cool music in a beach like atmosphere. As Costa Ricans like to say: Estamos para servirle - We are here to serve you! Pura Vida
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
232 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Excellant Tacos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

A nice place to eat while in Jaco, you place your order at the window and it is delivered to your table, very helpful order taker and excellent fish tacos, however, not impressed by the salad bar and the prices were a tad high for jaco. You can bring your own beer, wine is served but not on the menu so hard to figure.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cruisinbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    887
    519
    145
    41
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely, affordable concept in central Jaco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

We saw signs for this place for miles and miles as we drove into Jaco so we had to check it out. I'd also seen the name pop up in a few quick skims on the dining scene in the area.

There are swing chairs against bar seating on either side of the main entrance/ordering area and a nice patio to the side with plenty of table seating.

With entree orders, you also get all you can eat "salad bar" which had sauces and accoutrements for the tacos as well as some coconut rice, various veggies, potatoes and other sides. This is a great value if you do take advantage of the salad bar.

I enjoyed the atmosphere, the service was great, the food was deliciously flavored and served quick.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelerCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Straight out of hipsterville”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

You could have taken this place straight out of san francisco. The food and ambience are excellent and innovative. Minus one star for having San Francisco prices, but still the best thing in Jaco.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doug J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
381 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Beautiful in the rain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

We arrived while it was drizzling a little and just after we ordered and sat on one of the tables away from the central area it started to really pour down and we couldn't occupy those seats anymore as they got soaked... We moved to the stools and swings which were quite a cool idea and from there (in this open sided setting) eating with the loud rain and lightning illuminating the sky was a really beautiful way to enjoy a meal.

The reviews on here were generally positive so I had been looking forward to eating here and was not disappointed. I ordered a double taco plate (wished I had gone for 3 because be warned the tacos are not huge), choosing the salmon (this is smoked cold salmon but some of the best I have had) and chicken (teryaki style which was delicious).

The salad bar was very tasty and for a reasonable price you can really fill yourself up here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G3ck0-Trav3ll3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, FL
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

The food is fresh and tasty.
We got in before the rush and didn't wait long.

The salad bar buffet was fresh.
The juices are fresh.

Many options to choose from and many flavor combinations to choose from.

I would of liked to see the tacos cost a bit less but overall, my friends and I were satisfied.

You can even buy your alcoholic drinks from the grocery store across the street since they do not serve alcohol there.

Will come back.

Helpful?
Thank Dahitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tacobar Jaco Beach also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Tacobar Jaco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing