We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Awesome Fish Tacos” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tacobar Jaco Beach

Tacobar Jaco Beach
Ranked #10 of 142 Restaurants in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, International, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Get to know the original Tacobar, the beloved Costa Rican chain from Jaco Beach that brought the beach to the city! Try our world famous tacos made to order from the freshest ingredients, prime Costa Rican coffee, all-you-can-eat exotic salad bar, and lots of other delicious options on our ever growing menu! Our unique design invites customers to enjoy our famous bar swings and cool music in a beach like atmosphere. As Costa Ricans like to say: Estamos para servirle - We are here to serve you! Pura Vida
Grand Rapids, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Fish Tacos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

The wife and I really enjoyed the Mahi tacos, and the homemade lemonade. Nice place, and the staff was very accommodating.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    800
    471
    126
    37
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Huge portions and tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Bottom line: Probably 1 or 2 tacos are enough as they are huge and come with an open salad bar. Delicious!

We stopped in Jaco on our way to Dominical from San Jose. We are used to Tacos that are hand sized so we ordered 3. Big mistake! They were huge! However really tasty so I can't complain. We also ordered large drinks which were also enormous.

I recommend the snapper with the coconut sauce. Yum!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast and American Style Coffee!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I loved the delicious breakfasts they have here during our anniversary vacation, and almost as good as the food is that you can get American style coffees here, like Espressos and Americanos. I'm glued to the Starbucks at home, so I was a little bit desperate when I couldn't seem to find the kind of coffee I'm used to. Most places serve "iced coffee", which means that they actually blend the coffee with crushed ice in a blender like a watered-down Frappachino. This place was a total blessing, and the cool outdoor seating and delicious food made it one of our favorite restaurants to go to while we were there. Thank you!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SusanAndBobBurnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
463 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Totally original!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

My wife and I were staying in a hotel in Tarcoles. We decided to go to Tacobar which we have wanted to try for a long time. Everything about the place was original. The menu and combinations were fun. We chose the pargo (sea bass) tacos with the all-you-can-eat salad bar. Everything fresh and very good! We live near one Tacobar in Momentum in Tres Rios.We will be hanging out there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pablocollier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A different way to have a taco”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Good freshly made tacos with some new options, their sauces are good, the ingredients were good, and their prices were fair. Service was a nice and attentive except at the cashier, who was very unfriendly and seemed kind of fed up of having to say the same thing over and over again. Despite that, we probably will visit again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ildev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tacobar Jaco Beach also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Tacobar Jaco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing