We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food.”
Review of Tacobar Jaco Beach

Tacobar Jaco Beach
Ranked #13 of 161 Restaurants in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Takeout
Description: Get to know the original Tacobar, the beloved Costa Rican chain from Jaco Beach that brought the beach to the city! Try our world famous tacos made to order from the freshest ingredients, prime Costa Rican coffee, all-you-can-eat exotic salad bar, and lots of other delicious options on our ever growing menu! Our unique design invites customers to enjoy our famous bar swings and cool music in a beach like atmosphere. As Costa Ricans like to say: Estamos para servirle - We are here to serve you! Pura Vida
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food.”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Good value and good food. Really nice people too. We ate there 3 times, it was so good. Off the main road a little so that was good. The patio was a nice place to eat and the even have a little counter with swings to hang out in. Loved that.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    908
    526
    151
    41
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing food and good prices”
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We read the reviews on trip advisor and decided to check this place out. They served a number of different types of meat and you get to pick the seasoning that they put in it before they cook it. Then there is a salad and dressing bar that you use once you have got your tacos. Amazing food, great service, and the bar with the swings is awsome!

Helpful?
Thank TheTravellingTunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bainbridge island
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“more then just fish tacos”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Go across the street and grab a few beers at the market because they dont' sell it at the resturaunt. This place was great, you pick out what kind of taco you want and the add ons, salad bar included with most and go sit in a swing chair and enjoy! They had something for everyone, including picky teenage eaters.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank valleem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1,428 reviews
988 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 742 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Stop in Jaco”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were driving from San Jose to Manual Antonio and we realized that Jaco would be a great lunch stop for our car ride. Approaching Jaco we noticed a lot of signs for Taco Bar and a fish skeleton. You can't miss these signs - they are everywhere!
So we decided we would find Taco Bar and have lunch here.
The place is tiny. It's a walk up ordering window. They have an extensive menu of tacos. However we all picked fish tacos on this outing. They also sell smoothies, unfortunately the day we went the smoothie machine did not have power.
We got to wait at our spot at the counter which was fun as they were rope swings. You can eat and swing at the same time!
When the order comes you then can make a trip to the taco bar and add all the sides that you want. There are a number of hot sauces from mild to extra hot. The pickings at the taco bar were all fresh and well stocked and clean. They serve a lot of local product here.
Our meal was tasty, cheap and the vibe here was just fun. It was a great stop for lunch.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cool Spot”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I really like the fish tacos. I like the simple idea of being served fish on a tortilla then heading over to the taco bar and picking from a wide variety of ingredients to add to your taco. They also have a selection of salads to choose from. Great smoothies - Mango and banana is my favorite. They have a surprisingly wide selection of other items on the menu. The swings are a fun touch.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tacobar Jaco Beach also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Tacobar Jaco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing