We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Caters to Tourists. Good. Food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tacobar Jaco Beach

Tacobar Jaco Beach
Ranked #10 of 139 Restaurants in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, International, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Get to know the original Tacobar, the beloved Costa Rican chain from Jaco Beach that brought the beach to the city! Try our world famous tacos made to order from the freshest ingredients, prime Costa Rican coffee, all-you-can-eat exotic salad bar, and lots of other delicious options on our ever growing menu! Our unique design invites customers to enjoy our famous bar swings and cool music in a beach like atmosphere. As Costa Ricans like to say: Estamos para servirle - We are here to serve you! Pura Vida
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Caters to Tourists. Good. Food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The staff here all speak English, a fact that many travelers in Jaco will need. The standard is ordering the Fish Tacos which I did twice last week. Wahoo is my fish of choice: tender and tasty. The Fish Tacos come with free salad bar, as much as one can eat. Daily they offer the $3 breakfast but don't assume as I did that this includes all menu items. They pick certain things for certain days. Still, you can get a $6 meal for $3.
Sit on a swing, order an energy booster smoothie and watch the people walk on by. They are probably headed to the wrong place for fish tacos (if they didn't already eat at Tacobar) so you can just sit back and laugh maniacally at those fools.
Big portions. Friendly and fair staff. I will eat here again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank damonre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    765
    448
    119
    34
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Collingswood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Food for Fast food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Definitely a fun experience. I highly recommend it. You can order quick and get your food quick. The fish tacos are delicious. It's got the Seinfeld-soup-kitchen vibe when you order but minus the stern attitude. The menu has lots of options and seems intimidating but it's actually really easy and fast to order.

Price is average.
Of course all the kids and girls like the swing-set-like seating.
The bonus is the awesome buffet-style salad bar that comes with your order.
The serve wine, beer, and these awesome smoothies.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mik e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tasty food and smoothies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I had heard about Taco Bar since arriving in Costa Rica. I finally had the opportunity to try it after a morning surf session with the group I was guiding. Taco Bar has a laid back atmosphere, with swings to sit on along the bar. There are a variety of smoothies, a salad bar, and of course tasty tacos. I had the vegetarian tacos and, combined with the salad bar, it was more than enough to eat. Taco Bar is a great spot to satisfy a Mexican food craving and to fuel up between surf sessions.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank surf207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The food as well as the famous salad bar are really good and I liked the location, especially the swing-seats! The tuna-steak and snapper-burritos I would highly recommend. Although for travellers who really have to stick to a budget, it may be a bit pricy. But definitely worth it

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank swissmiss_333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty darn good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Just the right amount of food in a very nice setting. The all-you-can-eat salad bar has everything you want and maybe even a few things you should try at least once.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tacobar Jaco Beach also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Tacobar Jaco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing