We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Quiet on the Oceanfront, Exciting Nightlife in Town”
Review of The Palms Jaco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Palms Jaco
Ranked #9 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Reviewed October 10, 2013

What a lovely experience we had at Daystar Palms. Actually, it was the first time ever my husband and I managed to get such a large, well appointed condominium rental directly on the ocean at the far end of Jaco beach -- beautiful peace and quiet during the day. A short beach walk to a lively and exciting town including nightlife!

What made it even better is the near 360 degree view out of the modern 2 bedroom/2 bathroom condo directly off both the living room and the Master bedroom that walked onto a huge patio with a dining table and chairs and lounge seating on which my husband was known to sit, read (I had outlawed work, but though I could see him there from the beach, could not be sure what he was reading! :-) and watch the gorgeous, vibrant deeply-hued sunsets. For us, this combination of truly relaxing unmarred beauty and the quiet to enjoy it, with the option of nearby beach restaurants a stone's throw away and much more exciting nightlife -- Casinos, nightclubs, dancing a lovely, little longer walk to the downtown of Jaco -- was the perfect vacation. It didn't hurt to be near but a bit away from the high end and beautiful Marriot Hotel/Waterfront Harbor and Golf Resort next door either and their open and wonderful amenities at 1/5th the price, either!

We will definitely be back to this gem and the lovely Jaco village and people. We felt very welcomed and no one smiles like the eyes of Costa Ricans when you generally appreciate their land and culture, like we sincerely did. And do.

Room Tip: We were very lucky to get a corner unit on a higher floor, so our porch had views of the ocean all a...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuneG888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
There are newer reviews for The Palms Jaco
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 66 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Palms for 5 days at the end of January, 2013. Jaco is a great place to stay, especially during the week. Gets much more crowded on the weekends as the "locals" from inland Costa Rica come to enjoy the beach. Even with the crowds on the weekend, The Palms remains a quiet, peaceful retreat. Located at the far north end of Jaco, the beach in front of The Palms remains relatively empty. The pools are great and provide options for laying in the sun or taking a break in the shade of the beachside palm trees. The condo units themselves are incredible. Clean and modern with full kitchen, in room laundry and plenty of space to relax. The balconies are enormous and are another great place to get out of the mid-day sun. Though The Palms are within walking distance of downtown Jaco (15-20 minutes), I wouldn't recommend the walk at night. We typically walked down the beach to downtown around sunset and then took a cab home ($1-$2). Can't recommend The Palms highly enough. Great place in a great setting. Looking forward to getting back soon.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are RIGHT ON one of the pools. Great if you have kids. Not so great if you are loo...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank husker7028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We were staying at the Palms in Jaco Beach in December just before New Years, when our 6 year old daughter knocked a glass off of a table, shattering the glass, and lacerating her heel from a shard of broken glass. We called Lyle, who immediately showed up and took us to Daystar's private clinic, where the docs were already waiting for us. We were very concerned about getting a good clean operating room and knowledgeable doctors with sterilized equipment. We were very relieved to see the clinic, which was brand new, very clean, and the doctors were great. They took good care of our daughter and got her heel put back together.

At the end of the operation, it was time to pay up. They prepared us for the sticker shock by letting us know there was a weekend surcharge for getting called in from the beach for the appointment. We settled up by paying a grand total of $150! We tried not to laugh. Pretty sure this would have cost 10x that back home...

Lyle took great care of us and put us at ease. He even brought us some extra pillows from his house to make sure we were all comfortable. Highly recommend Daystar properties.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank PilatusDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at The Palms Jaco, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thanks for the review. Hopefully you will remember your trip to Jaco for the rest of your lives and we look forward to seeing you guys again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stay at The Palms every time we come to Costa Rica. Great town, great food and great people. We absolutely love The Palms. The condos are very large and nice. The balcony is perfect. You will not find a better view. The beach is quiet and the pools are fabulous. There is something for everyone. We highly recommend The Palms.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eileen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at The Palms Jaco, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Eileen. Thanks for the kind words. We are glad that you enjoy The Palms and look forward to having you back as a guest soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stay at the Palms every time we come to Costa Rica.
The beach itself is never crowded, and the north end is like having your own private ocean.
Very large rooms compared to others, and your balcony is right on the ocean.
Ocean front, not look around the corner to see the ocean.
Kiddie pool, lap pool, and brand new monster pool.
Dave & Jessica

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at The Palms Jaco, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dave and Jessica thank you for the kind words. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Jaco Beach. Your home away from home at The Palms will be waiting for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This rental condo is at the end of the beach away from all the shops and restaurants, the only sound you hear is the wave. All the rooms has great view. The pool was a bit small but who cares, the beach was right in the front. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Courtney L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Our family spent a week in Jaco Beach, Costa Rica at the Daystar Palms. The condo was amazing! We were all very happy with the accommodations. The condo we stayed in was very spacious and beautifully decorated. Our three bedroom condo was on the ninth floor and had a plenty of great views. The view from the back of the condo looks up to the most beautiful mountains. The other side is a breathtaking view of the Pacific ocean. The area is very private and was wonderful for relaxing. There were many great restaurants to choose from in town. Lemon Zest was my the favorite for seafood.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank postm34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
1.1 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
0.4 mi away
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
2.2 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
2.4 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 41 in Jaco
581 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pochote Grande
Hotel Pochote Grande
#21 of 41 in Jaco
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Jaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Jaco

Address: Calle Pochote Grande | On the Beach, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica (Formerly Oceans at The Palms)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range: $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palms Jaco 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms is a 34 unit tower that sits at the north end of Jaco Beach Costa Rica. Facing vast panoramas of the Central Pacific, this beachfront condominium project with spacious 2-bedroom, 3-bedroom units will make you feel like you are at home.The Palms modern architecture its sweeping ocean views promises the perfect setting for your vacation home. Enjoy the views from your terrace or while lounging in the beachfront pool. The Palms offers privacy in a luxurious environment so you may enjoy your Costa Rican vacation however you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Palms Jaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daystar At The Palms Hotel Jaco
The Palms Jaco Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing