We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely unexpected luxury, comfort, and location”
Review of Diamante del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Diamante del Sol
Ranked #10 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Tacoma, Washington, United States
2 reviews
“Completely unexpected luxury, comfort, and location”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

A friend and I were originally suppose to stay at the Bahia Azul, but Expedia failed to notify the Daystar's front desk of our arrival date so we were given a complimentary upgrade to the Diamante del Sol. The receptionists were very welcoming, friendly, lived by their country's slogan, "Pura Vita", and the middlemen for various activities (ask them for suggestions). Upon entering the condo, we were immediately blown away by the well furnished, luxurious condo. It was a two bedroom 2 1/2 bath with both full baths connected to the bedrooms. We rented a vehicle and were able to park within the gated perimeter (security personnel present 24/7) free of charge so we did not have to worry about theft. If cleaning service is needed during your stay, their will be an additional charge for it. The beach is literally a rock throw away and the nearby restaurants/bars/clubs are all within a ten minute walk. Overall, I wouldn't have asked for another place.

Room Tip: Choose one of the condos on the upper floors (total of 10) with a view of the ocean. Incredible view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shogo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    30
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
49
16
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The condo was very nice. All tile, nicely furnished, and had all the things we're used to. The best thing about this place is its location. You can step out from the property onto the beach. It is gated with security personnel there 24/7. Even access from the beach is tightly controlled. Pool was good, beautiful landscaping. The large balcony was a plus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorge P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I had a fantastic trip to Costa Rica and to be able to sit on my deck overlooking the Pacific Ocean as the surfers are out trying to catch a wave was amazing!

A fantastic unit I stay in. As a owner of multiple timeshares in the U.S. (via Starwood and Marriott), I would rate Diamante Del Sol equal, if not better that most of the places I have stayed!

Thanks for a great relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIGuy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife and I, her sister, husband and son stayed at this property mid February. Very nice location right on the beach and close to many restaurants, grocery stores, etc. We seemed to have arrived at a time when there was a lot of work going on (renos, painting, AC cleaning). The pool was pretty dirty for the first week, but was cleaned out and great for week two.

A couple of picks; the unit was lacking in decent cooking pots and pans and there were only a couple of garbage bags. When I stay in a condo I don't expect to have to pick up garbage bags. I will use them to keep the place clean, but they should be there.

The next thing; no barbecues!!???!! Really! I know they are tough to find in Costa Rica and are expensive, but when on vacation its nice to be able to barbecue some steak or chicken. We bought a couple of large fresh Red Snappers and had to cook them in the oven which I really hate to do in such a hot place.

Aside from those couple of disappointments, the people at the office were extremely helpful and responsive and helped us arrange airport transport and a last minute sightseeing trip. They were great.

Love the location, the people, the food, everything!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pypelyneryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I have stayed with DayStar Condos for several years. Always loved staying at BahiaAzul, then we started staying at Diamente, still like the complex however there had been some problems with our rooms in the past, but things have changed with a new management at DayStar and so much has improved. I understand all vacation rentals have their issues, but now the reservations desk at DayStar helps you right away or at least lets, you know what is going on. DayStar is the place to book tours, get info on restaurants and to stay. They have the best prices in town and the variety of units to choose from. We will always stay in a DayStar condo.

Helpful?
Thank Marie2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just back from a week at this condo right on the beach in Jaco. The unit was very nice! Furnishings were very comfortable. Nice big balcaony to sit on and watch the surfers and the amazing sunsets. Nice central location in Jaco. Across the street from grocery store, pharmacy, Subway etc. The grounds are spotless and well maintained. The pool area is beautiful! Even a few iguana's around. My only issue with the units in this complex are the showers. They have the larger heads that spray little streams under low pressure. They are also at about 8 feet high! I have short hair and would take me 10 minutes just to rinse it. The wife would be in there for 30 minutes!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scooter29081961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

My wife and I are staying at Diamante del Sol for 2 months. Nice spacious 2 bedroom condo with a large deck, overlooking the Pacific Ocean giving us a spectacular view. The sunsets are simply amazing! The buildings are one block from the main street of Jaco where there are plenty of places to eat, shop or stop for a cool drink. One comment I should make is that we were very disappointed with the cleaning staff, the first 2 weeks they came in to clean left a lot to be desired. All in all I would recommend Diamante as a great place to enjoy you vacation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surreywalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.4 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
5.6 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 41 in Jaco
1,319 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
2.8 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 41 in Jaco
565 reviews
0.7 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamante del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamante del Sol

Property: Diamante del Sol
Address: | Jaco Walk Local # 10 & 11, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica (Formerly Oceans Diamante del Sol)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Diamante del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Diamante del Sol, it may be hard to decide where to start your perfect day... breakfast in bed followed by a walk on the beach, a massage and a book at your pool side cabana. The choices don't stop there... complete your day with an invigorating Canopy Tour or tranquil mountain horseback ride, savor fine foods and shops in town or watch from your balcony the sun set in shades of red and orange over the Pacific and make your plans for the next day in paradise.Whatever your desire, our Costa Rican hospitality and exquisite amenities await you. Enjoy the endless possibilities of another perfect day at Diamante del Sol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diamante del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daystar Diamante Del Sol Hotel Jaco
Diamante Del Sol Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing