We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diamante del Sol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Diamante del Sol
Ranked #6 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

You can book these through several sources: Daystar themselves, VRBO, or through Best In Jaco. Management was accommodating when we had problems. We stayed in 2 bedroom 3 bath unit, 402N. You must clean up well after cooking. Ants will appear regardless. Not the fault of management, it is the nature of the area. Spray the countertops and oven area with Windex to discourage the extra guests. Take them up on the offer to grocery shop in advance. You won't regret it! You'll need to run AC continuously to keep musty smell down, again it is the price you pay for staying in an extremely humid area! Washer and dryer was an unexpected plus. Management was very helpful with booking transportation and Jaco area events and excursions. Restaurants and nightlife only a short walk away. Read up on Jaco area in Trip Advisor for good advice on restaurants and activities. Unit is accurately shown in pictures, but could benefit from minor maintenance (paint job). Electronic safe available to secure valuables. Wifi worked well. Security so-so. Beach is not private as description may imply. Next to muddy river, so be ready to see surf turn brown after a heavy rain. Based on what other properties we saw, this appeared to be the nicest in the Jaco downtown area.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TH3294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    28
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
44
13
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Great experience at this beautiful resort. The management went above and beyond. Lisle was more than accomodating while setting up all our daily activities, restaurant reservations and nightlife experiences.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pfaerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at Diamante del Sol, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
It was great having you guys here and look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My friends and I went to Jaco for a 5 night stay and the hotel was amazing. 4 bedroom and 4.5 baths with 3 balconies with amazing ocean front views, you can not ask for more! Property manager goes beyond normal job to take care of his guests to make sure we get the best experience possible. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Great service and beautiful property. Also get this at afforable prices. They set up all of our tours, reservations at restaurants and clubs. Amenities are great and location could not be better for all the fun things in Jaco. A++++++ I will be back!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My family of 4 vacationed here for 2 very expensive nights. We paid $305/night inclusive of tax for a 2-Bedroom, 2 1/2 Bath very modern unit on the 1st floor. Upon our arrival the patio furniture was in the living room and the sliding glass doors had so much condensation from the A/C and humidity that you could not see the ocean.

PROS: The facilities were very modern which was nice and everything worked. The location is great because it is within walking distance from the grocery store, tons of restaurants and excursion kiosks. The beach is right in your backyard but it's not exactly a pretty beach. If you like to surf, they rent boards right on the beach.

CONS: Although we were there for only 3 days we did not see any housekeeping around the property during our stay. You can smell the trash or sewer right outside your door. Guest services are not very knowledgeable about different excursions that they offered. For example, we had several time descriptions when we inquired about rafting. The worst part was we didn't know exactly what our timing was until we were on the road for the excursion and by that time we really had no choice.

Despite the cons I would still recommend this property for families/large parties who want modern facilities.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lv2trvlevrywer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at Diamante del Sol, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Our pricing is in line with similar properties in this area and we feel that we offer good value given our central location and facilities.

Clearly we were not performing to our usual standards that day and I have reviewed your comments in detail with our housekeeping and reservations managers. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet all of your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

My wife and I and sister and her husband spent 7 nights at Diamante del Sol. We had a two bedroom, 2 1/2 bath unit which was a good size for the four of us. The common half bath came in handy. We paid in advance except for a $600 balance which we were prepared to pay in cash on arrival. When we checked in we were told there was over $1200 balance due, which caused us more than a little concern. It was quickly resolved and we paid the $600 balance. The condo was as we expected initially. Lots of granite, marble and stainless steel. Very nice. We soon learned that there was not enough seating in the living room for 3 people. There was a loveseat and one comfortable chair. We had to bring a chair in from the patio furniture for the fourth person. We were told housekeeping would come every other day but they only came once, on the second day. We had already run out of toilet paper so I asked the housekeeper to leave extra, which she said she did. We ran out of toilet tissue again a few days later and discovered she had left no extra toilet paper. When we tried to call for more, no one answered the phones at the front desk or security. So, we ended up making a trip out to find a place to buy toilet paper. I dont understand the deal about scrimping on toilet paper. You'd think for over $340 a night they could afford to stock a few spare rolls. One of the elevators stopped working on the second day and was not returned to service when we left 5 days later. There were numerous power outages which resulted in a tripped circuit breaker. The first time it happened there was no answer at the front desk so we ended up groping around in the dark until we found the faulty breaker for the bedrooms. The ice maker was sporatic and the last few days only dispensed crushed ice, which made it difficult for it to keep up with demand. We had a last-minute change in travel plans so were required to leave the condo in the morning before staff would be available to inventory the condo prior to our departure. The front desk made an appointment to inventory the condo at 4:00 P.M. the day before we left. So we hung around until 4:45, but no one showed up. We called the front desk and were advised there was no one available, "so just leave the keys in the room in the morning." A phone call before 4:00 would have been the courteous thing to do if they weren't going to show. We don't make it a habit of spending $350 a night for lodging but, if this is what $350 will buy, we'll go back to staying at Best Westerns. There is a very nice one a couple of blocks north of Diamante del Sol.

Room Tip: Whatever room you use ( we were in N-602) be very cautious with the floors. The A/C was on when we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avonyxtec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at Diamante del Sol, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
I’m sorry to hear of your unfortunate experience staying at Diamante del Sol. We really appreciate that you took the time to report this to us. We at DayStar rentals are in the process of upgrading our guest service department to more efficiently meet our client’s needs.

In regards to your comments about construction work on the building, we are fully aware it was an inconvenience to you as a rental guest. This temporary construction was a mandatory solution to an existing problem. The developer took full responsibility and immediately had workers on site to fix the issue. Unfortunately, the repair schedule was during your rental stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

I was blown away by how new and well-appointed this condo was. Granite counter kitchen with all the appliances, electronics including wifi, first rate linens and towels...spotlessly maintained too. This unit (VRBO Listing #347271) had three balconies overlooking the palm trees and ocean surf beyond, three bedrooms (each with private bath), and a large living room/dining room.

The complex is private and secure, with a large pool on the beach and convenient parking. The staff was really friendly. We just walked to restaurants; everything is very close. There's a supermarket at the end of the street so you don't really need to drive.

This is about as good as it gets.

Room Tip: My unit in the north tower overlooking the water was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nybiztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
1.5 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
0.6 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
4.6 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Apartotel Flamboyant
Apartotel Flamboyant
#13 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamante del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamante del Sol

Property: Diamante del Sol
Address: Pastor Diaz Avenue, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica (Formerly Oceans Diamante del Sol)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Diamante del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Diamante del Sol, it may be hard to decide where to start your perfect day... breakfast in bed followed by a walk on the beach, a massage and a book at your pool side cabana. The choices don't stop there... complete your day with an invigorating Canopy Tour or tranquil mountain horseback ride, savor fine foods and shops in town or watch from your balcony the sun set in shades of red and orange over the Pacific and make your plans for the next day in paradise.Whatever your desire, our Costa Rican hospitality and exquisite amenities await you. Enjoy the endless possibilities of another perfect day at Diamante del Sol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Diamante del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daystar Diamante Del Sol Hotel Jaco
Diamante Del Sol Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing