We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fun place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Amigos

Los Amigos
Jaco Center | frente POP's, Jaco 506, Costa Rica
+506 2643 2961
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 139 Restaurants in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, International, Costa Rican, Mexican, Bar, Pub, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fun place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

A friend and I stopped here quite a few times while we were in Jaco to have a beer or two. The staff was always friendly, and it had a fun atmosphere. We ate there at least once, getting their whole fish special which was good, I would say it's a good place to go and unwind and enjoy the AC. Thumbs up!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jules M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalINK, General Manager at Los Amigos, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Jules M,


Me and the staff at Los Amigos appreciate you choosing to dine at Los Amigos during your vacation in Jaco. We hope to see you again!


Pura Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    198
    68
    16
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious food and welcoming atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

This place has amazing food! Very fresh fish specials, steaks cooked to perfection, and tempting drinks! The waiters also speak English really well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalINK, Owner at Los Amigos, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Tara C,

Thank you so much for your review.......we are grateful for your time & business .

We hope to see you again


Pura Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice Place - Service Mixed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I went in Los Amigos my first night in Jacó and found it to be a delightful place. There are plenty of TV screens on the walls, the AC was nice without being cold, drinks were reasonable (happy hour?), and the service was very pleasant. I had a couple beers and was thinking of ordering food, but I saw a band setting up and wasn't sure about the noise level for dining. Very nice time.

I went back the next night and had a completely different experience. The bartenders (different from the night before) were complaining about some aspect of their pay and were less than attentive. It took me 10 minutes to flag one down to ask a question about the squid (frozen, not fresh) and getting a beer was a chore. They were still a little south of snotty, but well into removed and indifferent. The bar was not very busy, but there were a number of people eating in front.

I left without ordering food. I would definitely go back and give them another try, but I'd have a Plan B ready.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Quincho Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalINK, Owner at Los Amigos, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Quincho Q,

I'm very sorry to read the 2nd half of your review and to hear your disappointments. Here at Los Amigos we are constantly working to improve based on our clients feedback. Please know that I will bring your experience up at our next staff meeting so that we may improve.

Everyone should have a plan B just in case but we don't believe you will need it :-)

Pura Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Had a good times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Reminds you a lot of a typical American bar. If you want a Stella or another popular beer, they have them. We got there at 8:45PM Friday night. Ordered onion rings & chicken over rice. Food was good, service was great. About 8-10 big screens. Caught the tail end of a MLB game & College football game. We were about to leave but a DJ showed up & played some good tunes. We had fun!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Juan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalINK, Public Relations Manager at Los Amigos, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Juan D

So glad to receive your business........we would like to update your Stella beer plug. Los Amigos just installed a new draft beer system called the Best of Belgium...... next time you visit Los Amigos we have 4 Belgium beers on draft now..... Stella / Leffe Blonde / Hoegarden and Kriek!!

See you next time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Service, Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We ate at Los Amigos on a couple of occasions during a recent trip to Jaco, Costa Rica. We had gone deep sea fishing earlier in the day, caught several mahi mahi and tuna, and Los Amigos was recommended as one of the local restaurants that would cook and serve our own fresh fish. We were delighted to find how accommodating they were. The eagerly accepted our catch and suggested cooking the fish in a variety of ways with several accompanying sauces. We had their buffalo wing appetizers (outstanding!) and they served the fish family style with salad, vegetables and fries. Everything was incredible....the food, atmosphere, service couldn't have been better.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Seadog21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalINK, Manager at Los Amigos, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Seadog21,


We are so glad to have been able to prepare and serve your catch.......Los Amigos has always been one of the main restaurants to offer these services as we often work with many of the local charter boats in offering these options to their fishing clients.

Our doors are always open to help make our clients vacations one to remember. Never hesitate to ask any questions you might have


Pura Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Amigos also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Los Amigos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing