We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Burgers and watching sports”
Review of Los Amigos

Los Amigos
Ranked #11 of 176 Restaurants in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Went here twice during my stay. Great for watching sporting events. Can't say I was in Costa Rica for burgers, but they did have the best one in town. That being said, I don't think the staff could be more apathetic about customers. Didn't really bug me, but I can see how it will annoy others.

I did appreciate the selection of beer they had on tap.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank zjc2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalINK, Owner at Los Amigos, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

zjc2000,


Thank you for the review and your honest comment regarding our service.....we will be working on improving

Thank you again,

Chris Mandel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (821)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

571 - 575 of 821 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

We wandered in on a hot afternoon for lunch. We had burgers and they were fantastic" Wicked Good" Friendly service giant ice teas! Really hit the spot.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalINK, Owner at Los Amigos, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Lisa A,


Thank you for taking time away from your vacation to review Los Amigos!



Chris Mandel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We ate here once and it was good food, lots of choices on the menu. The Big --- Smoothies were Amazing! We would go back just for the smoothies.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank blacky71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalINK, Owner at Los Amigos, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

blacky71

Thank you for the review....glad you enjoyed our BIG A** SMOOTHIES!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Jaco is a stiflingly hot place, and in February it's also very dusty. When we heard Los Amigos had AC, we were sold! Unfortunately that slight hint of cool air was the only bonus. The menus were in English, and the food was about as uninteresting as we'd get at home in NC. (In other words, it was basically just bar food.) This totally went against our "While in Costa Rica" motto, but we figured one taste of home wouldn't hurt. We'd had such good luck -- eating in excellent restaurants with excellent service and amazing food -- so a quick unplanned bite seemed like a chance worth taking.

It was a little early for lunch, only 11:15 AM, but the staff seemed preoccupied. Weird, because the place was almost empty. As well, our food took forever to come once we got a chance to order. When our very average meals finally did come out, one order was wrong. When we found our waitress 10 minutes later to tell her, she snatched it up and walked away. No information, no "sorry". Just *poof* and gone in a huff. When she came back 15 minutes later with the correct dish, the rest of us were finished, so our poor starving friend just took hers to go. We'd been there almost two hours, precious time while on vacation.

For what it's worth, we heard the taco place next door is excellent! As well, the Los Amigos bathrooms have interesting signage, so you should pop by for the fun photo op.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dtamayob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalINK, Owner at Los Amigos, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

dtamayob,

Thank you for your informative review........since we generally do not make excuses for our faults, all your points are noted and we will use them to better improve our services and products.


Thank you for your time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I have eaten here a couple times, the service is always awful! The girls don't care at all and it almost seems like a slap in the face. I'm a very generous tipper and I didn't leave anything on my last visit. I get the Pura Vida lifestyle, but this is another level. I won't be returning.

That being said the food is good and will satisfy any gringo cravings.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Buckeye37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalINK, Owner at Los Amigos, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Buckeye37,


Sorry, it is as disapointing for us to see another bad service review........we will be looking into your points and review with our staff to improve in this area

We appreciate the good food comment


Thank you for taking the time to review us!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Amigos also viewed

 
Jaco, Jaco District
 

Been to Los Amigos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing