We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good Place to eat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Amigos

Los Amigos
Ranked #14 of 141 Restaurants in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, International, Costa Rican, Mexican, Bar, Pub, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We ate here once and it was good food, lots of choices on the menu. The Big --- Smoothies were Amazing! We would go back just for the smoothies.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blacky71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalINK, Owner at Los Amigos, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
blacky71

Thank you for the review....glad you enjoyed our BIG A** SMOOTHIES!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    209
    70
    17
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Only if you're dying for an "American" experience away from home”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Jaco is a stiflingly hot place, and in February it's also very dusty. When we heard Los Amigos had AC, we were sold! Unfortunately that slight hint of cool air was the only bonus. The menus were in English, and the food was about as uninteresting as we'd get at home in NC. (In other words, it was basically just bar food.) This totally went against our "While in Costa Rica" motto, but we figured one taste of home wouldn't hurt. We'd had such good luck -- eating in excellent restaurants with excellent service and amazing food -- so a quick unplanned bite seemed like a chance worth taking.

It was a little early for lunch, only 11:15 AM, but the staff seemed preoccupied. Weird, because the place was almost empty. As well, our food took forever to come once we got a chance to order. When our very average meals finally did come out, one order was wrong. When we found our waitress 10 minutes later to tell her, she snatched it up and walked away. No information, no "sorry". Just *poof* and gone in a huff. When she came back 15 minutes later with the correct dish, the rest of us were finished, so our poor starving friend just took hers to go. We'd been there almost two hours, precious time while on vacation.

For what it's worth, we heard the taco place next door is excellent! As well, the Los Amigos bathrooms have interesting signage, so you should pop by for the fun photo op.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dtamayob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalINK, Owner at Los Amigos, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
dtamayob,

Thank you for your informative review........since we generally do not make excuses for our faults, all your points are noted and we will use them to better improve our services and products.


Thank you for your time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Co
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Awful Service!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I have eaten here a couple times, the service is always awful! The girls don't care at all and it almost seems like a slap in the face. I'm a very generous tipper and I didn't leave anything on my last visit. I get the Pura Vida lifestyle, but this is another level. I won't be returning.

That being said the food is good and will satisfy any gringo cravings.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Buckeye37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalINK, Owner at Los Amigos, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Buckeye37,


Sorry, it is as disapointing for us to see another bad service review........we will be looking into your points and review with our staff to improve in this area

We appreciate the good food comment


Thank you for taking the time to review us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herradura, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
121 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Huge Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stopped here for a quick lunch after not finding any sushi places open for lunch in jaco. Could not believe how varied and huge the menu was here for a sports bar! My husband had mexican and I had thai. My food was amazing. We had hummus for an app, that was super tasty as well. Service was good, and it was nice to see nonsoccer sports on a TV! Highly recommend for a laidback meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalINK, Owner at Los Amigos, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Lori H,

Super happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and our food.............Thank you from all of us at Los Amigos!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Erie, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Handy in a Pinch and Air Conditioned”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

First night in town, got in late, checked in at our condo, need food and groceries so we trudged downtown. Now we are hot. Los Amigos has A.C....let's eat there. We order our old stand by; Green chicken curry and rice with some beers. Portions were huge, We are cooled off and no longer hungry or thirsty.Three beers and 2 bowls of curry..come to $35.57.OUCH!!! I find that a bit pricy for Costa Rica. Anyway, we happily head off for the air conditioned grocery store to do our shopping before we catch a cab and head back to the condo for a restful night's sleep listening to the sound of the waves from the Pacific Ocean crashing against the shore.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NUTHIN_TO_LOSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalINK, Owner at Los Amigos, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
NUTHIN_TO_LOSE,

Thank you for taking your time to review Los Amigos.........sorry to hear you felt shocked by our prices? Somethings to consider at Los Amigos our just dining out in CR......first, since you enjoyed our curry dishes......almost all the ingredients in our Thai dishes are imported out of Thailand...from the curry pastes to the jasmine rice (less the protein ingredients such as chicken, beef or shrimp) Most other restaurants will chose the less expensive non Thai ingredients......let's face it....it's not the same taste!

Second, Los Amigos is a full table service restaurant with A/C.....full service defines that our products are required to include a 13% sales tax and a 10% service fee by law. That is a forced 23% increase to our prices.......many visitors and locals of Jaco choose to eat at the local sodas where they are not required to add the service tax since they do not all offer full table service nor do they carry high operating costs such as air conditioned dinning

again, we are glad you enjoy or Thai dishes and we are thankful that we could better clarify the facts of dining out in Costa Rica..........Pura Vida!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Amigos also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Los Amigos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing