We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fun 4 hours for all...”

ATV Adventure Tours Costa Rica
Book In Advance
More Info
$189.00*
and up
ATV Full-Day Tour in Jaco
Ranked #3 of 71 Outdoor Activities in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Adventure Tours Costa Rica is the premiere adventure operator in Jaco Beach & Los Sueños, Costa Rica specializing in ATV tours and adrenaline tours/vacations to provide the ultimate experience and service for your adventure vacation. Compliment your holiday getaway with our selection of adventure including: ATV, Canopy, White Water Rafting, Surfing, Sport Fishing, Horseback Riding and day trips to Tortuga Island and Manual Antonio.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
grey bruce
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A fun 4 hours for all...”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We booked this tour with another family. So there were four adults and four kids in total. We had very little ATV experience and the guides were helpful. The ride up the mountain was quite dusty (I wasn't prepared for the dust) and my ATV tires were pretty bald on the back. Check them before you leave. I didn't notice until I was trying to control some sliding.

The visit to the tilapia farm for lunch was pleasant and a nice break - although there wasn't much time to hang out and fish. The kids did enjoy the stop.

Sometimes I just wanted to stop and look around. The scenery was spectacular, but there were times when I felt that we needed to speed on. In the future I'd just stop anyway to look and listen to the Costa Rican forests.

The waterfall was a fun and very refreshing. The ride back up the hill was dicey with my ATV. No one else seemed to have difficulty. There were a lot of loose rocks.

Overall the guides were friendly. There was an accident with a group behind us, and the guides became a little more tense after that. Our children were very comfortable with the guides and the day. I would definitely do it again!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank zetaGreyBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola C, Manager at ATV Adventure Tours Costa Rica, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear your family had such a great time. It is true that kids really enjoy this 4 hour ATV tour-- who doesn't love exploring the countryside on the back of an ATV, swimming at a waterfall and fishing for tilapia before lunch?!! Pura vida! We hope you took some amazing memories of Costa Rica home with you! All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    544
    59
    4
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great family experience!”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We booked a two hour tour for me, my husband and young adult sons.When we arrived, we upgraded to a three hour tour to include a waterfall. Gaba was our guide and he was very thorough in his instructions and assured us that we would do fine, having never riden atvs. He was very cautious while riding through the streets to get to the trail. Our son had a malfunction almost immediately and they quickly changed out his atv. The ride was a lot of fun, not scary, and the views pretty. Warning..you will get dirty and you will get wet! The empanada and drink stop was great, would have been nice if that was included in the price. The waterfall was refreshing, we just wish we had been prepared with a bathing suit on but we just went in anyway. Overall great experience and I would recommend this company and Gaba as a guide.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank cfreerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“A recommended activity ”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful family day with six quads and a our great guide Alan! The river run and the waterfall was over the top. The handkerchiefs (for minimizing the inhalation of dust), was well worth the added 3 bucks each. Recommended for experienced or inexperienced riders. This a a professionally run operation. A fun 3 hours!

Helpful?
Thank DAKJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie H, Manager at ATV Adventure Tours Costa Rica, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for your review! We appreciate you mentioning that our tours are for all experience levels. This is absolutely the truth. Because safety is our biggest concern, our private tours (all tours are private) only move as fast as the least experienced rider can handle. We have a number of families with small children that enjoy our ATV, Rhino, and 4X4 tours and we are always mindful and cautious. We love the joy on the kids faces as they ride through a river with a parent for the first time on the back of an ATV, or see a macaw or toucan in the wild. These truly will be memories to last a lifetime. Thanks again and all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun But Not For The Inexperienced”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We did the ATV tour to the waterfall and it started out fun. However, the road conditions for ATV were not good with loose dirt and gravel combined with fairly narrow paths with two way traffic. We had two accidents, one where the ATV flipped over on the rider and the other where the ATV drove of the roadside and the driver did a somesault over the front. Because of the accidents we were behind on time so safety went out the window and full speed ahead back to the office. Then the woman behind the counter insinuated that she was doing us a favor by not charging for accidents. She could give a rat's behind about the condition of the riders. In short, I was the only one who came back out of 5 on the ATV they started on at the beginning.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank thechairmanBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Easy to use and super pleasant”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We used this company for both zip lining and ATV riding. Each adventure was easy to set up and fairly priced based on the local market. Our guide Allan for the ATV ride was fantastic. He really made it fun! Some of the local farm animals enjoyed his antics too. Our two families, 6 in total with two children under 10 would really recommend them for Jaco adventures.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mchappell13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ATV Adventure Tours Costa Rica also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to ATV Adventure Tours Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing