We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oh boy !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tsunami Sushi

Tsunami Sushi
Ranked #18 of 139 Restaurants in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Jaco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“oh boy !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Mna what a deal , half price rolls on wednesday and the service is fantastic , make you feel wanted here for sure and its a town meeting place as well , see ya tonite !

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chucksurfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    92
    30
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Dodge, IA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wednesday Night BABY!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Half price sushi rolls on Wednesday night. We scarfed down the sushi as if we had not eaten in days. Thankfully we were all using chopsticks. Had forks been used, surely one of us would have been impaled.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Don_woody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Sushi Spot in Jaco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Best nights to go are 2 for 1 Tuna on Tuesdays (best tuna sushi I've ever had, fresh and just awesome), and Wednesday and Friday for half price rolls.

Highly recommend the crunch roll (only $6 when half price).

When there is no specials it can be a little pricey but overall always excellent sushi.

Great atmosphere and fun place to eat at the bar. Often they have a DJ playing.

Service isn't always perfect but pretty good most of the time.

Be sure to ask for the tuna dip starter, its free but most of the time its not offered unless you ask for it and its great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hanger770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Sushi in Jaco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

A Great Sushi restaurant in Jaco. The half price rolls on Wednesday are a good deal. The tempura shrimp and vegetable app is truly something special. The dinning area is a bit small especially when the restaurant is busy which is often. I have eaten here at least 10 times and year after year and visit after visit it is consistently a quality stop. If the dining area was a bit less cramped and the prices a bit less it would be perfect.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Payne, Alabama
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best sushi ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had dinner at Tsunami sushi a couple of nights ago while in Jaco. It was one of the best meals we had while in Costa Rica. The sushi was perfect! And we just so happened to be there for 1/2 price Friday! We would highly recommend and will definitely return!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank southernx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tsunami Sushi also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Tsunami Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing