We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The beach's best!”
Review of The Pizza Shop

The Pizza Shop
Ranked #12 of 161 Restaurants in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $26
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Description: New York Style Pizza in Jaco Beach Costa Rica. We offer whole pizzas, pizza by the slice, calzones, ice cold beer on tap, and run weekly specials. We make our own dough and sauce in the shop from scratch, and use only the freshest and finest ingredients available. Great for a quick lunch, or sitting down with the family for dinner. Open late on Fridays and Saturdays. Check our Facebook page for weekly specials!
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
76 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The beach's best!”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

What makes up a great pizza? Great thin crust, flavorful sauce, lots of mozzarella and pepperoni ... this place does it and does up great! They offer pizza by the slice and/or entire pie in a great variety of toppings. BE WARNED though, if you get just one slice, you'll be stuffed and still wish you'd ordered the entire pie. A great group of guys working too!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LisaPuraVida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe S, Owner at The Pizza Shop, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review. It’s always nice to hear our customers love coming back to the shop. We appreciate the kind words.
-The Pizza Shop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    46
    5
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Pizza”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This place offers the best pizza in Jaco. The slices are huge, and the price is right. Definitely recomment to anyone looking for a New York style pizza...

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NicknAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe S, Owner at The Pizza Shop, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
We're glad you enjoy the pizza. Hopefully see you back here soon!
-The Pizza Shop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My favorite pizza place in jaco”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The pizzas are the best in town, and the Italian Sub is just amazing. Good price and I enjoyed hanging out there, the people who work there are super friendly!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank swissmiss_333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe S, Owner at The Pizza Shop, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
We appreciate the review, and are glad you enjoyed our food as much as hanging out at the shop. Hopefully we'll see you around this neck of the woods soon.
-The Pizza Shop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Some of the best pizza anywhere”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

New name,new owners-same great pizza. We ate there last year and it was great. We have been four times so far this visit and it has been excellent each time. Sauce is just right and I even eat the crust-something I don't usually do. You can even talk a little hockey with Joe if you start to miss it. Make it a stop at least once, you will be glad you did!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ylvasteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe S, Owner at The Pizza Shop, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Glad we were there to fill the pizza void for you folks while you were visiting. We'll be here making some great pizzas for your next trip down! Stay warm up there.
-The Pizza Shop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Really bad”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Worst pizza in town, and pizza in Costa Rica is bad to begin with. Plus it is fairly expensive (although they do have a half off night).

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe S, Owner at The Pizza Shop, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
We thank you for your time in writing a review. We are sorry that your experience did not live up to your expectations. As you are aware we are making pizza in a third world country. This makes some ingredients very cheap and others worth their weight in gold. We try to pass on as much savings to the customer as possible. Hopefully on your next trip through Costa Rica you will give us another opportunity to show you what great products we have.
-The Pizza Shop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pizza Shop also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to The Pizza Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing