We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderfully colorful, charming and peaceful hotel...”
Review of Hotel La Palmera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel La Palmera
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Jaco
Reviewed May 12, 2010

La Palmera is unique: the wonderful, professional and attentive managers of this charming hotel have done a brilliant job!
La Palmera Hotel has “this little something extra” which makes the difference. La Palmera is colorful, superbly maintained, and obviously inexpensive!
The marvelous garden, which is mostly composed of all sorts of palms, surrounds the large, stunning and clean swimming pool of the hotel.
The roomy rooms are very comfortable as well as beautifully decorated. The hotel offers free wireless access in the public area.
The staff is exceptionally welcoming and create a homelike atmosphere to such an extent that you will never want to leave La Palmera... The receptionists were very helpful booking me some tours like Tortuga Island, crocodile safari or canopy which I recommend! La Palmera is a quiet and family friendly hotel, that is certainly one of the reason that makes it so safe and so peaceful
Also, whenever you feel like eating after jogging on the beach nearby La Palmera, you will have the opportunity to ask for a fresh pineapple juice and a delicious typical meal like rice with prawns or a fish casado… . Yummy! The breakfast was great too with gallo pinto (rice and beans, typical costarican breakfast), scrambled eggs, fresh fruits...
In short, I recommend La Palmera Hotel with enthusiasm. Many thanks to La Palmera! I miss you!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidrLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Palmera
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 73 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2010

I wanted to let people know about a bad experience I had at the hotel La Palmera at Jaco. I was't able to stay at the hotel I payed for since I went to a bar and when I came back the guard didn't want to let me in and suddenly opened the gate and started beating me. Even the taxi driver helped me and the police had to go to the hotel. After that I decided to leave and stay at another place (Best Western-great service). I'm from Mexico and was just there for a day and the procedure to accuse the hotel was long, so I decided to leave things that way. After that I realized I really couldn't do much. At least I want to let tourists know what happened and people that could be in danger staying there. I also spoke to the owner (French) and he could care less about the incident. So don't put your integrity in risk staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank information2737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2010

Hotel La Palmera was everything I hoped for, and more. The staff was wonderful, friendly, and extremely helpful. I was greeted with a smile constantly!

The breakfast was GREAT! Rice and beans and scrambled eggs provided me with a traditional Costa Rican breakfast. They also had very fresh fruit, with huge slices of pinapple.

The pool was very clean, and refreshing. The room was great as well. The beds were comfy and clean. The air conditioning worked great, and there was cable TV in both English and Spanish.

I was warned about crime in Jaco, but I experenced nor saw nothing of the sort. Even if you are worried about this, the hotel has a gate, and locks it at night for your safety. Even if you are out late (which I was) the security promptly lets you in.

The walk to and from the strip of Jaco can be quite long..especially in the heat. But considering how wonderful this hotel is, it is worth the walk.

I was VERY pleasantly surprised with this hotel, and would be the only place I would ever stay in Jaco! I had read numerous reviews of this hotel, both good and bad. But I cannot emphasize enough that this is a wonderful place to stay, and anyone would be happy there!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BedStuyTraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

I stayed 6 nights with my 15 year old son in separate rooms, which was very affordable. We had a great stay. The hotel is small and quiet with a nice pool. It is close to casinos and beaches. No prostitutes or drugs are allowed so it is a great oasis from the rest of Jaco. Breakfasts were OK and the staff was fine.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rafesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2010

We went to the hotel La Palmera a few weeks ago, with my husband and my children. I must say that I did not have any of the problems that were given in example in the last comment. The owners of the hotel were a really friendly young couple, totally fluent in French, English and Spanish. Yet it's true that the ladies for the cleaning and the breakfast do not speak English, but it's not really annoying! Moreover, there is a guard all night long, and we could go out in the evening and come back even when the hotel was closed without any problem.
This charming hotel is not expensive at all, considering the colourful decoration with a personal touch everywhere. The pool area is incredibly peaceful, with a luxuriant garden full of palm trees. Concerning the rooms, they're perfectly clean, very large, and the bright colours make us feel like in Mexico!
The owners of the hotel can also book some touristic trips for you. For instance, we went to Tortuga Island, a paradise island, where we went to by boat. Another nice trip was the one to the hot springs, that the children really enjoyed with all the slides!
We sincerely recommend this place, which is a real safety haven, a natural and multicolor oasis, with, in top of that, a delicious breakfast at the pool!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coccinellebkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2010

My husband and I stayed at La Palmera for five nights in June, 2009.

The service: The staff seemed pleasant, but their English skills were quite limited.

The night we were to check in our flight arrived very late and we therefore arrived at the hotel very late. Even though the hotel lobby is supposed to be open 24 hours, it was completely closed when we arrived. The hotel has a big metal gate that is shut at night and the building is surrounded by a concrete wall that is topped with razor wire, so there was no way for us to get inside. Our cab driver pounded on the gate and we yelled, but no one came. My husband and I had to find another hotel for the night which was very irritating and expensive. When we tried to explain what happened the next day, the lady at the front desk had no idea what we were talking about because she didn't speak any English. We eventually got our money back from Expedia after we returned, but even they had trouble communicating with the staff.

The room: The rooms are modest, but comfortable and clean. Plenty of space.

Our room was great, no problems there. The shower had little to no water pressure from time to time, but I'm not sure that was the hotel's fault. The room came with cable TV, a small refrigerator/freezer, a large closet area, two beds, and a nice-sized bathroom with a toilet and a bidet. According to my husband, the hotel advertises free Wi-Fi in the rooms, but we were only able to connect to the Internet from outside the room.

Location and Amenities: The hotel, while on the fringes of town, is still conveniently located. Good amenities for the price.

La Palmera is about a 10-15 minute walk to the center of Jaco. This is good if you prefer peace and quiet, but probably not so good if you want to be in the center of the action. Cab rides to and from town are very cheap, maybe $2 or $3, but guests can easily walk most anywhere. There are one or two restaurants and a casino less than half a block away.

The hotel has a big pool, cute lounging huts, a nice lobby, and lush, tropical greenery. My husband and I particularly enjoyed the pool as we often had it to ourselves. It's a great place to relax. In addition, La Palmera provides a simple, complimentary breakfast of toast, fruit, and juice every morning. We also enjoyed the Wi-Fi, even if we did have to go outside to use it. All in all, my husband and I were very pleased with the amenities.

What we liked best: The economical price, the peaceful nature of the hotel, the pool!

What we liked least: Not being able to communicate with the staff, not being able to check in our first night because the hotel was closed

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjr80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank José Carlos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pochote Grande
Hotel Pochote Grande
#21 of 41 in Jaco
99 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mango Mar
Hotel Mango Mar
#30 of 41 in Jaco
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Balcon del Mar
Hotel Balcon del Mar
#31 of 41 in Jaco
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ibiza
Hotel Ibiza
#9 of 41 in Jaco
85 reviews
1.2 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#20 of 41 in Jaco
107 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartotel Flamboyant
Apartotel Flamboyant
#15 of 41 in Jaco
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Palmera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Palmera

Address: 400 metres east from the municipality of Jaco, Jaco 4023, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Jaco
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel La Palmera 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 90 minutes from the international Juan Santa Maria airport, Jaco offers trendy gourmets restaurants, entertainment framed by a colourful and friendly town, on the Costa Rican Pacific Ocean.La Palmera Hotel is a family friendly hotel and it is an ideal place to relax and enjoy nature and adventure in your own little paradise. The Ocean and the city center are only a few minutes walk from the hotel (about 700 meters).This charming hotel offers you a really nice pool, a private parking with security 24 hours a day, and a free wireless connection available in public areas, 15 very nice and confortable rooms, all in a luxurious tropical garden, with so many palm trees! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Palmera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Palmera Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing