We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“wonderfull holidays” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Palmera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel La Palmera
Ranked #37 of 45 Hotels in Jaco
Chatillon, France
Level Contributor
1 review
“wonderfull holidays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

we spent 8 marvelous days.
We booked our journey on the last minute without planning anything; we were very lucky to get Aude and Nicolas' advices to do so many visits.
They gave us advices to go around Jaco (we did not rent any car) and see what must be seen on a short time.
Above all thanks to their great garden around the pool, you can see/hear birds,...
We hope to come back!
Anne-Sophie &Cédric

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CedGrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    24
    11
    6
    9
See reviews for
16
37
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

On the plus side this place has a lovely pool area and a breakfast included in the price - the room are a bit on the shabby side though and could do with a bit of a update - but they are very quiet and each one has its own terrace area and also basically what you need i.e. air con, TV, fridge etc.
It is a tiny bit far out of town - took us about 15-20 mins each way to walk to the centre but I guess it was good exercise!
They also sold some original artwork in the reception which was a nice touch. Jaco was a bit of a funny place all in all - we thought it was going to be a major party town but it ended up being more ghost town the couple of days we were there!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraW11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I came to this hotel as i bought an offer with a 50% off from yuplon. So this hotel is usually $60 a night ( i payed $30). The room smells a lot like cigarrette and the beds look untighty. Old tv, no wi-fi, nice pool and the hotel seems like a safe place. Only been here 20min already want to leave :(

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jaco hotels

Brush Prairie, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

This hotel is pretty basic but decent value for the price. There are no frills except the pleasant pool area and good air conditioning. However, the staff are very pleasant and made us feel very comfortable. The location is within walking distance of the town and beach but it is probably better to take a cab after dark. We would stay here again even though it was a bit of a letdown at first sight.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosebridge2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Beautifull and clean place that makes you feel like you are on a special holiday!!.the deco is amazing and you are not exposed to any of the central american night life....which means family and belongings are safe. i was over there a few years ago and finally decided to write a review when i saw some unjustified comments about the place and very charming owners, do not hesitate and try!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, Beijing, China
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

We spend the last two days in this hotel as we wanted to experience Jaco a bit. So, garden is nice with a lot flowers, pool is cool, deco is attractive, it is close to everything, it is quiet, bed is soft, towels are folded nicely with flowers, birds are all around, breakfast is adaquate, ... Owner is French. Although he is not talkative, you get services as you want. And you get privacy. He helped me get an adapter. We appreciate that.

We were able to discover Jaco. We tried surfing and horse riding near.

We quite like here.

Room Tip: Rooms close to pool are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

I spent recently a couple of weeks in this hotel and I really appreciated it.
5 minutes walk from the center.
Rooms are sober, but perfectly clean with tv, aircon and wifi in mine.
The swimming pool is the must of this hotel, surrounded by a large variety of palm trees.
The owner and the staff were really nice and helpful.
The breakfast is fresh and good
I understand why this hotel has a lot of local families coming, because is really a relaxing place with a beautiful garden surrounding a delightful swimming pool. I doubt you could get much better in Jaco for the same price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evariste M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
4.5 mi away
Hotel Tramonto
Hotel Tramonto
#17 of 45 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mango Mar
Hotel Mango Mar
#28 of 45 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Balcon del Mar
Hotel Balcon del Mar
#21 of 45 in Jaco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Creole
Hotel Villa Creole
#14 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pochote Grande
Hotel Pochote Grande
#26 of 45 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ibiza
Hotel Ibiza
#20 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Palmera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Palmera

Property: Hotel La Palmera
Address: 400 metres east from the municipality of Jaco, Jaco 4023, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 45 Hotels in Jaco
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Palmera 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 90 minutes from the international Juan Santa Maria airport, Jaco offers trendy gourmets restaurants, entertainment framed by a colourful and friendly town, on the Costa Rican Pacific Ocean.La Palmera Hotel is a family friendly hotel and it is an ideal place to relax and enjoy nature and adventure in your own little paradise. The Ocean and the city center are only a few minutes walk from the hotel (about 700 meters).This charming hotel offers you a really nice pool, a private parking with security 24 hours a day, and a free wireless connection available in public areas, 15 very nice and confortable rooms, all in a luxurious tropical garden, with so many palm trees! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel La Palmera Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing