We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Acceptable hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Palmera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel La Palmera
Ranked #37 of 45 Hotels in Jaco
Brush Prairie, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Acceptable hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

This hotel is pretty basic but decent value for the price. There are no frills except the pleasant pool area and good air conditioning. However, the staff are very pleasant and made us feel very comfortable. The location is within walking distance of the town and beach but it is probably better to take a cab after dark. We would stay here again even though it was a bit of a letdown at first sight.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosebridge2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    24
    11
    6
    9
See reviews for
16
37
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Beautifull and clean place that makes you feel like you are on a special holiday!!.the deco is amazing and you are not exposed to any of the central american night life....which means family and belongings are safe. i was over there a few years ago and finally decided to write a review when i saw some unjustified comments about the place and very charming owners, do not hesitate and try!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, Beijing, China
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

We spend the last two days in this hotel as we wanted to experience Jaco a bit. So, garden is nice with a lot flowers, pool is cool, deco is attractive, it is close to everything, it is quiet, bed is soft, towels are folded nicely with flowers, birds are all around, breakfast is adaquate, ... Owner is French. Although he is not talkative, you get services as you want. And you get privacy. He helped me get an adapter. We appreciate that.

We were able to discover Jaco. We tried surfing and horse riding near.

We quite like here.

Room Tip: Rooms close to pool are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

I spent recently a couple of weeks in this hotel and I really appreciated it.
5 minutes walk from the center.
Rooms are sober, but perfectly clean with tv, aircon and wifi in mine.
The swimming pool is the must of this hotel, surrounded by a large variety of palm trees.
The owner and the staff were really nice and helpful.
The breakfast is fresh and good
I understand why this hotel has a lot of local families coming, because is really a relaxing place with a beautiful garden surrounding a delightful swimming pool. I doubt you could get much better in Jaco for the same price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evariste M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beloeil, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

Nice art deco hotel, but quite far walking distance from the Jaco main beach. Quiet hotel, normal sized refreshing pool, area to rest and use wi-fi internet outside the rooms, breakfast was normal. Secured place to park the car. Nice carved wooden door at the breakfast area for the main desk offices. Some restaurants around are OK, but a little far distance from the main attractions.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jebelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

This is a nice place with a very helpful staff. We asked for three beds and we got two, but this seemed to be the trend for the rest of Costa Rica on our trip. It is maybe two or three blocks farther from the beach then I would have liked

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Takman623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

I live in san jose and wanted to spend one night at the hotel with my family, the same day at night I recceivea call that a member of my family past away and had to live without using the room, I had payed the room already and soposely I was going to get another night NOT FREE but at least with a discount, the administrator (FRENCH GUY) was very rude when I called him back to see if posible to get a diferent night maybe for a different room. Now talking about the place PLEASE look for adifferent hotel, the bathroom are terribles. the towels seems they have them since 1990 WHAT KIND OF SERVICE IS THIS THEY NEVER SHOWD EMPATHY THAS ALL WE ASKED AFTER LOSING A NEPHEW.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jaco hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
4.5 mi away
Hotel Tramonto
Hotel Tramonto
#17 of 45 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mango Mar
Hotel Mango Mar
#28 of 45 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Balcon del Mar
Hotel Balcon del Mar
#21 of 45 in Jaco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Creole
Hotel Villa Creole
#14 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pochote Grande
Hotel Pochote Grande
#27 of 45 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ibiza
Hotel Ibiza
#19 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Palmera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Palmera

Property: Hotel La Palmera
Address: 400 metres east from the municipality of Jaco, Jaco 4023, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 45 Hotels in Jaco
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Palmera 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 90 minutes from the international Juan Santa Maria airport, Jaco offers trendy gourmets restaurants, entertainment framed by a colourful and friendly town, on the Costa Rican Pacific Ocean.La Palmera Hotel is a family friendly hotel and it is an ideal place to relax and enjoy nature and adventure in your own little paradise. The Ocean and the city center are only a few minutes walk from the hotel (about 700 meters).This charming hotel offers you a really nice pool, a private parking with security 24 hours a day, and a free wireless connection available in public areas, 15 very nice and confortable rooms, all in a luxurious tropical garden, with so many palm trees! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel La Palmera Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing