We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Not worth the money at all” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino
Ranked #33 of 45 Hotels in Jaco
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the money at all”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Overall not a terrible place to be but I don't think it's worth the money. I had problems with the toilet not draining at 8pm and the desk told me that the maintenance staff were not there at night. We had an all inclusive package and the food wasn't that great. One night we splurged and paid a decent amount for a really great meal and ordered off the menue. HOwever, between the school group that took over one area of the dining area, and the bar that has a manager of some sort that yells at the staff and smoke cigars while you're trying to eat it's kinda hard to find a comfortable place to eat. The staff and the kitchen manager are all very friendly and helpful. The service is pretty slow though and either they don't have enough servers/bartenders or they're not well enough trained. There are times when the bar isn't manned at all.

The photos on the website oversell it a little. Thin sheets that you can see the mattress through, lack of chairs by the pool etc are features that definitely need upgrading. We had quite a few cockroaches in our room. Our room had AC but it only pointed down so it didn't cool the whole room very well.

Aside from all this, the hotel is kind of away from Jaco and all the activities there. You would need to have a car, take a cab or walk a distance (which could be nice - but not in the rainy season).

Overall, not too much good to say about this place. It is a safe gated community. The pool bar with limited supplies was nice, but had very limited hours. It is a pretty place and the grounds people do a really nice job.

Room Tip: Up to chance, we had a good room till very LOUD neighbors checked in our last night. The front desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pollsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    145
    114
    51
    40
See reviews for
81
155
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed two nights, and took advantage of a 50% off deal. Clean, good a/c, and nice location right on the beach. The staff allowed us to hang out after checkout and held our bags to get one last surf session in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sleepy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Alajuela, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

First of all, there are two Morgan's Coves in Jaco, so this is about the Central one. The location is right in the center, which is great and the staff were very nice and helpful, but the rooms are small and need updating (our sliding glass door was off the track and it took two of us to lift and slide it shut and the bathroom door was covered in mold). The rooms are very small. But for one night, we didn't mind too much except the bar and restaurant are in an open-air rancho and there was very loud music and karaoke until late in the night (they might as well just given us hammocks as the rooms all surround this bar) and then cat fights at 4 in the morning, so we didn't get any sleep at all. If you want a party hotel, where you meet locals and don't really need to sleep, this could be okay, but if you actually want to sleep, forget it.

Room Tip: I know they had cabins/suites as well and they might be bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Su Espacio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jaco hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Clean, comfortable hotel with a great pool and lovely location right on the beach. Restaurant overlooks the very scenic beach area and sunsets are spectacular in Jaco. Menu was limited but all meals were excellent and beautifully presented. Staff in the hotel were without exception courteous and helpful. The beach wedding I attended there and the reception that followed were absolutely outstanding. What a fairytale location for a beach wedding! The hotel is relatively close, about a 10-15 minute walk, to the main street of the town which has a good selection of restaurants and gift shops. The only thing I felt needed big improvement was that the bathroom in my room could use an update, sink and shower especially but there was hot water! Also if you have an early morning flight out from San Jose be sure and check well in advance if you will be able to arrange transportation there from Morgan's Cove in the middle of the night. I have wonderful memories of my time at Morgan's Cove and would definitely return there in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The staff is really friendly and helpful, especially Shannon, Mariana, Hector and Tatiana to name just a few...The resort is medium size so it's easy to get around, which was what I was looking for but remember that this beach is for surfers! It was nice to get around the town and so on to find restos and gifts shops. Enjoy the relaxing Pura Vida of Jaco Beach!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrendaDesmarais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is not a fancy 4-5 star all inclusive with multiple restaraunts. only 1 resaurant but the food was fresh and good,something different each day with 2 Macaw's that often join us for breakfast.
The rooms are not fancy but clean and the grounds are kept very nice. One of the best beaches we have ever been to, great for walking. An easy walk into town, lots of local craft shops and good ice cream. My husband learned to surf while were there, the instructor was fantastic located on the edge property next to the beach. One of the best parts of the day was having a coctail on the beach as the sun set, the sunsets here are pure magic!! the only negative comment is that we had requested a King size bed as we are both tall when we got there we were told by the front desk they did not have any, but later seen that they did and at no point when one was available did they offer to move us. I think part of the problem was the langauge barrier. We would definately go back there, very relaxing!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyandEarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I had my wedding reception at Morgan's Cove on April 12, 2013. I am from the US and my husband is from Jaco, Costa Rica. There were about 35 people from the US that stayed there and we had about 85 people in total for the reception. It was wonderful!!! Shannon was SO helpful over the last several months. She always responded quickly when I emailed her and accommodated all of our requests. She promptly handled any issues. A couple folks requested room changes and they were promptly accommodated. The rooms are pretty spacious for that area (Jaco) and the air conditioner in our room worked better than any place I have stayed in in Jaco (I have stayed in at least three other hotels in that area). The food was very good and the staff was extremely friendly, especially the ladies at the front desk. The food for the reception was especially good (the squash soup was the best I have ever had). The tables had wonderful centerpieces and since it was VERY hot the manager brought out fans for us. The owner has even promised us a free stay on our one year anniversary (hope he remembers!). The pools are fabulous and you can't beat the closeness to the beach and town, especially at the price. All of my guests loved their stay and said they have never felt so relaxed.

Room Tip: The beach front rooms are not facing the beach but they are close to the restaurant. I prefer the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.6 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
1.0 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#9 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino

Property: Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino
Address: Mts de la Municipalidad de Jaco 150, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morgan’s Cove Resort & Casino located Beach Front in the quaint surf town of Jaco, Costa Rica. This bustling seaside village has restaurants, clubs, bars, casinos, and gift shops making it the most popular destination in all of Costa Rica. Adventures within minutes from the Resort include Sport Fishing, Zip Line Tours through rain forest Canopy, ATV tours, Horse Back Riding, Surfing, Golfing, River Rafting and Hiking the most popular Parks of Costa Rica, Carrera and Manuel Antonio National Parks. Relaxing around the two pools or sun tanning on the warm sand of the Pacific Ocean are a favorite past time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan`s Cove Hotel Jaco
Morgan`s Cove Resort And Casino
Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing