We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous spot for a wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino
Ranked #28 of 44 Hotels in Jaco
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous spot for a wedding”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Clean, comfortable hotel with a great pool and lovely location right on the beach. Restaurant overlooks the very scenic beach area and sunsets are spectacular in Jaco. Menu was limited but all meals were excellent and beautifully presented. Staff in the hotel were without exception courteous and helpful. The beach wedding I attended there and the reception that followed were absolutely outstanding. What a fairytale location for a beach wedding! The hotel is relatively close, about a 10-15 minute walk, to the main street of the town which has a good selection of restaurants and gift shops. The only thing I felt needed big improvement was that the bathroom in my room could use an update, sink and shower especially but there was hot water! Also if you have an early morning flight out from San Jose be sure and check well in advance if you will be able to arrange transportation there from Morgan's Cove in the middle of the night. I have wonderful memories of my time at Morgan's Cove and would definitely return there in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    165
    134
    61
    46
See reviews for
94
181
34
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The staff is really friendly and helpful, especially Shannon, Mariana, Hector and Tatiana to name just a few...The resort is medium size so it's easy to get around, which was what I was looking for but remember that this beach is for surfers! It was nice to get around the town and so on to find restos and gifts shops. Enjoy the relaxing Pura Vida of Jaco Beach!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrendaDesmarais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is not a fancy 4-5 star all inclusive with multiple restaraunts. only 1 resaurant but the food was fresh and good,something different each day with 2 Macaw's that often join us for breakfast.
The rooms are not fancy but clean and the grounds are kept very nice. One of the best beaches we have ever been to, great for walking. An easy walk into town, lots of local craft shops and good ice cream. My husband learned to surf while were there, the instructor was fantastic located on the edge property next to the beach. One of the best parts of the day was having a coctail on the beach as the sun set, the sunsets here are pure magic!! the only negative comment is that we had requested a King size bed as we are both tall when we got there we were told by the front desk they did not have any, but later seen that they did and at no point when one was available did they offer to move us. I think part of the problem was the langauge barrier. We would definately go back there, very relaxing!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyandEarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I had my wedding reception at Morgan's Cove on April 12, 2013. I am from the US and my husband is from Jaco, Costa Rica. There were about 35 people from the US that stayed there and we had about 85 people in total for the reception. It was wonderful!!! Shannon was SO helpful over the last several months. She always responded quickly when I emailed her and accommodated all of our requests. She promptly handled any issues. A couple folks requested room changes and they were promptly accommodated. The rooms are pretty spacious for that area (Jaco) and the air conditioner in our room worked better than any place I have stayed in in Jaco (I have stayed in at least three other hotels in that area). The food was very good and the staff was extremely friendly, especially the ladies at the front desk. The food for the reception was especially good (the squash soup was the best I have ever had). The tables had wonderful centerpieces and since it was VERY hot the manager brought out fans for us. The owner has even promised us a free stay on our one year anniversary (hope he remembers!). The pools are fabulous and you can't beat the closeness to the beach and town, especially at the price. All of my guests loved their stay and said they have never felt so relaxed.

Room Tip: The beach front rooms are not facing the beach but they are close to the restaurant. I prefer the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We visited Jaco Beach in March and stayed at Morgan's Cove for one week. I'll start with the "bad," which really isn't all that bad in my books but is the reality of the place. If you're looking for all night clubbing, five star resort accommodations, or gourmet food, you're going to be sorely disappointed. But I personally think if you're looking for that in Costa Rica, you might as well be in any 5 star in the world.

The charm in Morgan's Cove is in the 30 second walk to the beach, or the short walk down the shore to town. I dislike giant resorts with highrise hotels, so the small property and quiet evenings were great for us. If you want nightlife, you can walk to town, but it's peaceful when you want peace and quiet. The food isn't fantastic, but you won't starve. The staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean, not glamorous. You're central to Jaco and an hour's drive to Manuel Antonio park, which is a must-do day trip. You can go ziplining, boating, fishing, snorkeling, hiking, biking... whatever you want is close by. There are beautiful birds singing when you wake up in the morning and a crocodile hangs out behind the main bar building in the river... it's real Costa Rica.

If you're super picky, you probably won't like Morgan's Cove. But if you want to actually experience Costa Rica and maybe be able to afford to do it more often, this place does the job just fine. We had a great time with the other guests, felt safe walking around even at night, and won't hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: Get an oceanview room by the pools, closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miranda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is called a resort. Well it is in a beautiful place the is great but. The prices are high for what you get. The air conditioning did not work correctly. Even though they had more rooms they placed on the 2nd floor, the screens were torn the door to the patio and the patio door was difficult to open. They have a casino but 5 machines did not work most were manual pay outs, the air conditioning did not work. There was only one poor girl working in the late afternoon and early evening and was not able to keep up to the complaints. She did however always smile and apologized. We tried to get another room but after 1 hour of trying to change decided to give up get our money back and go to another hotel. The Casino is one to stay away from for sure there are better ones in Jaco

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeffreydcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jaco hotels

Vestavia Hills, Alabama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We were at Morgan's Cove this week. The hotel is facility is nice and has many options, but little things are missing. The beds are ok, but not great. The bathrooms were clean, but in poor shape. The staff was friendly but it was obvious they could use a little extra training. The food however was GREAT. No meal was lacking anything.

A few of the unfortunate things were the bars didn't open until 11 am and many of them, such as the pool bar, inexplicably closed early.

The wifi worked, but was spotty.

In general a little bit here and there would make this hotel earn 5 stars, but the numerous little things did add up, however if given the opportunity I would stay there again. The beach was wonderful and the sunset was out of this world. Jaco as a whole is a great place. The people are welcoming and warm. We did talk to the owner (the man with the pony tail who camps out at the bar closest to the beach by the corner smoking a cigar) and he said they are working to improve some of the unfortunate items and i believe him. I look forward to seeing it in the future.

Room Tip: The lower numbered rooms have apparently been more recently updated. If you need wifi try to be as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john79g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
0.8 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
1.0 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Tramonto
Hotel Tramonto
#18 of 44 in Jaco
130 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#7 of 44 in Jaco
420 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino

Property: Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino
Address: Mts de la Municipalidad de Jaco 150, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morgan’s Cove Resort & Casino located Beach Front in the quaint surf town of Jaco, Costa Rica. This bustling seaside village has restaurants, clubs, bars, casinos, and gift shops making it the most popular destination in all of Costa Rica. Adventures within minutes from the Resort include Sport Fishing, Zip Line Tours through rain forest Canopy, ATV tours, Horse Back Riding, Surfing, Golfing, River Rafting and Hiking the most popular Parks of Costa Rica, Carrera and Manuel Antonio National Parks. Relaxing around the two pools or sun tanning on the warm sand of the Pacific Ocean are a favorite past time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan`s Cove Hotel Jaco
Morgan`s Cove Resort And Casino
Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing