We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice people, good location, old hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino
Ranked #29 of 45 Hotels in Jaco
Petit Lancy, Switzerland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice people, good location, old hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The hotel is very good located, near the village center and close to the beach (although the beach that is closer to the hotel is not the nicest one). Rooms are very basic. The shower was always flooded, even if we reported it several times. Staff is friendly. Breakfast keeps changing every day, it seems it depends on the number of guests: sometimes it was buffet, sometimes it was à la carte, but we knew every morning.
The restaurant was empty most of the time, prices are really expensive, taking into account that you can find the same average food in the village for a cheaper bill.
Jacó is plenty of all kind of restaurants. We used to go walking every night to have dinner, returning in a taxi, that is really cheap (7 colones top).
The place is very quiet and stress-free. They have a big swimming pool (most of the time with nobody) and two small pools.
I wouldn't return there. There are so many options in Jaco, closer to nicer beaches, with the same basic services but cheaper.

Room Tip: Try to get a beachfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoMiHevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    147
    116
    51
    40
See reviews for
82
158
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hayden, Idaho
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I was staying at MC with a high school EF Tour group. The room was actually OK, A/C worked well, room and bathroom clean, adequate hot water, not sure if there was maid service (no new towels, I straightened up my own bed); food however was just so-so; drinks overpriced, beach was dirty. I would not return for a second visit. I would not wander around outside of the complex at night

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TerreG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I booked this resort for 4 days and ended up staying 2 weeks. The food , staff and beach was just Fantastic.... anything I needed was there or there was someone to arrange it for me . cant wait to go back!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Effeacci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeanpari
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I came here again because I had such a great time on my last visit. Again, Morgan's Cove did not disappoint. The food was delicious! We had a great time at the pool and the beach. We wanted to go fishing and everything was set up for us on the spot at a great rate. We did not want to leave and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jeanpari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I'm trying hard to be diplomatic in my choice of words. I'm sure this was a great resort back in the day, but it has gone downhill since. Way downhill. The rooms are dingy and reek of urine, mold, and nicotine. Smoking is not permitted in the rooms now, but the many years of allowing smoking has built up in the walls and furniture. Be very careful selecting your lounge chair by the pool. Almost all of the chairs are ripped and falling apart. The hotel has a casino and many of the rooms back right up to it. The thump, thump, thump and loudspeaker noise of whatever was going on in there went on late into the evening. In e room next to us was what we think is a long term resident, based on the number of animals and the welcome sign outside of her door. Not sure what was going on over there, but what we heard was spank, spank, giggle, giggle, woof, woof. You draw you're own conclusions. I would not stay here again, even if it was free.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Springfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffsalamone, Manager at Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your reply and we are very sorry that you did not come to the front desk, we would have gladly changed your room, there were several more available during your visit. We Investigated your comments and did find that there was a client smoking on the front patio during their week stay a day just before your arrival. They did tell us they did not smoke in the room and loved the room, but we do understand the possible air contamination. We are also addressing the sound problems of the Casino which also was found to be on three rooms in that area, fixing that problem. As Advertised we are a pet friendly Hotel, If for any reason that offends a client we will gladly move you to another room with out question if available. The Rooms however do not reek of any smell of mold or urine, we do believe that confusion came from a Costa Rican Crawling Tree that was directly in front of this room the moisture and smell is coming from this tree and we are addressing that issue as well. Thank you and we do hope to see you again. Cleanliness and Service is our very first mission, Please do not hesitate to ask for anything that we can help with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jaco hotels

Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is the second time I stay in this resort and have to admit that I always receive a great service; it's  been a pleasure for me and no regrets about it. Also, I have to highlight that I love the breakfast they serve, it is huge and delicious!! 

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mykems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Morgan's cove was beautifully centered ocean front with great views and friendly people. Not to mention its own casino ,there was even a surf instructor to assist the great waves ...But most of all the shopping areas were just a few blocks away. I would Deffinatly go back .

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graybarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.6 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
0.8 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
2.0 mi away
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#9 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino

Property: Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino
Address: Mts de la Municipalidad de Jaco 150, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morgan’s Cove Resort & Casino located Beach Front in the quaint surf town of Jaco, Costa Rica. This bustling seaside village has restaurants, clubs, bars, casinos, and gift shops making it the most popular destination in all of Costa Rica. Adventures within minutes from the Resort include Sport Fishing, Zip Line Tours through rain forest Canopy, ATV tours, Horse Back Riding, Surfing, Golfing, River Rafting and Hiking the most popular Parks of Costa Rica, Carrera and Manuel Antonio National Parks. Relaxing around the two pools or sun tanning on the warm sand of the Pacific Ocean are a favorite past time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan`s Cove Hotel Jaco
Morgan`s Cove Resort And Casino
Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing