We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Pleasent and Friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Tropical Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Tropical Garden
Ranked #33 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasent and Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed here for a few weeks this winter. A simple hotel set in a tropical garden in the center of town. Great beach and bar access. The owner was really friendly and helpful with recommending car rental, restaurants, tours, sites, etc. The pool is clean and not too busy. Ask the gardener nicely and he will climb a palm and bring you a fresh coconut! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkSlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    7
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
5
5
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

I came here to my first time and Costa Rica and have zero complaints. It was close to everything I needed being a first time tourist in Costa Rica, as well as a beautiful beach. The many variations of plants made me truly feel like I was at a Tropical Garden. Sitting by the poolside is also very relaxing. I would definitely come back here when I return to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeyLikess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

I was on a trip with my staff in Playa Jaco, we were recommended this place from a friend in Toronto. A great stay, friendly staff and a nice little hotel to pass a relaxing week. The rooms all have your own kitchen and fridge. The hotel is built in a tropical garden, yet the place is in the center, center of town. Walking out of this little paradise and you are right in the middle of town, restaurants, bars, stores, and the beach all walking distance.

I definitely recommend this place to fellow travelers and vacationers.

Room Tip: If you are travelling on the weekends, make sure to reserve! They were full on the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Autograph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

I travel to Costa Rica often, years ago this hotel was mentioned to me as a place to stay on my travels. What a hidden paradise. Located in the center of town, steps from restaurants,stores, bars, and the beach. You could not have a more central location.

But I what is the best part of this hotel is that is in built a tropical garden. Full of flowers and trees, so quiet you can not believe it is in the downtown of a beach city.

Looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RL77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed here for a few nights during my last visit to Jaco. The name of the hotel is very fitting; there is a beautiful array of plants on the property. The pool was also enjoyable, especially because the water isn't freezing cold as it is in other hotel pools. The close proximity to the beach was also great. The staff was really friendly. I don't speak any Spanish so they were able to arrange a cab for me to get to the airport. The owner was really friendly and had recommended a few good places around the area to grab a bite. I had a tv in my room and I really enjoyed hanging out in my personal porch. I would definitely return next time I'm in Jaco.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monteverde, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2011

Stayed at this place during the rainy season. The place was completely flooded. Toilets would not flush. The septic system was backed up for days. There was standing water ankle deep throughout the property which more than likely was contaminated by the sewage from the backed up septic system. Absolutely disgusting. The lady who name was Veres would not do a thing about it and did not seem to care.

The owners of this place do not care about the workers nor the hotel. They surely do not care about the people staying there.

Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank supaihiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific City, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2011

Things have gotten worse since the last review in 2008. We stayed on a Monday night so it was quiet and few people were present.

We're Oregonians living in Costa Rica and went to Jaco for the day as it's the nearest beach to us. This place was cheap but it's best to pay more and enjoy your time at the beach.

The foreign owner was rude to his workers and very scolding of a young man who was getting water from a sink on the side of the building.

I was shocked to hear that they would not provide any towels unless I gave a $10 deposit per towel! When I told him about my amazement his answer was "Well, you know this is Costa Rica." I saw this as a most demeaning ethnic slur. We've traveled all over Costa Rica and have never heard such nonsense. He reduced it to $6 per towel!

I had reserved the two-bedroom "suite." It was dingy with a sloppy kitchenette. The old refrigerator door did not close properly. I asked for another room and we settled for two rooms to accommodate five people. We wanted AC but he could only get us one with AC and the other had a ceiling fan. The kitchenette in one had small ants all over the sink and the refrigerator did not work though I plugged it in.

They advertise wi-fi in every room but there was none. I had to go to the small office to plug in our computer. It was uncomfortable and of course had no privacy. I was unable to recharge our computer as all outlets in our rooms were 2-pronged and I needed 3-prongs. This leads me to the electricity question.

The shower heads in both rooms had exposed electrical wires taped together with black tape. A sure electrocution danger that should not pass code anyplace. I advised my family not to use the shower as we would be home in a day.

It was curious to see the owner yelling to my wife and daughter not to stand under a palm tree because a coconut might fall on their head while he left electrical wires exposed in the shower.

The workers were all very nice.

Best to pay a little more and avoid this place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.1 mi away
Apartotel Flamboyant
Apartotel Flamboyant
#12 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mango Mar
Hotel Mango Mar
#30 of 45 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ibiza
Hotel Ibiza
#17 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#23 of 45 in Jaco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zabamar
Hotel Zabamar
#20 of 29 in Jaco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riva Hostel Jaco
Riva Hostel Jaco
#7 of 66 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tropical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropical Garden

Property: Hotel Tropical Garden
Address: Pastor Diaz St | Center of Jaco, Front of Comercial Center " Il Galeone", Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful and quiete place in the center of Jaco Beach. Big lush gardens sorounding the pool. Private beach access. Kitchen equipped rooms. A/c, cable t.V, private terrase.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Tropical Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tropical Garden Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing