We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Do Not Stay Here.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jaco Bay Resort Condominium

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jaco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jaco Bay Resort Condominium
Save
You added Jaco Bay Resort Condominium to your Saves list
Ranked #45 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Troy, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Do Not Stay Here.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed her 09/08/2013 for 5 nights as an exchange from our timeshare. Check-in was fine. However, once we got to our room we noticed the window in the master has a large crack in it. When I questioned the staff about it, they acknowledged that they knew about the crack and were not concerned. Shards of glass fell onto the floor during a storm and the floor became very wet. Very dangerous in a dark room.
I had requested two extra bath towels, which we never received. The towels and wash cloths we did have were very threadbare, torn and ratty. The room itself was not well maintained, as in tiles cracked, the dishwasher was not bolted in and was dangerous to load. The rooms are very stark and unwelcoming. The TV is very old and does not work well.
The office staff was courteous when asked a direct question, but did not initiate any conversation and not inclined to offer solutions to issues. Property was virtually empty and I find it hard to believe that the only two bedroom condo available had a large crack in the window and is so poorly maintained.
The only bright spot is the pool.
I had read the reviews before choosing these accommodations, so I did not have high expectation. However, I was very disappointed in the accommodations. I would never stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    15
    10
    5
    10
See reviews for
21
10
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The condos are large and clean and well maintained, and the pool area is nice. Some of the lounge chairs are broken and need to be replaced. There were very few people in residence at the time, which is nice, but also a little creepy. Where is everyone? The property is a long walk from the beach, driving is recommended. The kitchens have the bare minimum for functionality (cake pans, but no mixing bowls?). A/C in all rooms worked great. The maids wash the towels in the unit washer and dryer, but they leave them in the dryer, so if you don't check, you don't know they are there! We used timeshare RCI points to stay, but it wasn't worth the points that we were charged.

Room Tip: Request a pool view condo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I've read the widely -and wildly- different reviews and must say that I had no serious complaints. Four of the six buildings are complete, but of the 160 completed units, only 15 or so were occupied, some presumably by owners. The AC worked, the daily maid service was satisfactory, there were no cockroaches or mosquitos, and we never felt ill at ease. Service from the reception desk was spotty when we called for assistance.
Work on the complex was clearly ceased some years ago with the economic crisis, but the building we were in was adequately maintained. The grounds are immaculate and the large pool area beautifully maintained every morning. It's a 4-block walk into town or to the beach.
If we were to return to Jaco, I'd have no reason not to stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the buildings, facing the pool area provide a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annandale2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Marque, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This place is at best a dump!!!! We had to have the AC in the master bedroom fixed 3 times. The bed is a 4" matress on wooden slats. The maid service wouldn't leave clean towels even though we asked for more towels 4 time in 5 days. There is only one tv per condo. the wi-fi that's advertised only works in the office and a little by the pool. The office is open 8-5 and if you need anything after 5 you out of luck til 8 the next morning. If you want to make a call out you can only do it with the office phone, you can't make local calls from your room. And finally, the so called spa is one person in an empty first floor condo with a massage table! Other than that the country is great.

Room Tip: there aren't any good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Todd P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jaco hotels

San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

First impression of this place was really good, it looks fancy and clean from the outside, but once you get into the buildings everything chances, cracks on the the walls, bad paint jobs, broken elevator buttons, and 4 out of 5 of the A/C's where broken as well.

The ONLY good thing about this place was de pool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SocialD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was a disappointment. The unit itself was spacious, but very cheaply furnished. Large cockroaches spotted scurrying across the floor. Strong sewage smell coming from the dishwasher when opened. Reception desk was useless. No recommendations or information about the area provided. Everything about the place seemed bare-bones, excepting the pool. I can't figure out why this property received so many good reviews. Trust me, I'm not picky, and this place was a big letdown. Go somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Howard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

My wife, daughter, son-in-law and I just returned from our first visit to Costa Rica. We had a wonderful vacation and plan on return visits. Included in our great vacation was a 5 night stay at the Jaco Bay Condos by Ramada. Prior to our trip I did read some of the less than satisfying comments and reviews. After our first night I was wondering what the expectations were of these visitors. This is not the 4 Seasons or Maui Westin in Kaanapali.. It IS a very clean, secure and well managed complex in a lazy beach town on the edge of a rain forest in Central America.
I recommend a stay at this condo and Jaco Beach to anyone looking for a family-friendly, safe and adventure filled vacation. Incredibly reasonable..five stars and two thumbs up!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank DaveC59_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.8 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
0.2 mi away
Bar and Hotel Oz
Bar and Hotel Oz
#31 of 45 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bahia Encantada
Bahia Encantada
#14 of 62 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acqua Residences Jaco
Acqua Residences Jaco
#19 of 62 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
0.4 mi away
Monte Carlo Condominium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaco Bay Resort Condominium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaco Bay Resort Condominium

Property: Jaco Bay Resort Condominium
Address: Pastor Diaz Avenue, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jaco Bay Resort Condominium 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Also Known As:
Jaco Bay Resort Condominium Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing