We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“HORRIBLE! DONT BELIEVE THE LIES” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jaco Bay Resort Condominium

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Jaco Bay Resort Condominium to your Saves list
Jaco Bay Resort Condominium
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Pastor Diaz Avenue, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE! DONT BELIEVE THE LIES”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

After reading some of the reviews its obvious the hotel manager is writing reviews that are FALSE - STAY AWAY!

We stayed at the Ramada Jaco Bay resort for 2 weeks in January 2011 - WHAT AN ABSOLUTE DISASTER!!! We strongly recommend cleaning every piece of your luggage and clothing when you leave - the infestation of bed bugs was horrible. They rent nightly party suits to locals who play loud music until 3-4am and security does nothing about it. Our rental car was damaged 2 times in the guarded parking lot. Our room was disgusting when we checked in and they said sorry we didn't have time to clean it? Who gives a guest a room that hasn't been cleaned? The furniture was stained and smelt bad, the beds were broken, the walls in the washroom were molded and bathroom doors could not close due to water damage. We had a blood stained mattress and the staff claimed it was hair dye? We read the negative reviews before booking out trip, but we still went because a friend of ours had been a few years back and enjoyed it - well they changed owners since his trip and its evident. The place is a complete disaster and the hotel is apparently on the brink of bankruptcy according to locals, you'll notice construction has stopped on the building they dont show you in the lovely photographs, and by the way that will be your view!!! You will find better, cheaper and cleaner accommodations in the area, we stayed at other properties even though we payed for 2 weeks at the ramada. We booked with Nolitours (transat) who lied to us about the room - NO OCEAN VIEW SUITES ARE AVAILABLE FOR RENT!! AND Nolitours offered NO SUPPORT ON SITE, NO CUSTOMER SERVICE, NO COMPENSATION for anything - stay away from both Nolitours/Transat and Ramada Jaco Bay its not worth the aggravation. I have been traveling for years and I have never written a negative review EVER but this time the world must know about this and hopefully save people from experiencing what happened to us. STAY AWAY.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank globalTraveller00710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrRamadaJacoBay, Director of Sales at Jaco Bay Resort Condominium, responded to this review, March 24, 2011
We would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectation as well as for the inconvenience experienced during your stay at our property.

Since your stay back in January 2011, the property operations, maintenance and customer service has gone through a series of improvements to provide our guests with a more joyful and pleasant stay with us.

After reviewing our guest service report as well as your comments, we feel it is appropriate to provide an answer to your review.

Although we try our best to normally accommodate all guests immediately upon arrival, in your case we experienced a delay on providing you with your originally assigned room. Even though, we were able to present to you another room option at the moment, you decided to wait for the original room assigned to be cleaned by our maid service.

It was never our intention to present to you a room that hasn´t been cleaned, although according to your insistence to have access to the room immediately in order to leave your luggage, we took you to the room which was at that moment been cleaned by our maid service; and from which you took pictures during the cleaning process and posted them in your comment.

Regarding the room views and location please note that our property offers Pool & Partial Ocean View condos according to floor level as well as Standard Condos with no view.

Your reservation was placed with us based on a “flat rate” condo in which view and location of room is based on current availability at check-in time.

Also, our records indicate that you stayed with us during the entire time according to your original reservation placed with us.

As for the noise problems within the property, please note that based on your report and other complaints back in January 2011, we have already taken applicable measures and guidelines for our management and security staff to be pro-active solving this type of situations which may disrupt guest’s enjoyment at the property.

Regarding the empty construction you mention, please note that even though it belongs to the same corporation, it is not related to our operation and it is located into a separate property and not blocking any of our unit views.

As for the situations you mention related to your rental car damage, bed bugs and overall furniture conditions in the room, our reception and guest service department is always present to help with any complaint and solve the problems as soon as possible to provide a trouble-free stay. Over these specific issues we did not have a report from your part during your stay which would have helped to correct the situation immediately.

We really appreciate your comments & feedback, and we will strive to improve every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    15
    10
    5
    10
See reviews for
21
10
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
innisfil
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

Hotel/condo was clean and modern. Loved being able to do laundry. Staff where great. Nice pool and the grounds are well kept. We are used to traveling in small hotels with no laundry or kitchen. This condo was was very spacious and the full kitchen allowed us to prepare our own meals. Shopping was easy to get to by foot or for $1.00 you could get a cab. Having travelled in central america before we new enough to get out of the heat by 11:00 am and seek shetler until 4: pm.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stonehouse55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

This was our first visit to Costa Rica. We traveled with another couple and our two bedroom condo was exactly like the photo on their website and was very spacious. It was furnished well, the kitchen was adequately equipped and we had a washer/dryer. However, what their website did not show you was that the resort was not complete. Two of the six towers were only hollow shells and the drive up looked like a construction site. The pool was complete and was actually very nice. However, the two incomplete towers were definitely a distraction. There weren't many guests at this resort and most of the time we felt that we had the place to ourselves. This was not the true resort experience. There was no restaurant or gym. We were suppose to have internet in our condo, but it definitely hit or miss. Most of the time, we had to go down to the office to connect. We had daily maid service for an extra weekly fee but had to wash our own towels. We were within walking distance to a beach, but it wasn't very nice so we chose to drive to other beaches close by. We were also within walking distance to the town of Jaco which was nice. The staff was friendly and tried to accommodate us if possible although we ask for a room with an ocean view and found out these were only available for sale. I would only recommend this "resort" if all you want is a nice condo within walking distance to Jaco.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renee029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan, Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

Unfortunately, I could not recommend this hotel. I stayed here with my family over the New Year's holiday. We were interested in staying in a condo for the convenience, but that was definitely lacking at this property.

Some of the issues:
- breakfast was included with the rental. Simple "tico" meal of fruit, coffee, juice, beans and rice, and scrambled eggs was tasty. However, portions were small, and when my teenage son asked for more "por favor", the wait staff looked liked he'd slapped them in the face! Also, as breakfast was only served from 8-10 a.m., it did not suit the hours of a traveling family. Please note, there is no restaurant or bar at the property.

- We believed that we would get a fully equipped kitchen so that snacks and small meals could be prepared in the condo. A full set of dishes was not included, and we were told that we could not use the dishwasher. The cleaning staff was to do the dishes, but there weren't enough utensils to make it through a day! No cleaning supplies, dish towels or sponges were included, so I had to go to the supermarket to purchase items to do my own dishes by HAND!

- towels were only provided upon arrival, and we were told that if we wanted clean towels, we were to wash them ourselves. Again, no detergent was provided, so we had to purchase detergent and wash them ourselves.

- Power outages are VERY, VERY common. NO candles, flashlights were provided. We had to go to the store once again to purchase. I left them at the condo, but i am sure that the next visitors won't get to use them, as it seems that any "useful" items were stripped.

- The pool is large, but there is no shade, which kills gringos between the hours of 10 a.m.- 4 p.m.

What I did like:
The front desk staff and the security guards were helpful and friendly. You can walk easily to town, or take a taxi for $2. The property was clean. We had an in-room safe. Plenty of parking for our rental car (although it was damaged in the parking lot beside our unit... thankfully we bought full insurance).

I would definitely recommend staying elsewhere in Jaco. Anywhere you stay, bring:
-a flashlight and candles , as power failures happen almost daily.
- a dictionary, as few people speak English. (the guards and I used the dictionary and sign language to communicate LOL)
- a good attitude, remember pur vida!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reginaski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.8 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
0.2 mi away
Bar and Hotel Oz
Bar and Hotel Oz
#24 of 45 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 stars 26 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mango Mar
Hotel Mango Mar
#27 of 45 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Apartotel Flamboyant
Apartotel Flamboyant
#14 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
1.8 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
0.2 mi away
Bahia Encantada
Bahia Encantada
#12 of 60 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaco Bay Resort Condominium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaco Bay Resort Condominium

Property: Jaco Bay Resort Condominium
Address: Pastor Diaz Avenue, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jaco Bay Resort Condominium 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Jaco Bay Resort Condominium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaco Bay Resort Condominium Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing